We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Manor House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Manor House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Coxsackie, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My spouse and I arrived about 4:00PM on Friday evening. We were greeted by the most delightful innkeeper, Patti. She made us feel welcome and at home without formalities, like we were family. She showed us where we could find coffee, tea, wine and refreshments. A brief history of the incredibly gorgeous home was given and then she escorted us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KThibeault
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Beautifully kept old mansion with great hosts! The gardens were lovely! Sitting on our deck at night, under the stars, away from the rigors of the city was delightful. We hiked to both Kent Falls and Campbell Falls, and the hot tub provided soothing relief for our tired legs. The air conditioning was a little weak, and the room stayed... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ppratt2016
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2016

I was looking forward to spending two nights at this B&B based upon photos and reviews. The property is located on a quiet residential street within walking distance of downtown Norfolk. Upon entering the house, I was immediately impressed with the grandeur of the 1890 home: the architectural details, the numerous fireplaces, the wood paneling, and large open stairway. Unfortunately... More 

Helpful?
Thank MEV61
Michael and Pat... S, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

Dear MEV61, I apologize that your expectations were not met during your stay here at the Manor House. I also regret that your concerns were not brought to our attention until just before your departure after a two night stay. If we had known that you were so unhappy after your first night, we would have happily move you to... More 

CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Do NOT rent the third floor chalet room! The guest rooms on the second floor are appointed in a lovely way and the third floor feels like you are in an old attic with some furniture. The list of things wrong with the third floor is so long it is unbelievable. We went for a girls weekend expecting a comfy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GWA83
Michael and Pat... S, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

Dear GWA83, We apologize that your experience here at the Manor House was not what you expected. Since two members of your group have written separate reviews about the same stay, Please see our response to your collective concerns above. Thank you, The Innkeepers More 

Charlestown, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We received a great welcome at the Manor House. It was a short stay, but really pleasant and comfortable. It is walking distance to a concert at Infinity Hall, which works out great. Breakfast was delicious! I hope we are able to go back some day.

Helpful?
1 Thank Z7285OJlisat
Groton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

My traveling companion and I stayed on the top floor of this elegant house - two small rooms with a minuscule bath in between. A giant in room air conditioner roared in one - the other was stiflingly hot. The indoor/outdoor looking carpet was stained, the wallpaper buckling in places, the armoire stuffed with a spare blanket (I think that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susannegt
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016

The Manor House disappointed us on two counts: (1) the new innkeepers refused to refund an overpayment of $24 and (2) they reneged on a promise of plain scrambled eggs for breakfast. We'd received a gift certificate for $300 a year and a half ago, but explained to the former managers that we couldn't use it until after knee replacement... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wordtraveler
White Plains, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2016

My wife and I just spent a wonderful anniversary weekend at the Manor House. This grand mansion turned inn offers marvelously appointed rooms, each unique, and a great main floor and grounds. Breakfasts were superb, and little add-ons like coffee, cookies, fruit, wine placed out for guests add to the hospitality. This is a superb spot in a perfectly lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank WPHS57
Capital Region
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2016

My husband and I stayed here sometime in 2009-2010. This was a belated 1st wedding anniversary trip. We were the only persons there for the 2 nights. It's a step back in time ... and a beautiful memory. The architecture and furnishings are warm and inviting - a little Downton Abbey. The room was warm and comfortable-especially the fireplace at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roadtraveler03
Princeton and Charlottesville
Level Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2016

This is the best place to stay in the lovely town of Norfolk, Connecticut, tucked away on a quiet street but walking distance to the heart of town for concert performances and dining. The house feels a bit worn in places but it has great charm and character, and wonderful gardens and lawns.

Helpful?
Thank CavalierJCS
Rich and Sheila B, Manager at Manor House, responded to this review

Thank you. Please come again. ~ Rich and Sheila, Innkeepers More 

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
11.7 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
64 reviews
17.7 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
208 reviews
2.5 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
#1 of 1 in Colebrook
61 reviews
5.8 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
13.4 mi away
Interlaken Inn
Interlaken Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakeville
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Manor house is an ideal accommodation in Norfolk, CT, offering one of the most romantic getaways in New England. Full of charming ambiance and convenient amenities, The Manor House is complete with beautiful garden views in every room, a delicious hot breakfast served every morning and nine unique rooms to choose from - all with their own baths. Enjoy your next New England vacation as the guests of this wonderful Connecticut bed and breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manor House

Address: 69 Maple Ave., Norfolk, CT 06058
Region: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Price Range: £135 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Manor House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Winsted, Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Manor House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the second floor with porches were cool and bug free on warm nights.”
 of 5 bubbles ppratt2016, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the third floor Chalet Suite”
  • Door to the Suite - door does not close tightly
  • Wires at the top of the bathroom mirror
  • Door to the Suite held closed by a eye hook latch
  • Steep stairs with dirty carpeting
  • Crack in the bedroom wall
 of 5 bubbles MEV61, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not rent third floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles GWA83, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pick a room from their website”
 of 5 bubbles WPHS57, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you are uncomfortable with your room - and there are other available rooms,ask to look at them.There are surprising charms to each one.”
 of 5 bubbles Roadtraveler03, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay