We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Algoa Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Algoa Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 133: English reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

I stay at Algoa Guest House often. The staff are very friendly, and I always receive a warm welcome. The location is great because it's close to the beach, the Boardwalk and lots of great restaurants. I always enjoy the breakfast and the rooms are comfortable and offer everything you could require.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaryd H
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. We always enjoy your visits to Algoa Guest House!

Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Had such a lovely stay with Lisa, Roger and Alicia! What a splendid guesthouse. Clean and quiet and a super comfy bed. Enjoyed a marvelous hot breakfast and so enjoyed the banter with Roger in the morning! They recommended Charlies Pizza Pasta for dinner and true to their word the food was delicious. Will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bronwen T
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Bronwen, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We loved having you stay here and we all thoroughly enjoyed the interesting things you had to tell us! We look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Lisa, Roger and Alicia

Uitenhage
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Below expectations. I've been to a few places and comoaring the website to the actual experience is still puzzling. Very small rooms as well. Service was good but the only way to fix this in the long run would be to drop the price a little. The venue wont have many returning visitors. Most will be first time visitors due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 330juanitag
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

We are obviously disappointed by your comments. Many of our guests (frequent travellers who choose to stay at AGH on their return visits) consistently rate us on their comfort and good value for money. We do have cheaper rooms available for the more budget conscious guests and would encourage you to ask for alternative options in future. Regards, Lisa

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We were most satisfied with the room, cleanliness and service. The guest house is situated close to the main city attractions and beaches and provided a comprehensive breakfast selection to cater for all tastes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cobusg345
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad you had a good stay at our guest house! Kind regards, Lisa and Roger

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I chose the Algoa Guest House because I wanted to be near the beach as I enjoy walking. The whole two days from beginning to end was an enjoyable experience - in spite of the students demonstrating! Lisa phoned me soon after I had booked online to tell me that they were giving me a reduction because the booking was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dot O
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Dot, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Algoa and your walks on the beach! Many thanks for your great review. Kind regards, Lisa and Roger

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 23 September 2016

The owners are so friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and at home. Would recommend this for anyone in the Port Elizabeth area looking for a clean and safe place to stay. It is just a stone throw away from restaurants and shops like spar and pick and pay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nansar92
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We enjoyed having you stay with us at Algoa Guest House. Looking forward to your next visit! Kind regards, Lisa and Roger

Rehovot, Israel
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We only stayed here overnight, but the short time we stayed at this hotel was very enjoyable. We actually arrived before check-in time, but our host Lisa, who greeted us, was very friendly and let us leave our bags at the hotel while we went to visit Port Elizabeth. Lisa was also very helpful, giving us advice on where to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank igal27
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Igal, Thanks SO much for your wonderful review! It was great to have you and your family stay with us and I am so glad the guest house was up to your exacting standards! Hopefully the next time you visit South Africa you will stay for a few days extra and get to enjoy Port Elizabeth's many other attractions....

Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Definitely would recommend To anyone coming down for business or personal, amazing breakfast, WiFi works, comfortable rooms, owner and staff very accommodating, my home from home! Have stayed here on various occasions, and the service is always excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelique-Fraser
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Angie and James, It is always a great pleasure having you stay with us! Thanks for your great review! Kind regards Lisa, Roger and Jessie

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Idea location to the University, restaurants and Airport. The people are exceptionally aware of providing top quality service and care. Could have had more coffee in the room. But in the main outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank russells395
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Wow - thanks for such a great review! Please just ask for more coffee the next time you are here! Kind regards, Lisa and Roger

Benoni
Reviewed 30 July 2016

The Algoa guest house was perfect for our weekend getaway. The room was clean with crisp white linen on the bed and although small suited our purposes admirably. Braai facilities were available just outside the room but we did not make use of them. The breakfasts were excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisjayBenoni
Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay here! Kind regards, Lisa and Roger

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.0 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 42 in Summerstrand
228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 42 in Summerstrand
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayside Guesthouse
Bayside Guesthouse
#10 of 42 in Summerstrand
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Algoa Guesthouse is an owner managed 3 star bed and breakfast in Summerstrand Port Elizabeth. If you are here to enjoy all the attractions of our Friendly City or are about to embark on a journey along the beautiful Garden Route, holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy a comfortable stay at this guest house in Port Elizabeth. Algoa B&B offers comfortable, clean and semi self-catering rooms (microwave, bar fridge, tea/coffee making facilities) with air conditioners, flat screen TV's with a selection of satellite channels and Free Wi-Fi. Enjoy a healthy or a full English breakfast in the quaint dining- room which overlooks the swimming pool and attractive garden. We are only a mere 200 metre stroll to the beachfront of Pollock Beach. Experience the warm waters of Nelson Mandela Bay (Algoa Bay)at one of beaches (Pollock Beach, Hobie Beach or one of our Blue Flag beaches (Humewood Beach & Kings Beach) which is also a popular destination to swim or surf or to go scuba diving with the dolphins at one of the estimated 400 ship wreckages. Algoa Guest House is ideally positioned in Port Elizabeth to act as your base to experience the Eastern Cape. Grahamstown, Sardinia Bay, Jeffreys Bay and Addo Elephant Park are less than an hour's drive away. Alternatively go and explore the rich cultural heritage of our city centre (do the Donkin Trail). Pack your clubs and enjoy a round of golf at the Humewood Links Golf Course which is only 1,5km's away. The North and South Campus of Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University is also only 1,5km's away. There are several popular restaurants within a 2 km radius from this Algoa Bay bed and breakfast and the Boardwalk Casino is also just 2km's away. Port Elizabeth Airport is just a 10 minutes' drive from Algoa and airport transfers can be organised on your behalf.Secure off street parking is provided for your vehicle behind remote controlled gates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Algoa Guest House

Address: 87 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6011, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Price Range: £44 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Algoa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Algoa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoa Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Algoa Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms around the back are quiet and private.”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The room I had was ideal for one person - smaller than the other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 93doto, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If your into early morning photography take a ground floor unit. One gets to get to the beach faster”
 of 5 bubbles fsebarc, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Our room in the back was super quiet and private”
 of 5 bubbles Fabysuzy, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 87marindab, 15 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay