We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 351: English reviews
Start your review of The Beach Hotel
 Click to rate
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here with our two friends for 4 days at the end of trip along the Garden Route. The hotel is situated across the road from probably the best beach in Port Elizabeth and right next door to the Boardwalk, with all its shops and restaurants. We were met at our car by Greatermans, who was so friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnandpam103
Knysna
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved the position- right by the boardwalk and the beach and the pier. Great morning walk or jog along the sea. Fabulous verandah to have drinks and breakfast. Very well maintained. Large room with large bathroom, great pillows .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suyenneb
Oakland, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

High marks. First, a great feel in the hotel. Open and breezy. Great views of the surf. Wifi is robust and uncapped. Just 2 minutes walk from many restaurants and shops (safe even after dark). Great staff. One of the housekeeping supervisors, Mrs. Caroline Khani, went out of her way to help make me feel welcome and at home. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobertFromTheStates
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, Thank you for your review and support. I will certainly let Caroline know her efforts were appreciated. Brilliant to hear you enjoyed your time here with us. Wishing you safe travels. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The website shows this hotel at its best, in reality the rooms are a little tired, BUT don't judge a book by its cover. The staff, service and food make this hotel and whilst the rooms are from another era the rest makes up for it. One nice touch is the variety of plugs to charge from South African, European...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank issywiggy
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, Thank you for your review and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us. Wishing you safe travels. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is pretty good on the sea front and the rooms are perfectly comfortable with the the odd tired or broken thing (our windows barely closed let alone locked). But there is this all pervading smell of greasy cooking throughout. Even with open windows we couldn't shift it. The bar and restaurant clearly serve a lot of fried food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mariemusicademy
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Thank you for your review. Very sad to hear that you did not enjoy your time here with us. I will be sure to investigate the matters you have raised and best see to solutions as well as implement corrective action. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in South Africa. Kind Regards...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daramary
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john0653
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlanM827
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Bristol
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alpinahed
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vap88
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
1:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.2 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#10 of 13 in Summerstrand
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in rooms 1 & 2 which were fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles Johnandpam103, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A strong recommendation to stretch your budget and get one of the front rooms. A view of the ocean right from inside my room (room #3).”
 of 5 bubbles RobertFromTheStates, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are across a busy road but not too loud”
 of 5 bubbles mariemusicademy, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 27”
 of 5 bubbles john0653, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms”
 of 5 bubbles alpinahed, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5