We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Summerstrand Hotel

    Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017Check In 30/10/2017Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$82
    View Deal
    Traveller (35)
    Room & Suite (7)
    Dining (3)
    Overview
    • Excellent19%
    • Very good39%
    • Average23%
    • Poor9%
    • Terrible10%
    Travellers talk about
    “pool area” (4 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast Buffet
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Wheelchair access
    Business Centre
    Laundry Service
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$82
      View Deal
    View all 1 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (147)
    There are newer reviews for Summerstrand Hotel
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    21 - 25 of 132 reviews

    Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

    From the outside of this hotel it looks run down as you walk into the lobby it's really nice I went to go up to the 2nd floor on the elevator to the actual hotel it smells like stale water is not a very clean...More

    Thank vacation L
    Response from Summerstrandhotel, Manager at Summerstrand HotelResponded 14 March 2017

    Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. Our long term wing is seperate from the main block of the hotel and we do not sell those rooms as...More

    Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

    From the blocked up toilet to the tired looking rooms this hotel needs to be seriously changed. Staff attitudes need to change. I booked through a travel agent and paid a full bed and breakfast for my 9 year old. Every morning for breakfast I...More

    Thank 772zeenatm
    Response from Summerstrandhotel, Manager at Summerstrand HotelResponded 14 March 2017

    Good Afternoon, I would like to apologize for the delay in responding to your review. If you could please send me your date of stay and the room number you stayed in I would like to investigate the problems you experienced. You can contact me...More

    Reviewed 22 December 2016

    Stop at this establishment just for a drink but decided to have dinner. Loved the decor of this restaurant, We were served by very polite waiters and the dinner was extremely good and afterwards sit outside by the pool lounge overlooking the swimming pool. This...More

    1  Thank MelanieDF
    Response from Summerstrandhotel, Manager at Summerstrand HotelResponded 14 March 2017

    Thank you so much for reviewing our property. I am so glad you that you decided to stay for dinner, our food is amazing and the restaurant is such a lovely setting. We are pleased that you enjoyed the pool area - definitely the perfect...More

    Reviewed 26 November 2016

    The hotel is tired but being renovated, the staff however need an attitude adjustment. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in. The telephone, TV, aircon and lamp weren't working. Our bill was incorrect at checkout. We were very disappointed.More

    1  Thank Hilary G
    Response from Summerstrandhotel, Manager at Summerstrand HotelResponded 14 March 2017

    Good Afternoon, I would like to apologize for the delay in responding to your review. Would you mind sending me an e-mail to nicolette@hotsummer.co.za with the details of the problems you experienced as I would love to investigate to ensure that these can be rectified....More

    Reviewed 23 November 2016

    I will visit again. It was wonderful being here I spent a week and was worth it. I wouldn't mind to recommend it to a friend or colleague. I am sure I will visit again in future. Thanks again for the hospitality

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank 897vusis
    Response from Summerstrandhotel, Manager at Summerstrand HotelResponded 14 March 2017

    Thank you so much for your kind words, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards The Summerstrand Team

    Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
    979 reviews
    #4 of 13 hotels in Summerstrand
     
    No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
    285 reviews
    #1 of 13 hotels in Summerstrand
     
    The Boardwalk Hotel
    495 reviews
    #2 of 13 hotels in Summerstrand
     
    Paxton Hotel
    338 reviews
    #8 of 33 hotels in Port Elizabeth
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Room Service
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Laundry Service
    • Conference Facilities
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Outdoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$61 - US$90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 137
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summerstrand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Eastern Cape >
    • Port Elizabeth >
    • Summerstrand
    • Also Known As
    • Summerstrand Hotel Port Elizabeth
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (35)
    Room & Suite (7)
    Dining (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (25)
    Bathroom (3)
    Nearby
    Paxton Hotel
    338 reviews
    2.33 miles away
     
    The Boardwalk Hotel
    495 reviews
    .58 miles away
     
    No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
    285 reviews
    .30 miles away
     
    Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
    979 reviews
    .32 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    De Kelder
    617 reviews
    .02 miles away
    Blue Waters Cafe
    694 reviews
    .62 miles away
    Charlies Pizza & Pasta Summerstrand
    346 reviews
    .19 miles away
    Ginger
    653 reviews
    .50 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    The Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World
    852 reviews
    .53 miles away
    Nu Metro Boardwalk
    13 reviews
    .79 miles away
    Nu Metro Walmer Park
    11 reviews
    .79 miles away
    Piet Retief Monument
    16 reviews
    .16 miles away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Summerstrand Hotel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "I had a room over the car park but it was quiet."
    Read review
    "Don't bother."
    Read review
    "Ask for an upstairs room with a sea view or a pool facing room."
    Read review
    "We are unable to answer as this was the first occasion we stayed."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing