We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (7)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
The Old Lyme Inn, fully renovated in 2012, offers a quaint yet modern, New England experience in the heart of historic Old Lyme, CT. All of our guest rooms offer unique touches that afford our visitors with the utmost in comfort and relaxation; including gas fireplaces, fresh baths, and luxurious bedding. The Old Lyme Inn’s restaurant and bar is a meeting place for visitors and locals alike. Sample our ever-changing cocktail and wine list, while dining on some of the most unique comfort food available in the area. Opening in early 2013, guests can while away the evenings listening to acclaimed jazz musicians in our intimate Jazz Club.Join us today to experience a new take on an old favorite.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know


Full view
53Somewhat walkable
Grade: 53 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 66
  • 41
  • 15
  • 15
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed at the Old Lyme Inn to take in some Jazz at the Side Door club. We were so very happy with the Inn, from the restaurant, to the talent at the Club, and finally the “Jazzy Brunch” on Sunday! The Inn is very comfortable and very clean. The ONLY complaint I have is that
Read more
This review is about the Inn and the rooms, not about the food (which was fine and convenient). We stayed at the Old Lyme Inn for one night admittedly under less than perfect circumstances -- after a funeral and during a January winter storm (which turned out mostly to be
Read more
Response from ManagerOldLymeInn, Owner at Old Lyme Inn
Responded 31 Jan 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. As the owner, I wish I could have been present during your stay so I could have directly addressed the deficiencies you noted . Unfortunately, we were out of town that weekend. You are correct about our lack of sidewalks in this area of Old Lyme. This is currently a topic being discussed at the town government level. From your description, I can tell that you stayed in one of our traditional rooms which are priced $100 less than our modern rooms due to the smaller size, no gas fireplace, no heated bathroom floors and no television. The heating/AC unit is fairly standard for individual room heating and cooling. If you travel abroad you will find them everywhere! Unfortunately, they cannot distribute the heat without a fan unlike the radiators found in the old buildings in NYC. Our hallways are heated by a central heating system as well as all open public areas. The guestrooms have individual units. I'm not sure why your water was lukewarm. This is not something that anyone has previously brought to our attention. We will definitely check it out as well a seat cushion situation. Very sorry about our single ply toilet paper. This is the country, therefore we do not have public sewers and as you noted the building is old so we have to be very sensitive about what goes down the toilet. If you have the opportunity to return (under better circumstances), we would love to have you experience our Jazz Club, the SideDoor as well as transport you to local highlights. We certainly don't want ANY demerits. Best, Chris
Read more
The Inn has been around for decades! The food is great. I e tried almost everything on the menu and never disappointed. The ambience inside is fantastic with a roaring fireplace and during the warmer months there is a fire outside for evening dining. It’s like being on a
Read more
For years we made, The Old Lyme Inn, our go to place for lunches and dinners. We saw it through many changes over the years. We started going less when they started serving mostly pub style food. There were not many alternatives for people looking for healthier selections. The
Read more
We loved staying at this lovely B&B, and absolutely loved the wonderful concept it has - hotel, restaurant, jazz concert venue - all in one place. We made our booking fairly last minute for the Veterans Day weekend. First, they had availability for only one night in one of the
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
View of the fireplace from the bath tub
Do the guest rooms have air conditioning?
Yes, the guest rooms have air conditioning.
1 vote
Do you take dogs?
Hi Connie F, We do not take dogs, however we have been known to make exceptions. Do you have a small dog?
0 votes
"If you have difficulty walking, ask for a first floor room to avoid the stairs."
"Do not choose the room with the "mini" shower."
"We were in room 11. The bathroom was tiny and lacked a place to put one's cosmetics bag. Still, it was adequate, and the room was quiet."
"If you need a fully accessible room, they have one with a dedicated ramp, parking, and accessible bathroom-- just ask when booking."
"New rooms have king size bed options"
US$224 - US$275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
old lyme hotel old lyme
United StatesConnecticutOld Lyme
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing