We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (4)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast is located in Bethany Beach, Delaware. Hailed as Bethany Beach’s “Best Kept Secret”, families have made Meris Gardens a yearly tradition. Stop by year-round to see exactly why you’ll want to make Meris Gardens your new home away from home. After a day on the beach and boardwalk, please enjoy a complementary late afternoon break with us on the veranda. We will provide snacks as well as cold drinks, while you are welcome to bring your own adult beverages. We offer discounts for military personnel as well as those seeking an extended stay. Our staff all share the mantra, “Our home is your home.” During your stay, it is our priority to have you feel as “at home” as we can – we truly treat ourselves as a family and would love to have you stay with us. Meris Gardens is Bethany Beach’s only Bed & Breakfast that features both privacy and accessibility. Nestled in the woods, there is a real sense of peace; coupled with it being just a stone’s throw from Bethany’s beach, boardwalk, shops, and restaurants, it is an ideal spot to getaway. Dogs are more than welcome ($20/day) in our special pet friendly rooms. All 14 of our private rooms include: Full ensuite bathroom Complementary breakfast Complementary mocktail & hors d’oeuvre hour Refrigerator Coffee maker Hotel amenities Hairdryer Complementary Wi-Fi Flat screen HDTV Daily housekeeping Complementary guest parking Complementary bicycles for guest use Pet friendly rooms Extended stays are also more than welcome
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Meeting Rooms
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gems
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
58Somewhat walkable
Grade: 58 out of 100
45Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
Reviews & more
121Reviews
52Photos
1Q+A
25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 65
  • 30
  • 11
  • 4
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The Meris Inn was the perfect for our family and friends durint our wedding weekend! Daily breakfast was amazing. Rooms were great and getting to and from town was a breeze. I highly recommend booking your stay here when visiting Bethany.
Read more
This place is a disaster. It bills itself as a B&B, and the photo looks great, but it's really a motel, and a rundown one at that. The room was tiny--you'd have to squeeze in--and, worse still, it reeked of mold. The grounds are completely derelict. We left in a hurry.
Read more
Response from Jennifer S, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Responded 4 Sep 2018
Thank you for your response. Please know that we do take any criticism seriously in efforts to continuously progress and improve for our customer's satisfaction. We apologize for your poor experience. None of our rooms contain mold, however being placed near the beach, we do get moisture. We apologize for the space issues and decor of the room, it is unfortunate that the room you and your guests were staying in was one of the rooms that our painters did not get to remodel over the winter months. We promise that if we had the availability that weekend, we would have placed you and your guests in a more spacious and updated room for your comfort and enjoyment. Our pictures do represent our establishment to it's true identity, however it is true that the photos of the room that you and your guests were placed are not posted due to the lack of decor. We are aware of the marks and spaces issues of the rooms and it is our winter goal to have that room remodeled and more suitable for our guests. That room does not represent the entirety of our establishment. Also, we are sorry that you felt that our grounds and garden were not taken care of, because we receive so many compliments about our gardens and the natural beauty it displays. Although, we are not a stereotypical bed & breakfast, because our guests have their own space of bedrooms and private bathrooms, they still get that feeling of a bed & breakfast when mingling with other guests outside in the garden or at breakfast with Sue and Jenn serving food and their hospitality. We wish you could have stayed and got to experience what Meris Gardens is truly all about as the majority of our guests call this their "home away from home". We are grateful that you and your guests were able to find somewhere to stay. Thank you for your time
Read more
Terrible moldy smell! The room had a dehumidifier running so owners clearly aware of issue. Room tiny and shower so tiny only an underweight small person would fit. We left and found a room, last minute on a Saturday night, and I have never been so grateful for Holiday Inn
Read more
Response from Jennifer S, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Responded 25 Sep 2018
Thank you for your feedback. We do take any criticism seriously in efforts to continuously progress and improve for our customer's satisfaction. We apologize that you felt that your experience with us was poor. The room does not contain mold, however being placed near the beach and with our record high of summer rain that we got this year, we do get moisture and humidity, which is why we use the dehumidifier. We have not had many other issues with guests staying in that particular room, if we felt it was uninhabitable we would not allow our guests to book the room at all. However, it is unfortunate that the room you and your guests reserved was one of the rooms that our painters did not get to remodel over the winter months and therefore maybe less appealing due to the scuff marks on the walls. Having awareness of the walls, it is our winter goal this year to have the room painted to be more appealing for our guests. We apologize for the space issues, whenever any of our guests request a rollaway, we always inform our guests upon booking of the space issues that they may experience. We promise that if we had the availability that weekend, we would have placed you and your guests in a more updated room for your pleasure and enjoyment. Our pictures that we showcase do represent our establishment to its true identity, however the photos of the room that you and your guests were placed in are not posted due to the lack of decor. That room does not represent the entirety of our establishment. Although, we are not a stereotypical bed & breakfast, because our guests have their own space of bedrooms and private bathrooms, it still gives that feeling of a bed & breakfast when mingling with other guests outside in the garden or at breakfast with Sue and Jenn serving food and their hospitality. We wish you could have stayed and got to experience what Meris Gardens is truly all about as the majority of our guests call this their "home away from home". We are grateful that you and your guests were able to find somewhere to stay. Thank you for your time.
Read more
We are a family of 5 and it's difficult to find places that will comfortably take all of us. Meris Gardens was able to book us for a last minute stay. The room was very small, a double bed against one wall, enough room for a fold away cot in the middle, and then another double
Read more
Response from Jennifer S, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Responded 17 Aug 2018
Thank you for your response. We appreciate your feedback and comments. We do take any criticism seriously in efforts to continuously progress and improve for our customer's satisfaction. We apologize for the maneuvering your family had to make during your stay in order for your family of five to stay comfortably during your visit. We always inform our guests upon booking of the limited space they will experience when they have more than 4 guests to a room. Due to the annoyance of the dehumidifier and space issues of the room, we would have absolutely done what we could to provide more comfort during your stay if it would have been brought to our attention while you were here. We appreciate the compliments of the breakfast, we pride ourselves in providing a wide variety of food and beverages every morning while engaging with our guests and spreading our hospitality. We understand that during the summer months, it can get a little busy during breakfast some days, however we provide plenty of outdoor seating as well to roam away from the crowds and experience a more relaxing at home feel. We are sorry about your experience heading to the Beach, typically our guests inform us that it takes them 10-15 minutes to walk to the beach. We wish that your family would have let us know of your experience and we would have rerouted you to take Jefferson Bridge Road straight to the beach and where they have cross walks for pedestrians. We also offer free bikes and bike locks for our guests to use to cut the time to 5-7 minutes to the beach. We appreciate your compliments and will take any criticism constructively. We hope that you would consider us again!
Read more
If you do a Google image search for Bed & Breakfast, you will pretty much see photos of single family homes converted to a sort of boarding house. Generally charming large older houses with a fascinating history. Sometimes they are a bigger, boutique hotel, more like an inn.
Read more
Response from Jennifer S, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Responded 17 Aug 2018
Hello Eric, Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your detailed response. We may not be your stereotypical Bed & Breakfast, however we present the same hospitality, personal engagement and charm like one. We provide excellent care and customer service for all of our guests. Meris Gardens gives that "at home" presence that most of our patrons love. We are the only establishment in Bethany Beach with a full garden and woods setting. We are grateful for your acknowledgement of our amenities that we provide to accommodate our guests. Along with our beautiful grounds, free bicycle usage and outside shower, we also have plenty of outdoor seating areas, a gazebo, picnic tables and a grill for any of our guests to use. We also have pet friendly rooms to help accommodate our furry friends as well! Our breakfast typically consumes of hot fresh coffee, bagels, orange juice, cereal, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruits, and hot items such as pancakes or waffles, etc. We are glad you enjoyed our location and it was easy for you to access the beach. We appreciate your kind words and any criticism as well, as we are always looking to improve and progress for our customer's satisfaction. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you choose us again!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Room 1 inside
Photo provided by managementMeris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Room J - Queen Bed - Access to private Deck
Photo provided by managementMeris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Room11E - King Bed - Access to private deck Can adjoin to Twin Bed Room for Family Suite
Photo provided by managementMeris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Room M - Two Twin Beds - Access to private deck Can adjoin to King Room for Family Suite
Photo provided by managementMeris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
PreviousNext
123
pet friendly?
Hi there. Yes, we have pet friendly rooms available.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Looking for a nice place in Bethany Beach? Keep looking!"
"Stay away please"
"All easy access"
"We stayed in the Garden Room"
"book at the holiday inn express instead"
PreviousNext
12345
PRICE RANGE
US$323 - US$324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westward pines hotel bethany beach
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Westward Pines
LOCATION
United StatesDelawareBethany Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing