We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 467: English reviews
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Great location and secure area but, after staying a few times at this hotel, I can definitely say that every room I stayed at this location the AC unit blows a weird smell.im I'm not sure if it needs new or better air filter making the room overall with too much humidity.

Helpful?
Thank Edgar C
Finland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there 3 nights for business in January 2016. The hotel is old and rooms were outdated, only basic amenities available. Location isn't great either, you definitely need a car. Staff was really friendly but I would definitely think twice choosing this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Mervi212
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was comfortable but the hotel is of a much lower standard than uk Holiday Inns. The lobby area was poor. I asked for a change from the first allocated room which was at the end of an extremely long corridor, because it smelt of urine. The second room was odour free and comfortable. I ordered a steak salad... More 

Helpful?
Thank WgC910
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Even though I arrived at 4 pm, my room still wasn't ready, so they put me in one on a lower floor closer to the street traffic, alas. My room phone didn't work, had to wait quite a while to get it fixed -- and I couldn't call reception to find out the password for Internet that they neglected to... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChristopherOnTheMove
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear ChristopherOnTheMove, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to some of our amenities and services. We always strive to provide our guests with the best accommodations possible and we regret that we did not meet your... More 

Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here because of its proximity to Nicklaus Children's Hospital. One night was enough. I'd never stay if I was going on a vacation. Not great part of town. Worried about our car in the open parking lot. Not filthy, but not clean. It was one of those places where I wished we'd had sleeping bags. Never interacted with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mollie129
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear Mollie129, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. I am glad that our location worked for your travel needs. However, it is regrettable that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. I have forwarded your feedback to our hotel management to... More 

Clarksville, MD
Level Contributor
207 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here while visiting U of Miami. It is very convenient...right across the street so we could walk to our tour and talk. Hotel was just ok. The door to our bathroom did not close properly and my daughter almost got stuck in there. We had to really pull on the door to open it. Then we just closed it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TRJRM
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear TRJRM, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate the convenience of our location. However, I was concerned to see that you had some issues with the bathroom door and was not impressed with our gift shop. I would like to apologize for... More 

Beaufort, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just checked in this evening and had a great reception. Eddie and Michelle made me feel really welcome and took care of any concerns and my "1000" questions. Also apprecited (since I checked in late) that the lounge was open a little late so I could go unwind for a moment before retiring for the evening. Well done!

Helpful?
Thank Barry R
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Just spent 3 nights here again, it's been 4 years since but the place is just great, Fair location Clean and tidy, Friendly staff Good pool Did struggle with wifi but then again we are on holiday so it's not the end of the world. For us it was easy access to either main Miami or local Resterant's, coral gables,... More 

Helpful?
Thank thefolly4
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

This Hotel is directly across Dixie Hwy from UMiami and is very popular. Yes, the decor may be a bit dated, but the House and Rooms are spotless, and the linens are new and fresh. Join the IHG Frequent Travelers for the free parking. Room rates are American Plan. WIFI is good, but you may need to click back in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank e3ceprise
Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I stayed here for a meeting at the University of Miami. It was an easy 10 minute walk which I appreciated. Room was clean & staff were helpful. The free wi-fi, however was frustrating and the printed instructions provided were not adequate. The front desk staff were helpful in providing assistance but the system instructions should have included all the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MegQ
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear MegQ, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate the convenience of our location, room cleanliness, and staff service. However, I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with our WiFi connection. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience these... More 

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
1,174 reviews
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables-University which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village of Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Jungle Island, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Zoo Miami, the Museum of Science, Miami Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Region: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Price Range: £103 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Florida
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Monroe, New York
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
7 months ago
Annapolis, Maryland
8 months ago
Fish Creek, Wisconsin

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring a "chip clip" or oversized paper clip to help keep the shades closed.”
 of 5 bubbles barryr779, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask the staff.”
 of 5 bubbles e3ceprise, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to request the king sized bed - a bit more room!”
 of 5 bubbles Dancingred1, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“They are all good. Beds are soooo comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles marg151515, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You could ask for a pool view with a balcony. I was on the third floor and did not have a noise problem.”
 of 5 bubbles donam99, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay