We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sterling Sands Condominiums

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Sterling Sands Condominiums
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 122: English reviews
Evansville, Indiana
Reviewed 31 October 2016

My wife and I spent a week in Destin in late September. We were blessed with superlative weather, and were fortunate to have selected Sterling Sands for our lodging. Our third floor unit (#311) provided great views, was clean throughout, and made our stay easy with a fully stocked kitchen. On the beach location, with nice pool, hot tub, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PoppaP54
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

I would give Sterling Sands 5 stars if it weren't for the jerks they have running their beach service! They hog all but about 10 feet from border to border of Sterling Sands property. They harass anyone wanting to set up their own chairs, claiming they have some legal right to the beachfront. It's a lot to pay for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luvmyfam4
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had that experience. Please understand it is a separate vendor and that properties to our east and west (beach service wise) do manage that beach. They leave a small courtesy beach front row for people to bring their own chairs/etc but no where on the beaches with condos do they allow a guest to set up personal...

Ashland City, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We liked the Sterling Sands a lot. Nice pool, and great location right in the heart of Destin. We stayed in unit 512 which was pretty and well furnished. However the second bedroom was very small- as in nowhere to put your luggage. The bed was a double. The main BR was large and had a king. Both baths were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Prior to your next visit, check out our website to see unit photos in advance and perhaps the Deluxe 2 bedroom would be better for your next trip. It's over 1200 sq. ft. vs. the 860 sq. ft. unit you had. The master bedroom faces the gulf in this floor plan and has balcony access....

Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We stayed in room 812. Although it wasnt as clean as I had hoped, it was ok for the price. The had a really nice pool and hot tub and the location was great. The bedrooms were very small so I would recommend the deluxe instead of the regular. Overall we were happy with our stay here at Sterling Sands

 Report
Helpful?
Thank volsluvr2001
Sonya C, Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

We're happy that you enjoyed the property, but sad that we were not aware of your housekeeping concerns so that we could remedy them. Thank you for your review. We do hope you'll be back. Sonya Cronin, GM 850-837-9444

Atlanta, Ga.
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We just got back from our stay in unit 310 and it was great! Great location , close to restaurants and go cart track. Good craft beer shop and our new favorite place Panini Petes! Newly decorated with a contemporary ocean/ fish theme this is a great place for a quick get away with a couple of kids. Very clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shooz458
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

We're glad your enjoyed your vacation. Panini Pete's is great and very close to our property-we welcome them. Please come back to see us. Sonya

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 25 July 2016

They wouldn't allow a canopy on the beach. We have a 7 month old so we brought it to keep her well shaded. They just want to make even more money from the beach chair and umbrella rentals. Wifi connection was horrible, kept disconnecting, useless.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 30Lee30
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

I hope the housekeeping issues were brought to our attention so we could get the team involved to fix it? The wifi is a free service and connectivity has much to do with how many devices are online, service provider of the guest vs. best signal for this location. We've had no wifi issues other than a few folks who...

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

This place was wonderful! Right on the beach, all rooms have ocean views. Clean, fully equipped kitchen, roomy. They offer free DVD rentals for guest. Had a wonderful time. Can't wait to go back next summer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmandaG732
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Amanda, Thanks so much for your review. The entire staff works very hard for this sort of guest comments. We cannot wait for you to return. Cheers, Sonya Cronin, GM Sterling Sands

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

While the condo 206 was clean we continually had issues with master bath toilet. Each day a maintenance man came to snake it and each day assured it was ok. At one point pulled out a sandwich bag and seemed to accuse us of putting it in there. We were on vacation not a picnic lunch. We had no sandwich...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MVarnum
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

We are truly sorry for your experience. Plumbing can be tricky since all of the lines connect to units above or below. It may have cleared and then later, after use the problem returned. Unfortunately, we do not manage the pool activity so I cannot answer to that. Sorry. Very few owners include the beach service set ups to their...

Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed 22 May 2016

I have been going to Destin for more than 40 years and this was our first stay at Sterling Sands where we rented condo #813. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The property was well maintained, our condo way beautiful with a spectacular view, and the pool was large and well secured. The fitness center was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Wonderful memories made. Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your business, review of our property and surrounding attractions and do hope you'll return soon. Sonya Cronin, GM Sterling Sands

Destin, Florida
Reviewed 17 April 2016

We have stayed at Sterling Sands for about 16 years. Many of the rooms are outdated but stayed in 805 which is just ok - that is if the elevator works. Sonia at the front desk has been unprofessional and needs an attitude adjustment. She has been there for years but management allows her to stay despite the attitude. Prices...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LoveDestin2016
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Since little information was given, we have less to work from to assist you on this review. Wifi anywhere you access it is suspect to hackers, the condos cannot be responsible for that. We are sad to hear you didn't enjoy this trip but sounds you had 15 years worth of other wonderful visits and memories. We hope you'll come...

561 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (474)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Beach (45)
Viewed
Pool (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (104)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Condo (111)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Condo (139)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
0.0 mi away
Sterling Shores
Sterling Shores
#6 of 56 in Destin
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#11 of 56 in Destin
326 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Beach House Condominiums
5.5 mi away
Ariel Dunes at Seascape Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sterling Sands is a modern, beachfront mid-rise conveniently located in the heart of Destin near family activities, popular restaurants, and shopping. Sterling Sands offers 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom fully-equipped condominiums with private balconies in a resort setting that includes a free-form pool and spa, picnic area with grill, and beachside deli. Children's activities, meeting/reception facilities, and free wi-fi in all rental units.2013 Update: Sterling Sands under went all new exterior upgrades. New paint, new tiled walkways, new pool deck, new lighting, new elevators, new vending area, new poolside restrooms and more. Come see us!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sterling Sands Condominiums

Address: 1080 Highway 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-2942
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Price Range: £154 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sterling Sands Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sterling Sands Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Sands Condominiums Hotel Destin
Sterling Sands Condominiums Destin, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sterling Sands Condominiums staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Kaplan, Louisiana
St. Marys, Georgia
11 months ago
Johnston City, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sterling Sands Condominiums staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay away from the elevators- were told by someone they could hear them "ding" all night”
 of 5 bubbles shannonp726, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sterling has many properties, if you want a beach view, definitely go with the Sands.”
 of 5 bubbles GloryRo, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Rent from VRBO and get an upper floor for better views and less street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles staandjo, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Unit 504 was perfect for a family of 6 or two smaller families”
 of 5 bubbles GulfCoast15, 25 Jun 2015 | Read review
“There all good ocean front rooms”
 of 5 bubbles B954USjohnm, 15 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay