We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ivey House

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Ivey House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,096 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ivey House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 876: English reviews
Michigan
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Found via online search. Photos and info are accurate on website. Stayed one night at the Inn. Room was relatively small, especially with a rollaway bed. Showerhead only worked when held as it sprayed the wall when placed in holder. Small refrig keeps food cool, not cold. Heated pool was luke warm. Nice breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs, sausage, bagels,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Live4Traveling2
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review

Dear Live4Traveling2: Thank you for sharing your experience with us: we're glad to have your feedback. We don't often have rollaways in rooms, because as you mentioned, a room can get a bit cramped with 3 beds! I hope you were able to report the problem with your showerhead, but if you didn't, please email me separately at lisa@iveyhouse.com and...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Beautiful old(1920) Inn ..Rooms large ,clean ,more unique in style than the normal chain..very pleasant location is perfect for exploring Everglades- the guided kayak trip arranged thru the Inn was fantastic..wonderful guide and beautiful mangrove lined tunnels.. It has several very good restaurants within walking distance..staff is pleasant and well informed..a couple of quibbles- the breakfast is nothing great..similar to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabtravel7
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review

Dear fabtravel7: Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We're glad you had a great time with us! You'll be pleased to hear we are finishing up our supply of pink soap in our public areas and are switching to a completely fragrance-free "green" soap bu Dial for the dispensers there and in our guest rooms. The body wash...

Watsons Bay, Australia
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We booked at Ivey House after reading Trip Advisor reviews. An article in Condé Nast Traveller appeared shortly after we booked, confirming that Ivey House was indeed a good place to stay. We arrived at 1am after a long flight from Australia and the staff had left our keys and instructions for us. They had also arranged our kayak trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review

Dear Etheldog: Thank you for your kinds words: we're very happy you enjoyed your accomodations and kayak tour with us. It sounds like you had a great time and were well treated by all our staff: we always strive to do our best! p.s. ... no powdered eggs here, only real ones!!

New Jersey
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Friendly and comfortable accommodations in a town time passed by located in the heart of Florida's Everglades. B&B guests get a substantial discount on Everglades EcoAdventures, guided kayak nature tours run by the owners of the Ivey House.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank He's Anonymous
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review

Dear He's Anonymous: Thank you for your short but sweet review of our Inn and eco tours! We're happy you had a good visit with us!

Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A bit expensive for the type of hotel, beds were not so comfortable and made a lot of noise. Breakfast was pretty good, overall pretty good but I was previously staying at a Hampton and this hotel disappointed me a little bit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolina C
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review

Dear Cani_Castro: Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I hope you were able to speak with a manager while you were here about your noisy bed: we do address issues such as that the minute we're made aware of them. We've recently replaced all our bedding, so I'm sure this shouldn't happen to anyone else, and we apologize...

Worthington
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at the Ivey House on March 31. My only regret is that we did not stay there longer. The room was cool and clean. The pool area was relaxing and lovely. Even the continental breakfast was fresh and well done. Our kayak trip was amazing - we'd all (my husband and I as well as our daughters 15...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review

Dear Jo R: Thank you for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as your evening kayak tour... it really is special to be out in the Everglades at night, especially when there's a blanket of stars enveloping the sky and you can hear the peaceful night sounds. We're very happy that you, your...

Princeton, NJ
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Neat as a pin, extremely helpful, courteous staff, lovely little courtyard pool area, tidy and serviceable (but very un-fancy) rooms, quiet and a decent breakfast. Great for families, especially those with adventuresome kids who are willing to get out of the usual theme-park, tourist-trap rut that most families fall into during Florida vacations. DEFINITELY spend the money on a guided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review

Dear Andrea S: Thank you for hitting the proverbial nail on the head! We pride ourselves on being the best place to stay in Everglades City and on providing amazing Everglades experiences to our guests. It's so wonderful to have folks who still love nature and enjoy going off the beaten track to experience America's fantastic natural resources. I'm sure...

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed one night in order to get an airboat tour and a kayaking adventure in. A nice room, non-friendly check-in, average breakfast. nothing memorable, not a bad stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildfoodie
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review

Dear wildfoodie: Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor, although I'm sorry to hear you didn't receive a welcoming and friedly check-in experience. If you email me separately at Lisa@Iveyhouse.com, I'd like to investigate and make sure all our front desk staff is following our normal procedures to make everyone feel welcomed: we don't want to be non-memorable! Thanks...

Paris, France
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at the lodge 2 nights. The breakfast is great. The rooms are small and the first night the bed was very soft (difficult to sleep). But then we could change room and it was OK for the second night. The staff is very helpful. Shared bathrooms and restrooms are really clean. There is a lovely swimming pool inside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne T
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review

Dear Anne T: Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're happy we were able to make you more comfortable on your second night, and that you found our Lodge to be very clean - and loved our breakfast buffet. We're also very pleased that you enjoyed one of our EvergladesAdventures.com kayak tours: they sure a great way to...

Redwood City, California
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Great place for staying in the Everglades, and the Cottage was perfect for our family. Staff very accommodating, friendly, and helpful. The pool was refreshing after our fabulous afternoon kayak trip with John--definitely a highlight of our trip!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ellen M
LisaAtIveyHouse, Public Relations Manager at Ivey House, responded to this review

Dear Ellen M: Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! We're very happy you enjoyed not only our Cottage but that you had a fabulous time on one of our EvergladesAdventure.com guided kayak trips. We're also grateful for your kind words about our staff: we try very hard to give our guests everything they need while they're here! Continued...

525 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (113)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (284)
Viewed
Amenities (51)
Viewed
King Room (46)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Second Two Queen Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)
Viewed
Two Queen Room (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Everglades City
10.1 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
3.8 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
21.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
0.6 mi away
Rod and Gun Club
Rod and Gun Club
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the magic of this secret paradise located in the heart of historic Everglades City. The Inn is the first Florida Certified Green Lodging in Collier County and features free WiFi, a scrumptious breakfast, a relaxing pool, and a friendly staff available to assist you easy access into unique and breathtaking areas of Everglades National Park. For 30 years the Harraden family has provided travelers ways to explore this World Treasure. Make a Dream Vacation Your Reality! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ivey House

Address: 107 Camellia Street, P.O. Box 5038, Everglades City, FL 34139
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Everglades City
Price Range: £75 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivey House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Ivey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivey House Hotel Everglades City
Ivey House Everglades City, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ivey House staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Miami, Florida
4 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Ivey House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the cottage, which we would go back to.”
885melaniej, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the Inn are by the pool.”
988susant, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any room with do!”
sandyt842, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“small rooms with dormitory baths in lodge are cheap, small but clean and cozy”
lilalubean, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay in main lodge to get a private bathroom. The added plus is you are infront of the pool.”
stepheng24, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates