We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Douglas House

Booking.comUS$171*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Douglas House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

750 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Douglas House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 638: English reviews
Edgewater, Maryland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had fantastic time in Key West! Douglas House was fantastic!!!! I agree with another review that for the price we could have gotten complementary bottles of water. Also, we stayed for two nights and our room was not made up! Still had trash, bed not made(not a big deal) but the trash would have been nice to get rid of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank murphy2554
DouglasHouseKW, Manager at Douglas House, responded to this review

Thanks for the Review! So sorry your room wasn't made up, perhaps the Do Not Disturb sign was up? I will look into it we keep a record of DND's. Again I apologize and look forward to seeing you again. Remember to Book Direct with the Douglas House for best rates and room selection we do not offer all rooms...

Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We booked the Douglas House since it had excellent reviews and stayed April 14 for two nights. We were accommodated at one of their apartment buildings where four other apartments where located. We woke up at 2AM by the noise of about six people in the hallway and apartments partying & drinking. The "emergency" contact provided by the reception at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mario P
DouglasHouseKW, Manager at Douglas House, responded to this review

This is an unfortunate situation that does not happen often. Key West sometimes lends itself to people enjoying themselves a bit too much on Duval Street especially on a holiday weekend. You stayed in a Vacation Rental at the Cuban Club Suites on Duval Street. They are all individually owned condominiums managed by different companies. After your phone call to...

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

The location of Douglas House is fantastic. The rooms are very nice and the pool area although small is sufficient. For the price we paid it would have been nice to at least offer a couple of bottles of complementary water. Also there was no kettle in the room! However, the staff are offhand and rude. Not once did they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nikki M
DouglasHouseKW, General Manager at Douglas House, responded to this review

This room was booked by you for your daughter while you were staying at another property in Key West. I understand that you felt it was an inconvenience to come to our property and sign paperwork. However the booking was made in your name with your credit card information which requires your signature. I personally had a pleasant conversation with...

maryland
Reviewed 11 April 2017

As others have said staff was very nice and helpful. The grounds are lush with plants and trees. The location was good so we walked everywhere. Our room was clean and supplied well. I took off one star for the loud neighbors. I know this is not the motels fault. The office closes at 10pm so there is no one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Storm886
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

This place is beautiful! The room was incredible and the grounds are amazing. We were even visited by the property cat!! Just a few steps away from Duval St. The staff were very friendly. Can't wait to come back!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angewade
DouglasHouseKW, General Manager at Douglas House, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Remember to always book on our website or phone us directly to get the best rate and room selection.

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Very nice and quaint guest house. Friendly staff and spacious rooms. Great location one block off Duval with a nice pool. Coffee bar by the pool. Quiet street with a parking lot one block from location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
DouglasHouseKW, General Manager at Douglas House, responded to this review

Thank You for your kind words we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Remember to book on our website or via phone for the best rates and room selections.

Mass.
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Our first time at the Douglas House and not the last!!! Stayed here for one night and wanted two but they were fully booked. Our room was fantastic queen suite. It was well stocked and very neat snd clean. The staff was great & very friendly and accommodating especially when we arrived early and told us they had off street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank custombridalgowns
DouglasHouseKW, General Manager at Douglas House, responded to this review

Thank You for your wonderful review we hope to see you again soon. * Remember to book Directly with the Douglas House via phone or our website for the Best Rates and Room selection*

Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Douglas house and loved it! It is located right in the heart of Duval Street. Off street parking was convenient and our room was comfortable and beautifully decorated. Wished that we had stayed more than one night and will be sure to rebook in the future. Highly recommend!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank norinejim
Racine, Wisconsin
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We stayed here March 2017 in Royal Palm for 4 nights and it was fabulous! It was clean, spacious, had its own balcony and felt very private The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept on while on vacation. Normally I wake up with a little backache but not here. Our room had a microwave, small refrigerator...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinbell911
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed 16 March 2017

This was a beautiful, unique place to stay, within walking distance of just about everything. We loved our room with our own private patio. Owners had renovated several houses into individual units and landscaped a lovely area in between the houses.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ckholy21

393 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (347)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duval Gardens
Duval Gardens
#20 of 77 in Key West
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Point Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Papa's Hideaway
Papa's Hideaway
#47 of 77 in Key West
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,434 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Douglas House

Address: 419 Amelia St, Key West, FL 33040-3120
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: £139 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Douglas House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Douglas House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor is awesome, no stairs to climb. #14 Bismark Palm King Cottage is private”
LadyGrO, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“This location all rooms are quite and clean.”
Angelspenc, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful lush garden surronding the rooms and pool.”
tinbell911, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It was one of the few "No Vacancy" signs that we saw in March, so if you want a choice of rooms, book early.”
ckholy21, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Garden view upstairs recommended. Best view, no foot steps above and more private.”
499kimberlyj, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$171* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$175
TripAdvisorUS$171
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates