We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Palms Hotel- Key West

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Palms Hotel- Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 393: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This bed and breakfast was the perfect accommodations for a long weekend of diving in Key West. Rooms were simple and clean, and the continental breakfast helped get us fed and on the boat early each morning. Convenient distance to Duval Street and discounts for return customers make for a great place to stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
San Antonio
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pros: 20 minute walk to Duval street Heated pool Spacious room Free continental breakfast Nice staff Easy check in Cons: Shared bathroom (not sure if all the rooms have a shared bathroom) No black out shades, so you will wake up at the crack of dawn Thin walls Parking is extremely limited The window AC units are loud The room:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterBella
Management response:

Hello, Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate all your feedback and kind words. You stayed in one of our rooms that have a shared bath, there are only two. We have several different room types including some cottages with full kitchens. We hope you will come back and visit us...

Parry Sound, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely Victorian property. Walking distance to Duval St. you can also hop the bus for a minimal fee. We booked a suite on the main floor. Very nice. Just outside the door was seating and a swing to relax in the evening. Continental breakfast served at tiki bar by the pool. Nice way to meet people. The staff were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kchard
Management response:

Hello, thank you for staying with us, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. You mention our owner's son, as you might imagine dealing with the loss of a loved one as well as running a business that all of sudden is your's to run is a challenge and a bit overwhelming to even the biggest super hero. Gary is our...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I realize that Key West is expensive but had I known that the Palms wasn't very close to downtown I would've just stayed further away and paid less for a bigger hotel. It's clean and the outside area by the poor and front is pretty but we were given the worst room in the hotel (Queen bed and pull out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianaleila
Management response:

Hello, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Customer service is very important and we strive to improve each and everyday. Had we known of your circumstances and concerns we would have gladly moved you into a different room. The same goes with the enthusiastic family you mentioned, we take Guest Quiet Hours seriously and we...

Newport News, Virginia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed during the end of Fantasy Fest and were happy with this establishment. The walk to Duval Street is about a mile each way, so keep that in mind if you're wanting to primarily hang out there. What caught our eye was room 206 (the loft suite) there is a living area downstairs and the King bed bedroom upstairs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank majureks
Management response:

Hello, THANK YOU for your wonderful comments! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you were in our Turret Room, it is very charming and unique. We hope you will come back and visit us soon and when you do call us we have a nice Guest Rewards Program for all of our repeat guests!

Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Reviewed 30 October 2016

It started out with an issue with reservations. We were told over the phone there were no rooms available? So we booked thru booking.com. We went with another couple and it was there 1st time at a B & B. They were disappointed that they could hear the person above them and children running on the wooden planks for $200...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gpeterson49
Management response:

Hello, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. With regards to reservations, it may be that when you called the rooms were fully booked BUT some cancellations can be done electronically and a person might have cancelled literally in the next few minutes of your call which then immediately opened the room up for sale. Our...

Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Clean rooms, a bit outdated. Friendly folks in the lobby. Continental breakfast was the norm. Lots of action due to Fantasy Fest going on! Pool was cool. About a mile away from Duval Street. Nice B&B but likely wouldn't stay again for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michigan-TLWCAW
Management response:

Thank you for staying with us! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Fantasy Fest is just like high season, rooms are in demand, the island sells out and prices increase. Come a week earlier or later and you will get great prices and the same beautiful weather! We hope you will visit us again and if you do Call...

Birmingham
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Was ok for one night. Nothing was particularly good but likewise there was nothing to particularly moan about either. There is limited parking outside of the property. Seemed safe enough to walk around and there was a very nice Peruvian restaurant a few minutes walk away

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brummie47
Management response:

Hello, thank you for staying with us. By the sounds of it you were just here one night so you didn't have a chance to take advantage of our bike rentals and explore the island or talk with one of our experienced guest services agents that could provide you with some great suggestions and book adventures/activities for you. We hope...

Austin, Minnesota
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Hotel was plain but in a nice quit side street. The one surprise was the the local taxes and fees. Room for 4 nights was $895 which i thought was the the total quoted but surprise the actual total was $1006 or $111.88 tax and fees

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tom9078
Patti F, Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review

We apologize but are forced, by law, to add taxes/fees. All resorts in Key West, and most areas, charge taxes and fees mandated by the county in which we reside. If there was a way to not charge you, I assure you we would certainly do this for you and everyone. Please understand that this is not our policy but...

Reviewed 10 October 2016

This is a lovely hotel not far from everything in Key West. This was a weekend break for me and my grown kids and dog. I have been living here for a while and missing them. The room was plenty comfortable and right next to the pool. The guests were all friendly and happy. The helpful and friendly staff made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy P
Patti F, Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you at our Hotel. Everyone needs a break and the Palms Hotel will give you a well deserved rest. We have many family reunions at our Hotel which makes all of us family. We look forward to seeing you and your family again. Patti

414 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Queen Bed (43)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Suite (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#36 of 49 in Key West
2,250 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#53 of 79 in Key West
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#21 of 79 in Key West
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#17 of 49 in Key West
513 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn
0.7 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 79 in Key West
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Palms Hotel is the perfect hybrid of a quaint historically built guesthouse with all the amenities of a modern hotel in the historic district of Key West, 8 short blocks to Duval. Complimentary breakfast, seasonally heated pool, WI-FI property wide, guest computer, bicycle rental ($), BBQ picnic spot and lounge areas around the porches of the property. Concierge service is available to plan your Key West adventures and activities. Will you be here for a special event? Let us know and we can make your event even more memorable. Each of our guest rooms is equipped with a TV, telephone, individually controlled air conditioner and ceiling fans. Children and pets are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel- Key West

Address: 820 White St, Key West, FL 33040-7157
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: £128 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel- Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palms Hotel- Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel- Key West Hotel Key West
Palms Hotel Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Palms Hotel- Key West staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Sao Paulo, SP
Alexandria, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Palms Hotel- Key West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 206 loft suite is the best!”
 of 5 bubbles majureks, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask all the questions you need to when you book. The office staff will help you with the best deal.”
 of 5 bubbles 535stacyp, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Opt for the rooms that have their own bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles caki91, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We got the cottage and it was like home away from home. Just don't forget your keys!”
 of 5 bubbles 119lindseya, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a shared bath have use of kitchen to save some money on food. Leave the car parked if possible. No street parking.”
 of 5 bubbles AmyB27, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay