We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gulf View Waterfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 441: English reviews
Tijeras, New Mexico
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Mike and Stephanie went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We only stayed one night on this trip but would consider using it as a home base for future trips to the Keys. The grounds are lovely, you can walk to several restaurants, and the Dolphin Research Center is only 100 yards down the road. Very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yvonne S
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights. Great little family run hotel, that is very relaxing and low key. (Dog and kid friendly) Good location in the middle keys to get to Key West or other keys for day trips. We always made sure to be back before sunset, to watch the sun go down with our friends....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NCSUWags
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights, and found it a very clean, comfortable, covenant and friendly place. It is an older hotel, but has everything you need and it all works. We enjoyed the kayaking in the gulf right in front. The location is convenient to amenities in Marathon (e.g., stores, golf course) and is a easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delidog
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Nothing was as advertised. A waste of money. Living area consisted of 2 uncomfortable futons and a TV so small you could hardly see it. Sliding screen door was off the track and very difficult to open. Communal balcony was furnished with a concrete table and bench. So disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ellen s
GulfViewResort, Front Desk Reception at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is unfortunate to hear that you look back on your stay here with us as a bad experience. We try our best to go above and beyond for all of our guests, and the majority of our reviews reflect this. By providing your feedback we can continue to enhance each guests' experience by improving upon the points...

Nanuet, New York
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the Keys. Gulf View Waterfront Resort was just what we needed. As the name says, the property is waterfront, right on the Gulf. We were welcomed by the owner who brought us right to our room when we checked in. The property was beautiful and "eco-friendly". Loved the talking Cockatoo and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandy P
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Old style hotel, friendly staff on the gulf for those great sunsets. Clean with a kitchenette. Nice property with pool. They can make improvements by adding a small side table next to the bathroom sink & adding a luggage rack. The only real negative were the sheets that would not stay on the bed. Hello owners.....an easy fix. I'd stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura T
Cabot, Vermont
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at the Gulf View Resort for one night while cycling the Keys. When we arrived at the office, there was our name on the welcome sign! Mike was very friendly and helpful as we checked in, then he brought us to our room. The room was absolutely clean. It was on the road side of the building, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank janet b
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Our third visit to this hotel and it is always clean and well maintained. We love that is not a franchise and they are very accomodating. They have large birds and a tortoise that my children love. A great place to go to get away from the hustle and bustle.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank T D
Santee, South Carolina
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Have been coming to the Keys for decades - ready for a change. Found Gulf View after a Google and Tripadvisor search. Resort is pet friendly, very well maintained, beautifully landscaped, well sited and very private. Is on a bay about eight miles north of Marathon, so all needed supplies are available there as well a dozens of restaurants, charters,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chermol
South Carolina
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I can honestly say that the property is beautiful and well maintained. The hammocks and landscape is really lovely. The the family running this motel, does a great job maintaining the property. The rooms are spacious and offer the amenities most people would expect. Fridge, Microwave, Dishes and Hair Dryer and truly a Clean ROOM! However, the beds need serious...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank SouthCarolinaLucy

734 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (52)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (470)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Guest Room (65)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (76)
Viewed
Pool (37)
Viewed
Queen Double Efficiency Room (69)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
255 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
707 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 16 in Marathon
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gulf View Waterfront Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
North West England, UK
1 month ago
1 month ago
Paris, Wisconsin
1 month ago
Punta Gorda, FL
10 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Gulf View Waterfront Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For better ocean view, request a second floor room but may change price. Didn't see elevator, so second floor means schlepping your luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles RobG917, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“best rooms are top floor balcony overlooking ocean”
 of 5 bubbles dianef869, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“air condition is too loud and the beds are bad...”
 of 5 bubbles 609achillesl, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“there are no elevators”
 of 5 bubbles JillW356, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are amazing”
 of 5 bubbles H7436OCerich, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5