We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 420: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

another lovely few days spent at the Eden arms Good Food Lovely Staff Special thanks go to Julia,Daniel ,Jane & Keith Aka Mr Ben sadly no Brett , Lovely clean warm comfortable room and spent Sunday afternoon in the spa A Lovely Chilled Out Weekend Thank You All We Will Be Back

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey O
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for such a lovely review, your special thanks has been warmly recieved by those mentioned and indeed the entire team. We all look forward to welcoming you back with a smile should you chose to stay with us again. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General Manager.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Has free pass to trial gym, pool etc. To see if l wished to join. Gym humid, only one treadmill, weights so old in pounds. Gym area dirty, walls marked,. Pool warm but sand in pool and ripples in flooring. How did sand get in pool? Changing rooms dirty...decided not to use shower. Doors on lockers falling off. Overall all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbie k
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you havn't enjoyed our leisure facility as much as our 300 members and 22,000 guests last year. You'll be pleased to know that we have just aquired another treadmill. We have put this in the conservatory gym. This gym is through the double doors poolside, we offer this extended facility as it is alot less...

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. We had arrived a little early in order to avoid to much traffic from Lincolnshire and we were able to sit in the comfortable and warm lounge having a drink and a snack before we were then invited to have a free drink and collect our room key....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for a splendid review, We're so glad that you enjoyed our warm welcome and hospitality over the New year break. I am rightly proud of all the team here at the Eden arms and we all look forward to offering you the same standard of service should you chose to stay with us again. kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival the staff were lovely the decoration of the whole of hotel needs redoing is very flaky. Beds were very uncomfortable but on a positive note their was no noise during the night. Next the food needs great attention as on a whole it was dreadful, the soup I ordered was cold and the bread role could of smashed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for the positives and more importantly the negatives. Raising these valuable points ensures that we can be proactive in our approach to solving any issues you may have experienced. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General Manager

Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whilst trying to find alternative restaurant to Hardwick Hall came across this hotel that my wife had visited a long time ago. Bar menu seemed reasonable as we did not wish a three course meal in the restaurant that was quite full. Waitress at the bar seemed new as she did not know some of the items on the menu....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to post your review which I read with some concern. We would have happily provided an alternative to our scotch pie had your complaint not been registered on the way out. I must apologise again though as no food leaves our kitchen unless absolutely perfect, this appears to have been a rare oversight on our...

Darwen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

The Bay Eden Arms was our base for a visit to the North East last week. The Hotel is a former Coaching House once in the possession of the Eden family. We were on a half board basis and found the Hotel to be very welcoming by all the staff. The breakfast was buffet style with ample food for all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Venture65
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your wonderful review, its always a pleasure and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Laurie simpson General Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Stayed on a 4 day National Holidays coach trip. Hotel was ideally suited for our excursions to Durham, Newcastle, Gateshead & The Beamish Museum. All the staff, from the Asst Manager who welcomed us, to the cleaners were very efficient, friendly and welcoming. The room I had (No 44) was badly in need of refurbishment, but had everything I needed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allain151
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, you'll be pleased to know that we have an ongoing refurbishment plan and the final 12 rooms have been planned for 2017. Our aim is to combine modern functionality without detracting from the rustic atmosphere of our 16th century property. I can guarantee that you'll be suitably impressed on your return visit. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson...

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

The Eden Arms Hotel is a Shearings Hotel & my wife & myself took advantage of an offer to be resident in the Hotel for 3 nights. We wanted to visit the Beamish village & Locomotion at Shifnal. Not knowing County Durham very well or this part of it, it has been a rather good start to the weekend. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianB321
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments, It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and we look forward to you visiting again, whilst you further explore all the wonderful secrets county Durham has to offer. kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General Manager

Wirral
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Stayed last week for four night break with our son. We had a room for three which was clean, comfortable and spacious. We found all the staff to be friendly and efficient and the food was good. There were several choices for dinner and the buffet breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. The week was excellent value for money and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeMaWirral
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind recommendation, we would love to welcome you back should you be in The North East again, hopefully in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General Manager.

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Our five day holiday included a day at Beamish outdoor museum, and the National Rail Museum, Shildon. The hotel was nicely furnished, good food, friendly staff, and entertainment every night. The weather also played it's part, sunny and dry, with clear skies every day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biggles26
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay exploring the many delights our county has to offer, then returning back to base to enjoy good food, friendly staff and to top it all off...Some December sunshine! We look forward to welcoming you back with a smile should you chose to stay with us again. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General...

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rushyford
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,909 reviews
3.5 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Address: Middridge Road, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Rushyford
Price Range: £53 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Eden Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Eden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Arms Durham
Eden Arms Hotel
Hotel Eden Arms
Bay Eden Arms Hotel Durham/Rushyford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Eden Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
merseyside
5 months ago
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Arnside

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Eden Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It certainly pays to spend a little extra and have a Superior Room”
 of 5 bubbles davidaB1310SW, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lower numbered rooms are further from the entertainment below.”
 of 5 bubbles Venture65, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pay £5 per night for Superior Room. We have a quiet room, although the decoration could be described as Naval Grey”
 of 5 bubbles BrianB321, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room(8) was over the dining room.”
 of 5 bubbles biggles26, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not for people with limited mobility. No Lift”
 of 5 bubbles Elizabeth251, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay