We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,033: English reviews
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We have stayed here several times over the last 2 decades. This last time was as nice as the first time. Everything was extremely clean. Everyone was friendly. We booked at the last minute and the hotel was not full. The prices were very reasonable for Sanibel ($150 with AAA discount). It's right on the beach. There are only a... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoyBulldog
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Earning your repeat business is extremely rewarding to us and we truly appreciate it! So glad that you enjoyed the beach, hammocks, landscape and service. I will make certain to share with the with the bartending staff that the mango margaritas were THE BEST! They take pride in making many of their mixes from all fresh ingredients. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My friend and I stayed there for 2 nights during Thanksgiving weekend. We got two rooms that had a shared internal door which was great! The rooms were nice, comfortable and clean. The staff both at the reception desk and the pool bar were friendly and helpful. Private beach was the best feature!

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia S
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Our backyard, being the beach and Gulf of Mexico, really are a great feature and a huge draw. You can walk for miles in either direction. Thank you for sharing that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. More 

Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
173 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked here through Expedia a few months ago for thanksgiving as we wanted to visit Sanibel. The restaurant wasn't available and breakfast was a complimentary grab and go style so we didn't bother. There was a resort fee of $25 per room per night. The room was clean but a little outdated. The shower was lovely and big with no... More 

Helpful?
Thank sawyer5
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for spending your Thanksgiving holiday with us. We are pleased to learn that the beds were comfortable, the shower and towels were to your liking, and, the top rated amenity was our beach. More 

Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

There's no gym or fitness room, though the listing on Booking.com plainly says there is one. What modern motel doesn't have at least a basic fitness room? The contemptuous attitude at the front desk was, "We have no responsibility for what it says on Booking.com. If you want a refund, talk to them."

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

We certainly apologize if you felt any of our staff had a contemptuous attitude. That is not our intent or guest service culture. I am confused as to a site listing that we have a fitness center or gym because we do not have one here and we do not give information that we do to any of our booking... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is kind of "motel" style. That's not a bad thing. I just wasn't sure what to expect. I was thinking it would be more like a tall hotel and it's not. That didn't matter to me though. We had a king bedroom and it was good. The room is very minimalist. Not much too it. But it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abby J
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

When you are pleased...we are pleased ! Thank you for your detailed review. It does help our future guests know what to expect. In the near future our restaurant renovations should be complete which will allow us to offer full breakfasts and dinners in addition to our current tiki bar lunch offerings. Apologies for our short term solution the grab... More 

Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I know most hotels in resort areas do it, but if its a mandatory fee it should just be included in the room rate. Other than that, the hotel was clean, and a nice location for the beach and the rest of the island. The room was clean and covered the basics. The grab and go breakfast is pretty useless... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Breezy-N-Wheezy
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

We appreciate your review of our beachfront resort as well as the comments that you shared. All input is useful to us in striving to improve our services and property. We hope to see you again soon and are pleased that you had a good stay with us. More 

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A good size room, very clean, good service from front desk staff. Kitchen undergoing renovations which should be completed by December therefore dining on site unavailable apart from breakfast which was well below the expected Holiday Inn standard. Assurances from the Hotel that this will improve once renovations complete. Hotel staff on the front desk did recommend a restaurant 5... More 

Helpful?
Thank John P
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Thank you for rating us as excellent! Your review will be shared with the entire team as they take such pride in comments such as yours. Glad you enjoyed the location, the facilities and the service. More 

endicott NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was very clean, and the service was excellent, everyone from front desk staff to maid service to "tiki bar" helped to make our weekend there perfect, Very nice beach, and great pool, look forward to a return visit.

Helpful?
Thank MVV46
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Your five star rating of our hotel is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the staff. Thank you for your review and your compliments. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We where driving from the keys and needed somewhere for a couple days before guests left our holiday letting which we own just up the road, so quick call to holiday inn on morning before got us a room, front desk service was good although i think $35 charge to replace your $50c bracelet they give you on arrivals a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe T
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and so glad that our location, beach, hammocks and pool area were to your liking. I apologize that we left you with a negative though regarding the wrist bands. There is no charge for the wristbands unless they are not returned at checkout. The beach and pool as well as other amenities are for the... More 

Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We stayed there a few years ago and liked to location etc. but the property was showing its age and looked "tired". My understanding is that they are under new management and it shows. The place has been painted, the rooms refreshed, the pool area updated and p[ool furniture replaced with new. We were very satisfied, the room was attractive... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick B
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Thank you for noticing all of our changes and additions! Glad you gave us another try and we expect to continue making great improvements. More 

998 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (523)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (139)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Other (185)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (449)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Pool (76)
Viewed
Poolside Double Room (67)
Viewed
Poolside King Room (72)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,863 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
347 reviews
3.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We cordially invite you to relax and enjoy our tropical island beach paradise at the Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island.The experience begins the moment you cross the Sanibel Causeway just west of Fort Myers, Florida and travel over the azure waters of the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. You'll feel the stress and fast pace of every-day life slip away.The Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island is located on one of the most beautiful sanctuary islands in the world with the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico as our own back yard. Sanibel Island is renowned for its natural beauty and habitat, miles of unspoiled beaches, world famous shell collecting, an array of activities, water sports, fishing and exceptional restaurants. Whether your visit brings you to our beachfront hotel for business or for pleasure, you will enjoy our charmingly quaint resort hotel surrounded by lush tropical landscape, pristine beach, ponds with waterfalls, outdoor pool with expansive sun deck, tennis courts and friendly staff who are eager to assist you.Plan your well deserved vacation or romantic getaway on Sanibel Island now. We specialize in leisure vacations, small meetings, retreats, corporate incentive travel and beach side weddings. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6729
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: £139 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sanibel Island 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Sanibel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Florida
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Sanibel Island staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Sanibel Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“With a ground floor room you can park outside your unit. No lifts as far as we are aware.”
 of 5 bubbles johnpS2419VW, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Poolside is a good choice.”
 of 5 bubbles FredB97, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 137-150 and 239-250 are closest to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Beth999, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pricing should be better. For those rates I rather stay in luxury hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles amarilispr, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“not many rooms that face the water, but you are just steps from the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Wesnole, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay