We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterside Inn on the Beach

Visit hotel website
Traveller (407)
Room & Suite (489)
Pool & Beach (151)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Are you searching for that true Olde Florida charm and style? Look no further than Waterside Inn! You?re just steps away from the beautiful beaches of Sanibel. Amenities include a heated pool, beach loungers, on-site bike rentals, and BBQ grills. Come to relax and unwind in one of our small inns or cottages.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Heated pool
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
668Reviews
999Photos
26Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 387
  • 182
  • 48
  • 30
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Beach was beautiful. Location excellent! Room was horrid! Broken lock on room 115 patio door. Arrived late and didn’t check patio door on ground level room the next morning attempted to close and lock the door after viewing the morning sun and to my surprise the lock was non
Read more
Response from Waterside I, Manager at Waterside Inn on the Beach
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. Lets clarify the door issue. The door was working just fine and there was no damage to your door prior to your arrival. This is backed up by a maint, housekeeping and front office inspection prior to arrival. I do understand your frustration when not being able to close the door in the morning however sometimes the doors do come off track but they are very easy to put back on. Our maintenance hours are 8-430 Tuesday thru Saturday since we are a small property with only 28 units we do not have around the clock maintenance. Our front office staff gave you the pole from a beach umbrella to create a wedge and a secure way to keep the door closed until we could have maint. address the issue. Although you were a first floor unit, first floors are not ground level and not easily accessible . We would have been happy to switch you to a different unit but we were sold out and no rooms were available. Upon your check out and reporting the door didn't close I went immediately to the room to check on the door with another staff member who accompanied me. The door was indeed off the track which happens when the door is being forcefully shut. It took less than a minute to get back on track but to my surprise I was astonished to see the amount of damage done to the door. It was obvious that in an attempt to close the door the entire door lock sustained a great deal of damage which you can see in your photo above. Waterside Inn is an Old Florida Style resort. While it may not be for everyones taste we have many repeat and new guests that love the resort and come back often.
Read more
My spouse and I stayed here for four nights. I'm giving the place three stars, but the experience was mighty close to 2.5. Things got off to a rocky start when we first entered our room and attempted to connect to the WiFi. We followed the instructions posted in the room but
Read more
Melissa and Taylor were incredible hosts. They told us what restaurants were good, sites to visit, busy traffic times, were accommodating with their bike rentals, and answered all of our questions. They went out of their way to make us feel like honored guests and they took
Read more
Response from Waterside I, Manager at Waterside Inn on the Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback and the five star review. Our staff works extremely hard to make sure each guest experience is a memorable one. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Until then may you always have a shell in your pocket and sand between your toes!
Read more
Just spent the weekend at Waterside and loved everything about it, almost. We stayed in the Kiwi Cottage, right across from the pool and just down from the beach. Beach access was only a few steps from our door and we basically had the beach to ourselves. The office staff was
Read more
Response from Waterside I, Manager at Waterside Inn on the Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you or the great review. Our staff works very hard to make your stay enjoyable. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
I recently stayed at the Waterside Inn for my son's wedding. Even before our arrival, Carol and her staff were most helpful in making arrangements and suggestions to help make this wedding and our stay memorable. From the moment we arrived we were treated like family. The
Read more
Response from Waterside I, Manager at Waterside Inn on the Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the five star rating! We are so happy you were pleased with everything. It was the most magical wedding ever! Two wonderful families and many happy memories. We hope to see you back soon!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorWaterside Inn on the Beach
The Gulf View Lodge Guest Room at the Waterside Inn on the Beach
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorWaterside Inn on the Beach
The Gulf View Cottage at the Waterside Inn on the Beach
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorWaterside Inn on the Beach
The Honeymoon Cottage at the Waterside Inn on the Beach
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorWaterside Inn on the Beach
The Gulf View Effeciency Lodge at the Waterside Inn on the Beach
Photo provided by managementWaterside Inn on the Beach
PreviousNext
12345698
Thank you for the inquiry. We do not provide basics such as aluminum foil or salt and pepper. No food products. We do supply Coffee regular and DeCafe along with packets of sweet and low and non dairy creamer packets. Bailey General store is just a few mile down the road from us for all your grocery needs. They do deliver and will bring groceries directly to your unit.
0 votes
Show all answers
How close are you to Bowman's beach?
Hello Bowman's Beach is approx 5 miles ,about a 10 minute car ride from us.
0 votes
Show all answers
Are the bicycles free or rentals?
Bicycles are available for rent through our front office.
0 votes
Show all answers
Doggie friendly
Yes we are pet friendly in our cottage units only. There is a weight restriction of 30 pounds. We have a maximum of two pets allowed in each cottage. The fee is $20.00 per night per pet.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there a hair dryer in the room?
Yes, All rooms are equipped with a wall mounted hairdryer.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123456
"A balcony on the upper floor ensures a beautiful sunset every night and you can see the dolphins swim daily."
"Friday night is happy hour on the shuffleboard court"
"Seems like best view room would be second floor of Pineapple at the beach end. No Elevator."
"The road is kind of noisey so keep that in mind. Condos are way nicer than the cottages."
"Best views are on the second floor closest to the ocean."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$303 - US$489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waterside inn on the beach hotel sanibel islandwaterside hotel sanibel islandwaterside resort sanibel island
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastSanibel Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing