We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,121: English reviews
Staffordshire Moorlands
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We have been staying here for many years and shall continue to do so as long as it doesn't change and our finances permit!! Room and cleaning same as normal and no problems with ants as others have mentioned. Stayed as Hurricane Matthew went over so very windy for a coupe of days but not a problem. Our only criticism...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sand_dollar_57
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Staff was great. Location was great. The large pool was being redone so we couldn't use it but overall everything was great except for the resturant was not very good. From the service to the food was not very good. Very pricey for the amount you got.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHARLES C
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your business. We don't hear very often that the food was not good so I am disappointed to read this. I was happy to read that the staff was great. We try hard to offer the best customer service and anticipate your needs. Thank you for taking the time to write. We hope to see you again...

Morris, United States
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We came for a college visit and interview. My daughter got very sick and ended up in the hospital. We had to stay several extra days. The staff at this hotel were amazing. They provided us with anything we needed to make our stay easier. They even let as stay the extra days at a reduced rate. That alone was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 305kerrim
GMSandcastle, Front Office Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a positive review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that you were able to utilize many of the amenities that we provide to our guest and our location right on the beach is hard to beat. We feel we are the best value on the beach and work hard to...

michigan
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We come back to this hotel every year because of the incredible white sand beach and the Sandcastle staff. The pink, low rise, three story motel has been updated over the years and is comfortable. Don't expect luxury, however. The bathrooms are small and in need of a redo, and the beds are just okay. The meals have been particularly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank indulgent_traveler
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay this year was during the red timed bloom. As you were aware, some days were better than others. The good news is that the red tide appears to be gone and no traces are found in either water or air samples taken recently by the county. The big pool is now complete and we...

Olympia
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

I was part of a conference held at the Sandcastle. I'd made my reservation 5 months in advance. When I arrived, I asked assigned a room with an obstructed view of the parking garage. Staff seemed overworked, but friendly. The beds...oh, the beds were much less than satisfactory. You know the kind. When it gets to be 6:30 am and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Townsend_Flash
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The hotel offers several different room types to choose from and it sounds like you did not enjoy your choice. If you were ever willing to give us a second opportunity to serve you, I would be willing to personally assist you with the reservation and...

Boston
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We drank heavily at The Tiki Bar and can't say enough about the bartender Michael - he made the best Dark n Stormy ever - wicked good! Karaoke singer at bar was incredible too. Such a great time! We will definitely be back for more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BosKat
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Stayed here 5 nights. If you want to be right on the beach you may like this hotel especially if you get a room with a gulf view. We would not stay again. The layout and decor remind one of the 1950's. Room was spacious enough but paper thin walls and the bathtub needed to be replaced as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank l0vet0travel999
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. We appreciate your feedback and I ask you to call me directly if ever traveling to our area again in the future. We have many different room types and I am sure I can pair you with a location that is quiet and you still have the beach at...

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Older place but nice. Beds were small but place was clean. 2 nice heated pools. Pool bar. Bikes. Beach chairs with umbrellas and towels all included. Free shuttle. Staff was very helpful! Right on the beach we watched dolphins swim by. Lots of shells to gather too!! Great beach!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rocksay
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and look forward to your return should the Gulf call you back! Our beaches are beautiful and the sunsets and amazing! Thank you! Tim H.

West Seattle
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We loved the view from our large room. The location was about 1.3 miles from a shopping and restaurant area, an easy walk (hotel provided shuttle as well). The pool was large enough for lap swimming and was kept at the perfect temp. The bathrooms could have used an update and the room temp was a little inconsistent. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeLeeAnn
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your business. We work hard to keep our customer service consistent and appreciate the opportunity to serve you. We stand ready to serve you again in the future and look forward to serving your friends as well! Tim H.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Visiting family in Florida during Christmas break. Hubby wanted to visit Siesta Key. After searching many hotels in the area, we decided on the Sandcastle...are we glad we did! It was absolutely perfect! Comfortable, clean room, friendly staff, great restaurant right there by a fabulous pool and tiki bar. The private beach is second to none...absolutely beautiful. Free use of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShariAnn2009
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Great News! Thank you for your review and sharing with others some of the benefits of staying at Sandcastle Lido Beach. Our team will be delighted to hear you had such a great time. We will be ready to serve once the time come for your return. We appreciate your business and stand ready. Tim H.

696 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (672)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (157)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
View from Room (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (91)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (205)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,251 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
4.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
116 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Price Range: £153 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Sandcastle Resort At Lido Beach Sarasota, Florida
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Talk to somebody live about where your room location is ahead of time. Do not trust anyone to assign you a good room automatically”
 of 5 bubbles knatman, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the courtyard side have balconies, but you have to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs. (staff will help, if needed)”
 of 5 bubbles sisb2013, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lowest level was great! I would choose this again!”
 of 5 bubbles jmsk2017, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a balcony gulf view room !”
 of 5 bubbles sunfish4141, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can pay extra to have a gulf view, but you can also just walk right out to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles rpdmom, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5