Red Roof Inn Helen
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Red Roof Inn Helen

Traveller (35)
Bathroom
Room & Suite (30)
Pool
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

£108
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#12 of 20 hotels in Helen
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Red Roof Inn Helen invites you to experience all that Alpine Helen has to offer. We are located less than one mile from downtown Helen. You'll also be near Truett-McConnell College, Anna Ruby Falls, and the Blue Ridge Mountains. We offer our guests free Wi-Fi, free continental breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool, and infotainment in all rooms. Ask us about our bike rentals. Red Roof Inn Helen is a pet-friendly hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Vending machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

8171 S Main St, Helen, GA 30545-3654
165Reviews9Q+A28Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 57
  • 47
  • 24
  • 10
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SWCAtlanta wrote a review Jul 2022
Fayetteville, Georgia30 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This one is hard to honestly review. We knew we overpaid (nearly $300 total for one Saturday night) but it was a last minute decision. The room looked clean and decently furnished and updated, and the A/C was new enough to be reasonably quiet. But when I wiped up a water spill on the wood-look floor, the towel was black. I would guess the room is swept but not mopped, or the mop water is never changed. Breakfast is skimpy breads, cereal, coffee, apples, and a pancake maker, but the room had a frig and microwave if you pick up some real food. I'd guess the front desk clerk just expected complaints; he barely spoke and certainly never smiled. (And no, I was not angry or hostile in any way toward him.) Go in with low expectations, and you'll be fine.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael White, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Helen
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
danawana1979 wrote a review Jun 2020
Warner Robins, Georgia5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
For $225.00 for one night. Breakfast was empty by 0800. They placed a few more items out for us. Breakfast only consist of Nutri-grain and Kelloggs Special K Bars. Cartons of Milk and Cartons of O.J.
We were told that hot breakfast was no longer being served due to Covid-19. There is only one way in and one way out. It's a steep driveway. Vehicles and Pedestrians share this space. It's very dangerous. The pool was cloudy. Staff seem kind and were very helpful. Our room was clean and efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MamaBJax wrote a review Sept 2023
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida14 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
They get away with the price because of location (walkable to center of town if you had to) and take dogs. Rooms need attention/updating. After our stay in Helen, I would not go back. A tourist trap feel, the whole town needs a facelift, not too many great places to stay/eat in center of town. If you are coming for hiking, don’t stay in town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madison Velian, Marketing at Red Roof Inn Helen
Responded 8 Sept 2023
Hello Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at the RED ROOF INN HELEN. I am saddened to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the upkeep of the room and the other highlighted concerns that hindered your stay. While our goal is to deliver comfortable and clean accommodations for all guests, it appears we fell short with you, and for that, we sincerely apologize. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. We will take your comments into consideration to make changes to improve our customer experience. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, Tianna RediResponse Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy D wrote a review Nov 2020
Jacksonville, Florida30 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We reserved the room last minute the night before. We’ve never stayed at a Red Roof before but because we were traveling with our dog we decided to give it a shot. We got to the hotel to check in and they didn’t have the room we reserved (2 queen room) but instead had us in a king suite which sounds great but my 2 boys weren’t exactly thrilled about sleeping on a disgusting pull out couch. But we accepted it and moved on to the next issue. We booked the room at $260 (which was overpriced but given the last minute timing and the time of year, it wasn’t unexpected), however they tried to push the room rate up to $320 when we arrived because they were putting us in a “nicer room”. Obviously that wasn’t going to work so after a brief conversation that was corrected. So then we get to our room we first pull out said couch to find a disgusting mattress with food crumbs. No biggie, we wipe it off and deal. Then we notice things moving on the ceiling...yes, the room was infested with bugs. A huge stink bug on the curtain, let bugs throughout the room. But that’s not all, there was also a water bottle under the air conditioner and an open liquor bottle in the freezer. Needless to say we got a refund and found another place. Do yourself a favor and don’t book this place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RonaldandMisty B wrote a review Jan 2021
Panama City Beach, Florida249 contributions58 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hate to leave a bad review but this place is horrible! When we tried to check in the guy in charge had his feet on the coffee table and was high as a kite! Said I seriously doubt it with slurred words. We stayed here last last year and it was ok besides Chase offered drugs to our neighbors. Room was clean and updated. We decided to stay an extra day after staying at the Riverbend cabin. When we checked in there were older ladies with a 120 lb dog barking at us and scared my wife. After supper we came back to have a good sleep. The ladies beside us we were loud and dog barking. We complained to the desk several times and then realized they were employees. They told us to leave for complaining to much and one came to our door and said what is wrong with you! We said we just wanted to go to sleep. We left in such a hurry without one of our suitcases containing juicy couture $100 perfume. And other things totaling $1,000. Said nothing was left , they obviously divided it up between them! Turns out they were employees, divided our stuff between them. By the way they have a cat that’s ear is hanging off his face we offered to take to a vet and pay to get him fixed. Check the cameras if you have them corporate! You’re people that run this motel are all using drugs! Will be telling our story on all social media! If you think we give bad reviews a lot follow us on trip advisor and see we rarely give bad reviews! Stay here at your own risk! They said we didn’t leave any thing after they took what they wanted and through away what they didn’t want! Never stay at Ref Roof ever!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael White, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Helen
Responded 27 Jan 2021
Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha B wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Came to Helen for a family trip. Fire Alarm went off in middle of night because it is faulty and employees forgot to “silence” it every 8 hours as is their custom since it goes off every 8 hours or so due to problems with the fire alarm system. I don’t want to stay at any hotel with a malfunctioning fire alarm. Room keys worked on all doors and front desk said locks on room doors don’t work properly so most of the keys are given “maid” key access but not to worry because they are on the “honor system” there and expect guests to not enter other guest’s rooms. We left immediately. As a women in a room with two young girls, I felt extremely unsafe. Do not recommend staying there. Especially when any random person staying at the hotel can come into your room while you are sleeping or out visiting the town. The place and it’s employees were way too sketchy.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael White, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Helen
Responded 1 Aug 2022
Thank you for your feedback!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diana S wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of this hotel was great, but It WAS NOT CLEAN. Usually I wear flips in a hotel room but sometimes I get up and forget to put them on, The floors were sticky and my feet became very dirty. The mattress was shaped like a smiley face. bowed in. the towel rack was falling of the wall, for a handicap room there was no shower chair. I know the hotel does not have anything to do with this but the people over us were noisy all night, 2 and 3 in the morning thought they were building a house. LOL
Over priced for type hotel and accommodations. About a 80.00 a night room paid 160.00
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey G wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for two nights and checked out early after being attacked by two pit bulls. This hotel has a “leash policy” that is not enforced in the slightest. There is a “dog park” (or overgrown patch) and while we were taking our dog out we were cornered by two charging pit bulls with no owner in sight. One of the pit bulls charged and attempted to attack my dog. I screamed, yelled for help and no one came to get the dogs. My husband finally managed to get them away. Long story short, the dogs owner was in the office chatting with the “manager.” Apparently they are friends and she finally came out and secured her dogs. This is after they cornered another couple in the stair well. The manager was unapologetic and made it clear that he could not care less. On top of this our room was never cleaned during our stay. This place should be shut down AND sued. The only positive was the sweet lady who made the coffee in the mornings. I do not recommend (unless you’re a thrill seeker with a death wish.)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael White, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Helen
Responded 1 Sept 2020
We are sorry that you got "attacked" by another owners dog who let itself out of its room while the owner was using the computer we provide to guest. Had we known who's dog they were we obviously would have asked the owner to take care of the situation as opposed to going outside and searching for the owner and then calling animal control. We do not have control over the behavior of any guest or their pet at our property all we can do is ask someone to leave and as I previously mentioned the guest was already in the process of checking out. Like most other hotels we do not offer stay over service during this time due to covid-19. We appreciate your business and you are welcome to come back for a free night during the week sometime. Have a lovely day
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacqueline H wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The housekeepers were amazing Michelle and Terry. The room was amazingly clean. The whole staff was very good to us we we felt comfortable and appreciated our family dog came along with us and they're very accommodating to our pet we will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Redi Response, Marketing at Red Roof Inn Helen
Responded 3 Dec 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the RED ROOF INN HELEN, Jacqueline. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you had a great experience with us, especially regarding Michelle and Terry who were amazing. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our staff, cleanliness of the room and the pet friendliness at our location Positive feedback like yours is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. On your next stay should you have any issues while with us, please contact our front desk immediately so we can take care of the issue to ensure your satisfaction. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us. Sincerely, Adraine RediResponse Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie wrote a review Jul 2021
United States4 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was extremely disappointed in the way management cared less about my concerns.
A/C leaked water on floor; freezer was frozen solid; blow dryer was broken; railing on the pool was loose and is a safety concern for the children.

Would not stay here again !!! This Red Roof Inn could certainly use new management.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael White, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Helen
Responded 28 Jul 2021
Thank you for your feedback Susan. Just because you did not recieve a discount right away does not mean we could care less about your concerns. Instead it means we have to investigate your concern before any action is taken as people say all kinds of things to get a discount. Thank you again for voicing your concerns.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scuttlebut8 asked a question Apr 2022
naples fl 341021 contribution1 helpful vote
Are masks required still
Answer from jbbyers67
Kingsport, Tennessee289 contributions85 helpful votes
No. We didn’t have to wear them in December. Georgia is approaching openness of Florida. On public transportation you would need one but we didn’t use public transport and the city was pretty maskless.
Kimber M asked a question Jun 2019
16 contributions4 helpful votes
Does this hotel have interior corridors for room entrance?
Answer from Pierre1999
Fort Lauderdale, Florida446 contributions202 helpful votes
No, I believe all doors open to outside as I recall. It's more motel than hotel
ChelseaLou32 asked a question Aug 2018
Loganville, Georgia
What does the free breakfast consist of?
Answer from michael
1 contribution
The breakfast is Continental. We offer coffee 24 hours, yogurts, milk, orange juice, apple juice, 3 kinds of cereal, an assortment of breads wheat, butter, raisin, bagels, English muffins, danishes, muffins, mini pancakes, waffles, French toast sticks, syrup, jellies, cream cheese and butter. We also have vending machines in our lobby. If I could be of futher assistance, please give me a call at 706-878-8888. Thank you-
Answer from onefunZ71
Atmore, Alabama48 contributions9 helpful votes
I checked the distance of Red Roof Inn from Wendy’s and it is four tenths of a mile. Wendy’s is about 1/2 of a block from the river. Wendy’s is in between the river and Red Roof Inn. You could probably walk it but keep in mind that Red Roof Inn has a fairly steep drive. It would be hard for me to walk up it. You have to be careful where you parked. Some businesses will have you towed if you are not their customer.
patsy p asked a question Jun 2018
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Do u allow pets
Answer from michael
1 contribution
Yes, we allow one well behaved pet per room.
wcmmixon wrote a tip May 2023
Louisville, Kentucky3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely explore the village. Park in a pay per plate lot for the day. You can come and go as much you want."
Read full review
jkvela2018 wrote a tip Dec 2022
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina20 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont book it"
Read full review
Peter J wrote a tip Sept 2022
Washington Township, New Jersey1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay home!"
Read full review
jbbyers67 wrote a tip Dec 2021
Kingsport, Tennessee289 contributions85 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Weekends October through January are busy so book early."
Read full review
Angel79in30534@aol.com wrote a tip Sept 2021
Alto, Georgia24 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"October fest will be one of the busiest time of year. So book early .."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Helen area.
PRICE RANGE
£62 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaHelen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RED ROOF INN HELEN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Red Roof Inn Helen
Which popular attractions are close to Red Roof Inn Helen?
Nearby attractions include AxeBilly Helen-Ga (0.08 miles), Bavarian Mountain Miniature Golf (0.07 miles), and Alpine Mini Golf (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Roof Inn Helen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Red Roof Inn Helen?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Red Roof Inn Helen?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Roof Inn Helen?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Roof Inn Helen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Spice 55 Thai And Sushi Restaurant, Bigg Daddys Restaurant and Tavern, and Das Ice Cream Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Red Roof Inn Helen?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Red Roof Inn Helen?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Red Roof Inn Helen?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hardman Farm (1.1 miles), Old Sautee Store (2.9 miles), and Romeo and Juliet Indian Mound Tragedy Site (1.3 miles).
Is Red Roof Inn Helen accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Helen HotelsHelen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HelenHotels near Red Roof Inn Helen
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire