Baymont by Wyndham Helen
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Baymont by Wyndham Helen

Traveller (222)
Panorama of the Jacuzzi Suite at the Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
360
Panoramas (5)
Hot Tub King Room w/Fireplace & Balcony
Room & Suite (165)

View prices for your travel dates

Join Wyndham Rewards Free
£128
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#13 of 20 hotels in Helen
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in the Alpine Helen Georgia, this hotel is walking distance to downtown Helen, Cool river tubing, Georgia Mountain Rollercoaster, the Alpine Amusement Water Park and many restaurants, Like right next to Big Daddy's Restaurant. It is 10 minutes from picturesque Anna Ruby Falls and Unicoi State Park. Short walk to the several Mini golf courses and a short drive to Innsbruck Golf Course. The 65 guest rooms interior suites and exterior corridor standard rooms,all non-smoking and feature a microwave, mini-refrigerator, flat-screen HDTV, free WiFi, safe, sitting area, work space, iron and ironing board, as well as a coffee/tea maker. Special guests rooms features available in select rooms include a fireplace, jetted hot tub, mountain views, and a private balcony. A 24-hour reception with a Business desk, ATM and small Snack shop is available for added convenience. POOL Closed from Sep - April
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Water park offsite
Children's playground
Conference facilities
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

8220 S Main St, Helen, GA 30545-3649
1,291Review9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 571
  • 265
  • 160
  • 92
  • 203
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Celand wrote a review Oct 2023
United States12 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff were professional and friendly. Room (we stayed in a suite) was clean and quiet. Our view from the balcony was excellent!

We did have a problem that was a misunderstanding regarding the number of nights that we paid for. I had called the number online and it was a 3rd party service that I booked our room through. I thought that I was paying a specific price for two nights (I had asked the lady twice if this price was for two nights and she confirmed that it was). However, at the end of the 1st day we returned to our room and found that our key did not work. When we went to front desk we were told that we had only paid for one night. We had to pay for 2nd night then our key was programmed to open door. So, be careful when you book that it is the front desk at the hotel that you are speaking to - we ended up paying more because of fees 3rd party service charged. Actually the Manager gave us a good deal on the 2nd night.

The door to the hallway of the guest rooms was not locked nor did it require key access. This is a safety issue.

There was a stain on our sheets and new set of sheets did not get changed until we requested a 2nd time.

Not much for breakfast choice but grateful that individual cartons of milk available because I brought my own cereal. I don't know perhaps inflation has affected breakfasts that hotels serve. Very basic, cereal, juice, coffee, milk, yogurt, muffins. No longer eggs, sausage, biscuits.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the back not the main street.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nqabaz508192 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, this facility had a tired look to it, from the outside to the room. Lobby area was nice, and the facility was very close to all of downtown Helen. The room itself was spacious, comfortable and we were pleasantly surprised that it offered a sauna style bathtub. We always check the cleanliness of the bed linen and unfortunately we found dried spittle or other bodily fluids when we turned down the blanket. We called the front desk and they did send someone within a half hour to change the linen and give us clean bed linen, although there was nothing else offered to compensate for the dirty bed linen we found. The day we checked out we decided to take advantage of the free breakfast offered, it was very underwhelming and not what Baymont promotes. There were no pastries,oatmeal, milk or fruits available. The eggs were dry and the pan almost empty, and the lady at the front desk stated, " I don't get paid enough money" to do someone's else's job.
The price we paid for our stay was fair, the closeness to most of Helen's main strip was convenient, yet this facility needs a rejuvenation, it had a tired old appearance.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Abouha wrote a review Oct 2021
Seminole, Florida97 contributions21 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is within walking distance of downtown, a plus in the crowded Octoberfest activities. The suite was large with fireplace and balcony in the back of property , quiet and overlooking a park which was lovely. The staff was responsive . The property needs a refresh. The common areas have heavy floral cleaning odor probably from the dark carpets. Breakfast is a sparse continental offering in what appears to be a shared storage area. The bathroom counters were clean . The bedsheets were obviously used with body imprints and dirt ( changed within minutes when front desk notified). The carpet had either not been vacuumed or done poorly with visible debris particles. A cleaning rag was left on the desk , which made it appear as the room was in the midsts of being cleaned.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CARLOS D wrote a review Jan 2020
Miami, Florida15 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My brother rented there for two nights, from 12/27 to 12/29/2019, they booked it online ( online pictures are for sure from other facility) , we went with them, but our hotel was closed, and they insisted us to stay in the same hotel, worst decision ever (Holiday inn cost less and it is a block away from this terrible motel). Starting with an expensive price of 240 per night, front desk guy is an expert telling lies about the room( I can not count them now, but from a diplomatic room to champagne in the Jacuzzi, super breakfast,etc) , we came there with two children... We have been traveling more than 20 times per year, and this Motel does not deserve a penny. Rooms are dirty as hell, cigar in the floor, under the sofa, inside the sofa, the Jacuzzi broken, the controls are broken, bed are dirty, terrible breakfast, I cannot explain how bad and horrible is this "hotel". Shame that this piece of trash, is inside the beautiful City. Do not waste your money, It is a 30 per night dirty facility.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: room 223, it is a trash room, keep your self away from this hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kay_Halva, General Manager at Baymont by Wyndham Helen
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, We apologise for the inconveniences caused during your visit, We understand the champagne tub controls are hard to follow. The room pictures are from a property located on 8220 South Main St, Helen Georgia. It seems you images are from another hotel you stayed at. We are not sure if you even remember, you travel to so many location it might have been mixed up. we under you were expecting to get a room at the Holiday Inn Express next door but dint want to pay the price for that hotel and you choose the less expensive hotel and we're not satisfied. it is something we cannot help with. we hope you remember the Midsale brand of Baymont by Wyndham , when. You book next time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
suzanne f jones wrote a review Oct 2021
19 contributions96 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I begin? First of all, the property was in bad disrepair. The elevator was broken; the pool was out of order and had been for months, as I read other reviews. The breakfast was cereal, yogurt and cereal bars, a few apples. There was no hot options at all.
The room was very sparsely furnished; the 12-inch square table, two drawers for storage for clothes and two coat hangers were not adequate. One chair that barely could be called a "chair" was super-uncomfortable. The air felt so damp; I'm sure mold was growing under the very ugly dark shiny green wall. There were two tiny pillows on each soft bed. The towels were small and not thick. One tiny bar of soap was provided to be used in the bath and to wash hands.
The workers were all kind and nice; the owner was a first-class jerk. We asked if the elevator would ever be fixed, his answer was, "no, it isn't a requirement in this area." I guess there was no requirement for the pool or workout room either! Also, when we got there we told the desk that we would probably leave in 48 hours because the drive was much longer than we had thought so we decided to head home earlier. We were staying for two nights rather than three. The girl said that was fine; little known to us, yes, it was fine, except when we informed the desk a day ahead to make sure they still knew we were going, we were told no way would our money be refunded. The owner was very belligerent and rude about this. He claimed that we had to tell them we were leaving before we arrived.
Oh, and there is a bar and grill right behind the hotel. The workers there hung out after midnight in the back parking lot, right across from where the rooms are. The noise from the laughing and talking went on past 1:00 a.m.
I don't think I've had problems like this in any hotel I've ever stayed in. Did I mention the price averaged over $250.00 a night? Please do not book here!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not go here!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
danadee317 wrote a review Sept 2020
Dawsonville, Georgia1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff are nice enough but that doesn’t mean anything with filthy rooms. We had 8 girls on our trip and needed adjoining rooms, they were ridiculously priced, falling apart, smelly and just plain disgusting! The manager just said “I’m sorry” when it was addressed. Don’t stay here!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
R A wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution46 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Making the reservation was fine, updating the reservation was a nightmare. They overcharged me by $400 (which they reimbursed after multiple phone calls and having to talk to someone - again- when we checked in). The room was below average for the amount of money we had to pay. There was a leak in ceiling, mold on the shower curtain along with rust in the tub. Our door would stick constantly and was hard to open. The staff was ok just couldn't answer or help with anything without a manager - who never seemed to be available, at all. Location is great but paying $300+ (mind you during Oktoberfest) was not worth it by the property alone. Would not stay again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIOGENES L wrote a review Jun 2020
San Francisco, California644 contributions496 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is an absolutely disgusting hellhole charging $150/night for rooms that seem like they rarely get cleaned. This is like one of the horrible places that are being featured on "Hotel impossible" shows.
Slept fully clothed and took a shower in socks because there was a nasty mat GLUED to the bottom of the tub. This was The worst hotel I stayed in a long time. Gross!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandyc wrote a review Apr 2021
Marietta, Georgia12 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the worst experiences I have had! Booked online, pictures were deceiving, extremely disappointed when checked in.
Although the lobby looked clean, the rooms did not. They were run down, smelled, and did not look very clean. Even the chain lock has been broken off the wall and Redfield into another spot. Looking for two rooms, it was one of the cheaper places to stay, but this place should have been cheaper than the price they were already charging! Needless to say when we checked in, I went to the front desk to immediately check out, expecting they would charge me for the night, but not the next night. I booked the military rate online, the man then explained he would have to change to the regular rate now. Although this did not happen, the threat was there and he charged me the $311.58. I did find another hotel but well worth the extra price I paid for piece of mind, cleanliness and safety.
My daughter and grandkids arrived earlier than I and checked in to their room. The first room she went to, after carrying all her luggage up the stairs because the elevator did not work, still had trash and looked like somebody slept there already. She immediately went to the lobby and overheard the manager reprimand housekeeping. She explained what the room looked like and they gave her another room, this one was not much cleaner. My room was supposed to be "the best". The room smelled musty, the chain lock, as explained above, did not look or make me feel safe, the king bed looked like it was previously used, walls were dirty and chipped paint, bathroom needs repairs, and trash on the floor. Pictures are attached. Unfortunately, only 10 photos are allowed.
The manager didn't want to hear anything I said, as I tried to explain to him why, he constantly interrupted me and then told me "that's OK I have your payment".
I am surprised Wyndham allows this place to be associated with their name.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Demin Vyas, General Manager at Baymont by Wyndham Helen
Responded 14 Apr 2021
Dear Saundra, You can go to all the social review us your review are wrong and we have all the proof that your wrong and Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Baymont by Wyndham Helen. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your feedback is very important to us, and I am saddened to hear that about your recent stay we have all the picture of the room what you are clamming that's wrong first you never complain anything to front desk at all the ever , first guest check inn at 4.15 and the room was on saundra and her daughter wan to check inn so the front desk denied that the room is not in your name so she cant check inn she was not happy with that still after argument we have allowed her daughter to check inn and we have make courtesy call also for 109 first at 4.55 pm there was no answer the second call we have did at 5.25 pm and the reply was the rooms is great need just extra towels, for 123 the guest have checked inn at 6.34 pm we have make a courtesy call at 7.10 pm there was no answer at 7.15 guest walk in at front desk asking for restaurant around us the guest never says anything about this at all on call or when they came to front desk also, the guest from 123 came to front desk again at 8.10 and just says the have to go back change of planes so they need refund for tomorrow the front desk never says anything at all about we are going to charge rack rate and all that and manager never interrupted you for anything and for all this we have video recoding and audio recoding also, we have picture of the sink, sheets the floor, door and sink is draining fine will attaches all the picture and video of draining sink so the guest has been in room for while and we are not going to refund anything.. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences. Here at Baymont Inn & Suites, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Demin Vyas GM Baymont Helen Baymonthelenmgr@gmail.com 7068782111
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tfillpot17 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They dont hold up to their promises and take your money. We booked a room water looked like lake water when trying to use hot tob. Complained to management they just said they would refund me a night which was fine but never gave me anything back and ended up charging me even more. Scam artists these people are. Stay somewhere else.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Barry B
Atlanta, Georgia2 contributions
Yes, this is the hotel. According to the news report the owner has given two different versions of the story of what happened. Neither version is acceptable, in my opinion, for being kicked out.
Answer from Demin V
Helen, Georgia
sorry we don't have waffles yet we have grab and go bag muffin, yogurts, juice, milk, serial only
Noles313 asked a question Feb 2017
Middleburg, Florida1 contribution
Are all the rooms suites that have the sitting area?
Answer from Kam H
Dear Guest, Due to different options only some suites have a sitting area. If you are looking to book a King room with a hot tub & balcony, you will not have a sitting area. All other King room options will have a sitting area. None of our 2 Queen beds option have a sitting area. Hope this information has helped, Hint(Our King room with a Fireplace, Balcony with a mountain views are the most popular) If you require further information on a specific room types or want to make a booking, please feel free to contact us on 706 878 2111. Thank you Kay H General Manager
Lin F asked a question Jun 2016
Birmingham, Alabama2 contributions1 helpful vote
Smoking allowed?
Answer from lindy369
Columbia, South Carolina65 contributions38 helpful votes
No... But you can outside
Douglas G wrote a tip 11 May
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"DO NOT STAY THERE."
Read full review
Bonnie L wrote a tip Feb 2024
69 contributions43 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't pick this hotel. You will be sorry."
Read full review
Rachel T wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t do it "
Read full review
Steve A wrote a tip Dec 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just don’t "
Read full review
Adam E wrote a tip Nov 2023
Clearwater, Florida1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"BED BUGS stay away! On my first night here-October 12th-I got bedbugs from staying in one of the rooms."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Helen area.
PRICE RANGE
£73 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western plus riverpark inn & conference center alpine helen hotel helen, best western plus riverpark inn and conference center alpine helen, best western helen, helen best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaHelen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAYMONT BY WYNDHAM HELEN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Baymont by Wyndham Helen
Which popular attractions are close to Baymont by Wyndham Helen?
Nearby attractions include AxeBilly Helen-Ga (0.07 miles), Bavarian Mountain Miniature Golf (0.2 miles), and Georgia Mountain Coaster (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Baymont by Wyndham Helen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Baymont by Wyndham Helen?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Baymont by Wyndham Helen?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Baymont by Wyndham Helen?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Baymont by Wyndham Helen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Spice 55 Thai And Sushi Restaurant, Bigg Daddys Restaurant and Tavern, and Bodensee Restaurant.
Is Baymont by Wyndham Helen located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Helen.
Are there any historical sites close to Baymont by Wyndham Helen?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hardman Farm (1.2 miles), Old Sautee Store (3.0 miles), and Romeo and Juliet Indian Mound Tragedy Site (1.4 miles).
Is Baymont by Wyndham Helen accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Helen HotelsHelen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HelenHotels near Baymont by Wyndham Helen
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire