We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Tybee

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Tybee
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

578 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 573: English reviews
columbus, ohio
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for five nights over Thanksgiving 2016 and it was the perfect home base for enjoying Tybee, being Savannah tourists and visiting our family. Our second floor room overlooked the beach. The room is clean and the beds are comfy. The hotel is also right across the parking lot from the beach and a block away from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ohioerin
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review

Thank you for spending Thanksgiving with us. I'm thrilled to hear you had a great visit and wonderful holiday. November is a great time to vacation on Tybee Island (so is December...if you time it right). I'm glad you enjoyed all our improvements. We are thrilled to have rebounded from Hurricane Matthew. It was a horrible experience, but it is...

Tybee Island, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great access to the beach. Top floor restaurant and pool. Is a great location and in walking distance to main streets, restaurants and local shops. The staff was very friendly and hard working. Rooms with a great view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandersga
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting Tybee Island and allowing us to host your vacation. I'm really glad you enjoyed your visit and our location. We are blessed to have the best location on the island. We are within walking distance of many area restaurants, bars and attractions. I'll certainly pass your praise along to my team members. Please consider...

Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Aside from a few cosmetic but minor eyesores, I have no complaint about this hotel. Pretty clean hotel. There is a public parking lot between the hotel and the beach, but it is almost like being "on" the beach. It is also a short distance to restaurants and stores, which is nice since the parking can be a little hassle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ClickMe
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review

I hope you and your family had a wonderful Thanksgiving. We are fully recovered from Hurricane Matthew and will continue improving over the next few months. As you mentioned, there is a long narrow parking lot between the hotel and beach. The parking area has existed for 80+ years and I don't anticipate it going away anytime soon. I'm glad...

GA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel staff are incredibly nice from front desk to housekeeping. No complaints there. The restaurant is currently closed due to hurricane. Location is awesome for a beach hotel. The rate I paid was certainly in line with the accommodations. Bathroom a little small especially the shower. Beds were really comfortable. A little noisy first night.. walls and doors don't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LiketoTravel84
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, our accommodations and the service provided by my team members. As of Thanksgiving, we have finished repairing all the damage from Hurricane Matthew. We are eagerly anticipating the reopening of our restaurant this coming spring. Thank you again for...

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has been totally renovated two years ago and is very nice. Super clean. Rooms large and very nice. 50 " flat screen tv in my room which is the largest tv that I have seen in a hotel room. Stayed in a Marriot on the way here and hotel tybee is much nicer. Very clean and nice

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank don58947
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review

Thank you for vacationing on Tybee Island and allowing us to host your visit. I'm so glad you enjoyed our improvements. My team has worked incredibly hard over the past two years. Hotel Tybee is a true labor of love for all of us. We are finally back to "100%" after all the damage Hurricane Matthew did. Our restaurant will...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed here several times. The hotel is always clean and the room was perfect. Great customer service. We will be back. The location is perfect, within walking distance of restaurants. We've stayed here for several years. Great job, Hotel Tybee!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura j
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review

Thank you for your repeated patronage and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm so glad you've enjoyed all our improvements. It has been a wonderful experience turning this hotel around. We are blessed to have such a wonderful group of caring professionals. My team and I will look forward to your next visit. Until then...safe travels. Brett General Manager bloehr@hoteltybee.com

Evansville, Indiana
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We were visiting Savannah and decided to visit Tybee Island. After going for a day, we decided to spend the rest of our vacation there and were lucky enough to get a room at this hotel for a couple days. The hotel has an amazing location, close to the beach and there are a lot of swings on the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank loriele-c
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Hotel Tybee and the island took a beating from Hurricane Matthew. Thankfully, our hotel and community are extremely resilient. We've spent the last few weeks working around the clock making repairs. We have reopened approximately 50% of the hotel. Unfortunately, our restaurant received considerable damage....

Decatur, Georgia
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I've stayed here prior to the new owners. I must say not a lot has changed. I was on the top floor with an ocean view, which was great. The room was average, but clean. However they need to change the towel holders in the bathroom. They're rusty and look awful. See the pictures. Also, the entrance needs to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm genuinely sorry you experienced issues during your stay. We've owned the hotel for just over two years. We've poured our hearts and souls into turning the hotel around. Below is a list of our accomplishments: - New guestroom furniture - New guestroom lighting - New sling style...

Warstein, Germany
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The Location of the hotel is very good. The rooms are nice and clean. The pool area is ok. However this hotel does not offer and serve breakfast! Unbelievable for a higher price level category like this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael59-51
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and posting a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed our rooms and cleanliness. Thank you for pointing out that we do not include breakfast. Our leased restaurant does provide a breakfast during our peak season. All year-round we have two local restaurants that serve a quality breakfast. Hotel Tybee just experienced significant damage...

Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We only got to stay one night before mandatory evacuation for the hurricane. Staff was great, view was amazing. You can stay parked at the hotel and walk to nearly everything: shops, restaurants, the pier, etc.. There is a city parking lot between the hotel and the beach, so expect car noises if you leave your balcony doors open. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DKsparks
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am so sorry your visit was cut short by Hurricane Matthew. We received a significant amount of damage and are working feverishly to reopen. As you can imagine, we are just devastated. We hope to open on or around 11/11/16. We'll look forward to your...

301 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (133)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (34)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.2 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 9 in Tybee Island
995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 9 in Tybee Island
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#8 of 9 in Tybee Island
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Dunes Inn & Suites
Dunes Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Tybee Island
507 reviews
1.2 mi away
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Tybee Island
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The HOTEL TYBEE features 208 hotel rooms with easy beach access. Upper level rooms offer a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean and the Tybee Pier & Pavilion. HOTEL TYBEE is located just steps away from miles of white sandy beaches, rolling sand dunes, and the Atlantic Ocean. Tybee Island is a land rich in natural beauty and American history that is 20 minutes East of Historic Downtown Savannah. It is secluded from the rest of the world by picturesque Romerly Marsh. Tybee Island was recently designated America's Healthiest Beach by Health Magazine. We also offer banquet/conference facilities to accommodate any event from 10-200 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Tybee

Address: 1401 Strand Avenue, Tybee Island, GA 31328 (Formerly Ocean Plaza Beach Resort)
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Price Range: £89 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tybee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Tybee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Beach Hotel Tybee Island
Hotel Ocean Plaza Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Tybee staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Tybee staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor or higher to see the ocean from your room”
 of 5 bubbles ohioerin, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms have ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles loriele-c, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view is amazing - but may be quieter on the other side of the hotel because of parking lot noise.”
 of 5 bubbles DKsparks, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Without a doubt,pay for a full ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles nursemurray830, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we liked being a little higher up.. could see more (only 4 floors)”
 of 5 bubbles 855anitat, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay