We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Freedom O Clock

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Freedom O Clock
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
Start your review of Freedom O Clock
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 February 2017

On a scale of 0-5, with 5 being the highest, I'd give our experience a 10. Freedom O Clock and the location were outstanding-with expansive views of the river, beach, bay and ocean. Lu and Otto went above and beyond - warm, hospitable, and welcoming in every way. Family meals and braiis' were the norm and were perfect! We'll be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drew T
FreedomOClock, Owner at Freedom O Clock, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for visiting us at Freedom Of Clock! It was awesome meeting you and hanginget out with you guys. We loved sharing stories and views and thank you to Martine for entertaining get Coral and her fairies. The fairy garden was going strong until the gardener decided to clean up the "mess". Coral wasn't too impressed but started...

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We were a group of friends and we booked 2 rooms. Perhaps "rooms" is an overstatement - "shacks" would be more fitting. There is NO electricity at the place. This was not communicated on the website. Only some battery-operated lights charged during the day with solar power. The beds were so uncomfortable that we had a bad nights rest. Talking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heinventer
FreedomOClock, Owner at Freedom O Clock, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your intentional malicious review. I say this due to the fact that you took photo’s of this “horrible place” to review on the internet and did not once consider chatting to us about it, even when you paid IN FULL the following morning for your accommodation, dinner and breakfasts. Surely if you were so gravely...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful 5 day stay Lu and Otto are wonderful hosts and their little daughter coral Bella is a delight. Our children loved it we hardly saw them. The rooms are basic but spacious and clean so is the central kitchen we will definitely come back again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P7086PFjacquelineb
FreedomOClock, Owner at Freedom O Clock, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your review. We had such a great time with you guys and wished you could've stayed for New Year. We had such a great time. Looking forward to your visit in Feb :-)

Reviewed 6 January 2017

Freedom O Clock is beautiful. The entire experience is incredible. Lu and Otto are great hosts, they really made us feel at home. I would recommend Freedom O Clock to anybody who is willing to give up their unnecessary comforts to experience true freedom, safety and tranquility in an African setting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
FreedomOClock, Owner at Freedom O Clock, responded to this review

Aaah guys...... our spot felt a little empty when you left.  It's amazing when guests become friends.  Missed you guys immediately and so looking forward to your next visit.  Have a fantastic 2017!

Reviewed 3 January 2017

I can't say enough good things about Freedom O' Clock! Absolutely wonderful place to stay if you're visiting the Wild Coast. I've visited Mdumbi a couple times before and stayed at other backpackers in the area which were ok but nothing like Freedom O' Clock! From the second we arrived (wife and I were on honeymoon) we knew we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean G
Ceres, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HannesTheronFocus
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
FreedomOClock, Owner at Freedom O Clock, responded to this review

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 7 November 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ayashaw
FreedomOClock, Owner at Freedom O Clock, responded to this review

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
FreedomOClock, Owner at Freedom O Clock, responded to this review

Pune, India
Reviewed 25 July 2016

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pete G

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mdumbi
0.0 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 6 in Coffee Bay
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mdumbi Backpackers
Mdumbi Backpackers
#2 of 3 in Mdumbi
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This is rural Africa at her best! In a small Pondo village named Entwebeni, Mngcibe you will find Freedom O Clock. Freedom O Clock is owned and managed by Otto, Lu and little Coral- Bella, who all have a great love for nature and the ocean. Your surroundings offer you accommodation situated in a rural and remote area.....Faaaar away from the maddening crowds. Situated near the mouth of the insanely beautiful Mdumbi River in a remote and primitive region of the Wild Coast we offer holiday, backpacking accommodation. Surfing, fishing, river trips, boat hire, canoeing, hiking and biking, snorkeling, bird watching, and horse rides are just to mention a few activities to busy your day.... Or just RELAX! The views and access to the beach and river makes this an ideal laid back place to visit and is ideal for the nature lover and outdoor enthusiast who don't mind roughing it a bit here and there. Our accommodation offers commanding views of the ocean, river, rolling green hills and Tshani point with its perfect right hander and beach breaks! We can accommodate up to 14 guests indoors and 12 guests (3 sites) camping at one time. Accommodation is basic, rustic, clean and comfortable and we offer a catered or self-catered option. We also offer camping facilities and we are pet friendly (do check before hand though that your pet is suited to the environment). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Freedom O Clock

Address: Mngcibe, Mdumbi River Mouth, | Wild Coast (Transkei), Mdumbi 5140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Wild Coast > Mdumbi
Price Range: £160 - £640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Freedom O Clock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Freedom O Clock staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We found all the rooms were comprable”
 of 5 bubbles 421drewt, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are perect!!”
 of 5 bubbles ayashaw, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The lower room could quite possibly be one of the most peaceful places on earth”
 of 5 bubbles Braddlay, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“best views, great surf, quiet hide-away”
 of 5 bubbles 242christianr, 16 Oct 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms have great views”
 of 5 bubbles RSQuirk, 14 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5