We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ohio House Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ohio House Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

547 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 486: English reviews
Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Spent a weekend here. We mainly booked it because it was one of the only places that accomodated smokers. The rooms are definitely in need of updating, but it was comfortable. You absolutely cannot beat the price for the location!!! Each of the front desk clerks that I dealt with were very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dsmplayers
Edgar B, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.

South Bend, Indiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived around 12:00 midnight without a reservation and they not only gave us a room but gave us a reduced price since we were staying 2 days. The rooms were clean and plenty of towels. And there is no extra charge for parking your car which is right in front of your room. I will stay there in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judiwatts
Edgar B, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of The Ohio House Motel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that it will be passed along to the appropriate departments. Please come back and see us again sometime!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were very disappointed in our stay here, mainly due to the lack of cleanliness and soundproofing between the rooms. Upon arrival it was clear that the room hadn't been vacuumed in a while, and whilst our bedding and towels were changed daily, the carpet remained un vacuumed throughout our stay, with the previous tenants finger nail clippings still embedded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BipBip2011
Edgar B, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests. I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies.

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

I did all major sights from here in foot. Car parking right in front of the rooms included. If you feel hungry I recommend to walk 3 min more than just to the reception bistro: try the Beatrix (see own tag)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Björn G
Edgar B, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 20 December 2016

The location is excellent and the room was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. There's a red line train within walking distance from the motel. A lot of bars and restaurants. For some snacks or water, there's a Walgreen's nearby. Close to blues club Blue Chicago. Good value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMWD5
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of The Ohio House Motel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that it will be passed along to the appropriate departments. Please come back and see us again sometime!

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Chicago is outrageously expensive during trade show so good to find a medium priced hotel/motel. Good news is car parking spot but best to reserve ahead of time. Rooms not in best condition but location is good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian773
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I assure you that this has been addressed by proper management. We truly appreciate your feedback!

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 9 December 2016

I stayed here 3 nights before Thanksgiving. Rooms are all updated, fresh and very clean. 42" TV in the room was very nice, as you rarely get those in a Motel. My room was in the back of the motel with little or no view. It was quieter back there compared to being on the street side with all the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lyle B
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Loyal, Wisconsin
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Great hotel, great price. We got to the hotel about 1:30 on a Friday. Our plan was to go in and let the front desk know that we were going to park and stick around until 3 to check in, this way we didn't lose our free parking. My husband went in, and a few minutes later he came out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristen S
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to share a bit about your experience here at The Ohio House Motel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Chicago, and that your guest room was a comfortable place for you to relax and refresh. I hope that we will be able to welcome you...

Reviewed 21 November 2016

Ok room , rude front desk man.Edgar@ohiohousemotel.com .No good communication after calling speaking with him personally . The first visit was great but I wouldn't do it again . Don't recommend no one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvette N
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you so much for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so sorry to hear of the shortcomings in customer service that you experienced here in our hotel. There was a clear breakdown in communication and it has been addressed with the appropriate departments. We always aim to exceed our guests' expectations, and...

Monterrey, Mexico
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and it was a great option. The place is very close to downtown and you have lots of restaurants around. The room was clean and comfortable but the carpet looks old and dirty so that's why I don't give the 5 points. The room has small refrigerator, wifi, tv and microwave.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arso40
Larry J, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (98)
Viewed
Queen - Double Mini Suite (29)
Viewed
Queen Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Double Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Near North Side
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Aloft Chicago City Center
Aloft Chicago City Center
#45 of 186 in Chicago
556 reviews
Kenwood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago - Lake Shore
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ohio House Motel offers 2 star accommodations in the heart of downtown Chicago. We are walking distance from Chicago's finest attractions and are located in Chicago's River North neighborhood with free parking, Wi-Fi, HDTV, and free breakfast when you book us direct! The Ohio House Motel offers the best value lodging in downtown Chicago! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ohio House Motel

Address: 600 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Price Range: £73 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ohio House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Ohio House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio House Hotel Chicago
Ohio Motel Chicago
Ohio Hotel Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ohio House Motel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
SASKATOON
6 months ago
over a year ago
United States

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ohio House Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from block F, the front door won't close.”
 of 5 bubbles BipBip2011, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get there early to ensure parking! Parking is on a first com first serve basis!!”
 of 5 bubbles kristens543, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Would not recommend bad service from general manager edgar .”
 of 5 bubbles yvetten819, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Better views from the balcony but it is only a 2 story complex.”
 of 5 bubbles kellyrJ7705ZB, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are two levels, if you're not trying to take stairs, ask for ground level”
 of 5 bubbles georgey891, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5