We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chicago's Essex Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chicago\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,893 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,633: English reviews
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Horrible! We have stayed at the Essex once or twice a year for many, many years and always had a wonderful experience. However, they used to have a shuttle that went to the museum campus and downtown, a pool, and a restaurant. All three are gone. Without out those the price tag isn't worth it, you can stay at a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank reckm1
EssexInnChicago, Front Office Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Hi reckm1, Sorry to hear we weren't able to to provide you with the same level of experience that has bought you back year after year. It pains me to hear that we have lost you as a regular. We have lost some of our amenities as we are in a process of renovation. We certainly hope we would be...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were checking out of the hotel on a day that was Arctic cold. We were parked in a garage next to the valet parking and discovered that our car battery was dead. After waiting an hour for AAA to come, we found out it would take 2-1/2 more hours for them to arrive. We asked the valet if there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan W
EssexInnChicago, Front Office Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Hi Susan W, Thank you for sharing this experience with us. We have passed this on to the Sami and praised his level of guest service. Our staff consistently go beyond expectation for our guest and we're glad to see you had the opportunity to experience this. We hope to see you again in the future!

Minooka, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a corporate event at the Field Museum over the weekend and decided to look on a whim to see if we could find a decently priced room downtown last minute so that we wouldn't have to get up as early in the morning to get there. To our shock and amazement, we actually did. We ended up choosing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan555123
EssexInnChicago, Front Office Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Hi Megan555123, Thank you for the detailed review. We are happy to see our hotel was able to make such an impact on your stay. I will share this review with our team so that we can continually provide the highest level of service. We look forward to having you next time!

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We flew from England our cases got left behind in Amsterdam for 2days it was very cold and inches deep with snow two weeks before Xmas the staff on the front desk were really helpful and very friendly they said they would look out for our cases coming. The doorman got us toothbrushes and toothpaste a comb and other toiletries...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbcomponents
EssexInnChicago, Front Office Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Hi cbcomponents, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our staff is happy to know that they were able to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to having you again in the future!

Palmer, Alaska
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for 2 different nights to be able to get to the museums early. The location is great if you don't mind a bit of a walk or taxis are readily available. Our first stay, we were upgraded to a 2-room suite. It was great! We were in the front on the 8th floor with a great view....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank akbecky
EssexInnChicago, Front Office Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Hi akbecky, Thank you for sharing your recommendation with future guest. We also want to thank you for staying at Chicago’s Essex Inn, Your Key to the City! We look forward to having you back.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Right in the heart of the downtown of Chicago with an excellent price per night. Decoration and facilities are great. It's a good service experience since you get to talk to reception, even if you're a foreign and not English speaker.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Santiago B
EssexInnChicago, Front Office Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Hi Santiago B, Thank you so much for feedback on Chicago’s Essex Inn. It is one of Chicago oldest and premiere boutique hotels, and we’re glad you had an opportunity to experience a little piece of Chicago’s history. Glad to hear you were able to have meaningful conversations with our staff. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you...

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at Essex Inn, The Staff and Concierge were very friendly, helpful and informative. It is walking distance to shops and restaurants. Price was very reasonable. Definitely highly recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Chicago. ☺👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melinorte10
EssexInnChicago, Front Office Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Hi melinorte10, Thank you for your awesome review on your recent stay with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our excellent customer service team. We have shared your feedback with the entire team and will continue to work diligently, to provide excellent service. Thank you again for staying at Chicago’s Essex Inn, Your Key to the City!

Leesville, South Carolina
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and I spent a weekend here the first week of December. For what we paid the rooms were a very good value. The rooms themselves were of 80's vintage but were very clean. The walls were very thin and there was a lot of activity in the hallway and adjoining room so we could hear most of it....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kedkap
EssexInnChicago, Front Office Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Hi kedkap, Thank you for sharing your recommendation with future guest. We also want to thank you for staying at Chicago’s Essex Inn, Your Key to the City! We look forward to having you back.

Mission Viejo, California
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We spent three nights at the Essex Inn in early November (11/9-11/11/16). We were pleased in all respects with our experience at this hotel, starting with our check-in and everything that followed. First, a little background. We are budget-minded travelers. We also enjoy staying in small to mid-size non-chain hotels. We don't need a lot of amenities (room service, spa,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis_Mary
EssexInnChicago, Front Office Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Hi Dennis_Mary, Thank you for your awesome review on your recent stay with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our excellent customer service team. We have shared your feedback with the entire team and will continue to work diligently, to provide excellent service. Thank you again for staying at Chicago’s Essex Inn, Your Key to the City!

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here after a Bears game at Soldier Field. It is only half a mile away. We had a great view of Grant Park from our hotel room. They have a lot of amenities including a fitness center and pool. It is slightly outdated but still very comfortable. Front desk was extremely nice. A downfall is that parking is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 136renaew
EssexInnChicago, Front Office Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Hi 136renawe, Thank you for sharing your experience with us we hope that you will come and stay with us again. I will share your concerns regarding the valet parking charges, however Chicago parking is very competitive and on average very expensive to parking in the downtown area. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to...

731 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (459)
Viewed
Room/Suite (134)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
View from Room (59)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (252)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Room One King Bed (25)
Viewed
Double Double (48)
Viewed
Family Suite (69)
Viewed
King Suite (73)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#95 of 185 in Chicago
4,647 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 185 in Chicago
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown / The Loop

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown / The Loop
Often visitors' first stop in Chicago, The Loop is a good starting point to sample the city's energy and flavor. This central business district boasts Michelin-rated restaurants, upscale hotels, premier shopping, and enough arresting architecture to keep your camera busy for hours. You won’t find too many photo galleries of downtown Chicago without a shot of Millennium Park and Cloud Gate (“The Bean”), one of the most iconic landmarks in the city. A stunning skyline coupled with cultural attractions like the Art Institute of Chicago present a Downtown where work and play peacefully coexist.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-7101
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Price Range: £61 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chicago's Essex Inn staff and other travellers.
49 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (49)

Questions? Get answers from Chicago's Essex Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a high up room for a view of streets”
 of 5 bubbles cbcomponents, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The hotel needs an update”
 of 5 bubbles Sana-ali, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best views facing Michigan Ave.”
 of 5 bubbles jimcC2047MD, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at a higher level for a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles americantraveller74, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the highest level AND when alone, don't take a 2 bed room but a single bed room with view on the park(and so also lake).”
 of 5 bubbles gewijdehalewijn, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay