We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 147: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We called late to find a reservation at this hotel. Monica, the front desk clerk, answered the phone and said she does have a room for 3 adults. I asked if the beds were queen beds and she said yes. Then we arrived and they only either had two double beds or a king bed with a pullout. So we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elise K
ManagerX1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to review your stay. We sincerely apologize that your room was not serviced and cleaned to the level it should have been and for the inconvenience we caused you. I assure you that this does not meet our standards. Please be assured your concerns have been communicated to our housekeeping...

La Grange, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

I think Monica could use a refresher course in hospitality. No smile when she came to the desk. I got my keys, went up to my room only to find my keys didn't work. I come back down, look for Monica. She doesn't even get up from the back room desk. I tell her my keys don't work, and she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terdav0208
ManagerX1, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thanks so much for sharing your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Downers Grove. We are glad to read you enjoyed your well-maintained room and got a good night’s rest. Having said that, I am sorry that one of our front desk associates impacted your experience in a negative way. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction, and...

san francisco
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Large lobby and sitting area in the lobby. But, the entire hotel needs updating and made brighter as most HIX brands are. Clean rooms. TV location is strange; Its on the same wall as the sofa; so, can't directly face it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sfwon
ManagerX1, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to the Windy City. We're happy to know your overall stay was a pleasant one even though you feel our facility needs to be updated and refreshed. Until a decision is made on future renovations, we will concentrate on providing the best service of any hotel in the area to...

DePere, WI
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Check in OK, Room was clean. Very limited TV channels, bathroom clean but the drain covers were broke off in both the tub and sink. The beds are WAAAAYYYY too soft, can't dig your elbow in to turn yourself over. Had a women's soccer team from Eastern Michigan move in around us, that wouldn't settle down when they 1st arrived,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sportman1968
ManagerX1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

I was disheartened to read your review. Please accept my sincere apology for the problems you encountered. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we did not live up to your expectations. I assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable, and we are taking appropriate steps to ensure future guests do not encounter the same issues. I...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on September 17. My business partner and I were joking about how old and dirty this property looked. The staff is nice and breakfast good. The room and hallways and doors are dirty and in poor condition. We were joking about the room so I decided to see what TripAdvisor had to say about it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terryhumerickhouse
ManagerX1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am truly sorry for the condition in which you found your guest bathroom to be in. I am also sorry our housekeeping staff overlooked the possible blood stained shower curtain in your room, as this is not typical of the service we provide. I...

Buckley, Washington
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening which is not always the best but with notice the hotel was prepared for us which was great. I had just hoped the gentleman at the desk could spare a minute from his phone call at midnight to check us into our rooms. The first night was ok expected for the worn out bed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
ManagerX1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to provide feedback. Please accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations during this visit. We are so sorry our housekeeping staff overlooked the dirty linens on your bed and towels in your guest bathroom. This is not typical of the service we provide to our guests....

Abington, PA
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

The price was right and we've stayed in HIE before. Tried the 2 room suite. Very spacious, but dark. The lights over the "bar" area were out. Staff responded quickly to replace bulbs but that didn't work. They were going to see about a breaker switch but never reported back the issue. The pullout couch mattress was stained and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
Brittni S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for what you experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Brittni, Assistant General Manager

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 15 August 2016

I am rating this hotel a 5 just because the people that work here are the best. We stayed here at the end of March 2016. My son had an interview @ Midwestern University for post Grad School. The hotel itself needs renovation, its outdated but the employees made our stay so worth while because we were welcomed with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank artoledo89
Brittni S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I will make sure to pass on your comments to Jodie, Paul and the rest of the staff. They will be so happy to hear about...

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, two families with kids. Location is very convenient, close to restaurants and mall, breakfast is pretty good. I think one side is renovated and other is not, we were in the older side for first night, AC was very old and bathroom door didn't lock, we requested to change, which they did, second room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FLL T
Brittni S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the four star rating! Although we are a tad bit older, our team does a great job of maintaining the property. The issues you encountered in the first room have been taken care of. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. I am happy that you were satisfied with your overall stay. I...

JustThankful
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We stayed here two nights to be close to our son's baseball tournament. Our suite was just across from the elevator and ice machine, but you would never know. We didn't hear any noise! The walls must be very thick b/c it was very quiet in our room. The hotel is in a great location: close (driving) to 2 shopping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustThankful
Brittni S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the great review. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. Jodie is definitely an asset to our team. I will make sure to pass on your great comments to her. We hope you will visit us again!

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.2 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#5 of 7 in Downers Grove
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - Lombard/Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Downers Grove/Oakbrook Hotel is conveniently located near Chicago IL in the western suburbs and is accessible to all major expressways I-209, I-88 and right in between Midway International Airport and O Hare International Airport on the corner of I-355 and Butterfield Rd. We are surrounded by the communities of Oakbrook, Lombard, Lisle, Darien, Wheaton and Glen Ellyn. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure you will appreciate our central location near Best Buy, Coca-Cola, Sara Lee, Troxler Electronic Laboratories, Home Depot, Sodexo, Dale Carnegie, Microsoft, Good Samaritan Hospital, Tivoli Theater, Darien Sports Complex, Morton Arboretum, Brookfield Zoo and more! Shopping and restaurants are also within a short walking distance. This Downers Grove hotel offers all the comforts of home with our 121 beautifully appointed guest rooms. Relax in your cozy deluxe room after a long day and we will provide you with amenities including complimentary high speed internet access, an in room coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, iron and full sized ironing board and more. We also offer a 24 hour fitness center, 24 hour business center and meeting space for up to 80 people. In the morning we will have your mouth watering at our complimentary Express Hot Smart Start Breakfast Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove

Address: 3031 Finley Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1117
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Price Range: £58 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Holiday Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we stay in the 3rd floor and its quite. ample of parking area and a lot of brand name restaurant just a few steps. very reasonable price..”
 of 5 bubbles junsosmena, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Great Breakfast, Cozy environment.”
 of 5 bubbles cassiep316, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“breakfast can be busy at times but not much of a problem”
 of 5 bubbles CarlGS455, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Good location for convenient shopping center and Mall”
 of 5 bubbles 992kennyg, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“No special rooms. There aren't any views except for other buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles tonybC6043BO, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay