We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 514: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The room are nothing special but the staff is very helpful and nice. You can hear every door on your floor close. Go out to eat, the food in the restaurant was below average. Great restaurants close by, Next Door Bistro.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
StephenBarr_GM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracy B, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. While I am very pleased to hear that you were happy with the level of service that was extended to you by our team during your visit, I apologize that there were a few areas we fell short of meeting yours...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Spent three nights at the hotel over the weekend while visiting family post business trip. The hotel itself is unremarkable but what distinguished the hotel and will make me come back was the friendliest hotel staff I have encountered in a while. Robert at the front desk made us feel very welcome and went the extra mile to make sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dak94402
Management response:

Dear Dak94402, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback after your recent stay with us! I am very glad to hear that overall you were satisfied with the accommodations you were provided and the level of service extended to you during your visit. It's valued feedback like yours that motivates our team to continue to strive to...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Chicago last weekend of the 9th to celebrate a friends birthday and got a room here for the night of the 10th. Were going to go check out downtown but it was snowing pretty heavy and decided to go to the main lobby lounge and have drinks. For one can not say enough about the staff here very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank burkedustin
Management response:

Dear burkedustin, Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us and choosing to stay with us during your weekend trip to Chicago! While I'm sorry to hear that your plans to check out downtown were ruined but the weather, I am glad that you were able to still enjoy your evening in our lounge. I am...

Scarsdale, New York
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Hotel has a very loud main lobby, perhaps because of the Ruth Chris steak house. The front desk staff were very helpful and swift which I appreciated! The room was clean and modern. The cabinet door to the refrigerator was broken. Could hear other room doors being opened and closed from our room. The bed was very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AAEN
Management response:

Dear AAEN, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback after your recent stay with us! I'm glad to hear that overall you were satisfied with the level of service you were provided by our team and the cleanliness of your accommodations. I apologize for any iconveneinece you experience related to the doors. We appreciate your business and...

Reviewed 27 November 2016

Hotel was fine, lobby has been spiffed up since the last trip time we visited. Rooms are smallish, but a good value for the rate we got through the Marriott web site. Comfortable and clean, a decent option.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
Management response:

Dear Laura D, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback after your recent stay with us. I am glad that you were pleased with the updates we made to our lobby since your last visit. Additionally, I'm glad to hear that the room was able to meet your needs during your stay. We appreciate your business and...

Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Beds are so comfortable, the maid service is attentive, they noticed I drank the mint tea and placed extra in the room. The gift shop is lacking and is a bit cluttered, I wanted more drink options but the options are slim. If you want to eat at Ruth Chris make a reservation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
Management response:

Dear Mandy S, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit! I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with your recent stay and our housekeeping was able to accommodate and provide extra tea during your visit. We are currently in the process of remodeling our gift shop which will be unveiled at...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Staff is wonderful. Place is fine and convenient. I've been there many times. Pretty consistent. Gym is small. Can be crowded. Sometimes they have bands. Generally it's a nice suburban hotel for use by people working with the local corporations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whatsupdk
Management response:

Dear whatsupdk, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay with us! We appreciate your loyalty when traveling to the Chicago North Shore Area. I'm glad to hear that you continue to be satisfied with your experiences with us and you have had the opportunity to enjoy some of the local musicians we feature...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 9 November 2016

This hotel never fails to live up to its reputation. Although it was crowded with attendees for a lacrosse tournament and Northwestern's Parents Weekend, there was no let down of service. From the front desk at checkin to checkout, everyone was eager to help and was friendly. Even in the restaurant for breakfast which always was crowded, service was top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sabba75
Management response:

Dear sabba75, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay! I'm glad to hear that you continue to find the service and accommodations provided to be satisfactory. I will make sure to share your feedback with our team and praise them on a job well done. We appreciate your business and loyalty and look...

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The good: the beds are amazing! Just like sleeping on a cloud, I suppose. The bad: no recognition of Platinum MR status whatsoever, poorly refurbished rooms in an attempt to mask the true age of the property. Staff was really nice overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeaweedGravel
Management response:

Dear deredye, Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. While I'm pleased to hear that you felt our team provided good service during your stay,I apologize for the lack of recognition regarding your Platinum Elite status. We definitely appreciate your business and loyalty as a Platinum member. We will be making upgrades to our guestrooms...

Northbrook, Illinois
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 weeks. The breakfast is awesome and the concierge level is great. Some nights lobby was too loud with music. Didn't like paying for wifi. Rooms very clean and comfortable .Overall staff was courteous and knowledgeable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim o
Management response:

Dear Jim O, Thank you for sharing your valued feedback regarding your recent stay with us! I'm glad to hear that overall you were satisfied with your experience and we were able to accommodate your needs during your time away from home. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future under better circumstances! Regards, Stephen...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northbrook
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel
4.0 mi away
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
5.3 mi away
Hilton Northbrook
Hilton Northbrook
#1 of 4 in Northbrook
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Highland Park/Northbrook
6.4 mi away
The Westin Chicago North Shore
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Ruth's Chris Steak House
Ruth's Chris Steak House
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel

Address: 933 Skokie Blvd, Northbrook, IL 60062-4004
Region: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Price Range: £91 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Northbrook
Northbrook Renaissance
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the end of the hall.”
 of 5 bubbles AAEN, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“high floors are best.”
 of 5 bubbles sabba75, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you're flying into OHare call ahead to see if your room is ready if it's before check in time.”
 of 5 bubbles botunkus, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“top floor & wifi is free even though the only option is to pay; check with desk.”
 of 5 bubbles Bsnss_Trvlr5, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Talk to front desk with your requests right away for the shuttle service for appointment.”
 of 5 bubbles AliciaRJ, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay