We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dumfries Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dumfries Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 439: English reviews
Start your review of Dumfries Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Scotland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Took my wife and mother for lunch and the food and pots of tea were excellent. What a pity the service was so slow the experience was ruined. After eating our main course we were going to order cakes. We waited and waited and finally approached gone waitress to ask for service. After that we waited and waited and waited...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rugbypark
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Me and my wife went to this hotel for two nights. What can I say but can't fault anything we were upgraded to a family room because of a mix up which was quickly and professionally resolved the room was amazing and specious with a shower and a bath in it and the beds were so comfy. we had breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brian C
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife & I had an overnight stay here on Sunday 19th. February courtesy of our daughters by way of a Christmas gift. The Dumfries Arms Hotel has a beautiful décor & comfortable/cosy rooms. The food is delicious & very well presented. Our dinner & breakfast was most enjoyable. To top it all, we found all of the staff to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ted399
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our youngest daughter gave us a gift of a nights stay in the hotel. We booked it and went. It is a great wee hotel. Nice and quiet even when there was a wedding reception on at the time. All the staff we came in contact with were friendly. We had dinner and breakfast booked as part of the deal....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris120759
DumfriesArms, Senior Management at Dumfries Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent overnight stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated and your nice comments will be passed on to the rest of our team. We look forward to having you back to see us soon! Best Regards, Senior Management Dumfries Arms Hotel

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

First the positives. The Dumfries Arms is a lovely looking hotel which has been tastefully decorated throughout. We had a suite which was large and comfortable, with seating and decent sized double bed. The bathroom was modern and everything was very clean. We thought the food was good and enjoyed the dinner and breakfast. All staff were friendly and courteous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HMG2
DumfriesArms, Senior Management at Dumfries Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear your found your stay enjoyable other than the noise from another guests bedroom. And you lovely comments will be passed onto the rest of our team. Although it is out with our control how loud guests have there TV, I am disappointed you could not reach reception on...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel. Hotel has been recently been refurbished to high standard. Rooms, bars and public areas all clean and very comfortable. Pleasant and helpful staff. Good menu offering no nonsense food. Excellent service in restaurant. Not much to do in Cummnock so a car is essential to explore the surrounding area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John141047
DumfriesArms, Senior Management at Dumfries Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us at The Dumfries Arms. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Best regards, Senior Management

Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We trav led from Linlithgow to have dinner here with friends who live locally. My first impression of the building was positive, impressive even but it was all down hill from there. The wine list only had two Rosie wins on it. We selected one only to be told it was not available as they had been very busy on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JanMcL
DumfriesArms, Senior Management at Dumfries Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jan, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. I am glad to hear you found the building impressive on your visit for dinner. Please accept my sincerest apologies on the Rosé Wine you had chosen being unavailable. Burns Night is on 25th January, your server was referring to a large Burns Supper held at...

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was very good,very smart clean and nicely decorated.i was there with the wife and enjoyed our stay ,staff very helpful. Unfortunately the restaurant which is very tastefully decorated was let down a bit by the food it was ok but could do a lot better. Breakfast was again pretty poor quality, with no fresh fruit option.if I was in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank norman s
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked through Itison deal for weekend stay in a standard room. Arrived around 2.30pm and we were allocated our room. The room was freezing cold so I phoned reception who informed me they would switch the heating it on at the mains. We waited a while and the heater in the bathroom came on (heat at the bottom only) ,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank touristBev
DumfriesArms, Senior Management at Dumfries Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent 5 star review. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you back staying with us in the near future. Best Regards, Senior Management

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is situated in the centre Cumnock it is a lovely hotel with plenty of parking .the interior and exterior of the hotel are lovely .On arrival at reception we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist and it was the same for all the staff that we dealt with .we had some lunch which was really nice then...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jean H

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumnock
3.8 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
114 reviews
23.6 mi away
Popinjay Hotel
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
433 reviews
13.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fully renovated in 2011 the Dumfries Arms is a contemporary, stylish boutique Hotel with 26 stunning guest rooms, stylish restaurant and function facilities that ensure its place as one of Ayrshire's largest and most stunning wedding and events venues. Rich in history, The Dumfries Arms Hotel has stood at the heart of the ancient burgh of Cumnock, Ayrshire since the early 18th century and even predates nearby Dumfries House, saved for the nation by HRH The Prince of Wales and now one of the nation's most stunning heritage attractions. Over its 300 year history the hotel's guests have included some colourful and well known characters including our national bard, Robert Burns and Sir Walter Scott, who made reference to his stay in Old Cumnock..."Where beds are as hard as a plank, sir". Much has changed since! However, as an important part of our heritage, due homage has been accorded with these historic words being embroidered on soft furnishings within our guest rooms. We should add that our beds are magnificently comfortable! We look forward to welcoming you to one of Scotland's newest, privately owned boutique hotels whether as a resident, diner, or to view our stunning function facilities if you are planning a very special event. A warm welcome is guaranteed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dumfries Arms Hotel

Address: 54 Glaisnock Street, Cumnock KA18 1BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Cumnock
Price Range: £99 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumfries Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dumfries Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dumfries Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Paisley, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dumfries Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a deluxe room very nice”
 of 5 bubbles normans_12, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for an executive room”
 of 5 bubbles touristBev, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great, especially Bridal suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Smilerr90, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we stayed in a room in the old part of the hotel it was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles dibbleduff, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we had 35 and my brother 36 - same price but 36 is a much larger room”
 of 5 bubbles Snookytam, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5