Premier Inn Reading South Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Reading South Hotel

Traveller (34)
Premier Inn bedroom
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

£43
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Grazeley
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green) ticks all the boxes. Close to the M4 and M3, just down the road from Reading and Basingstoke, and set in a quiet, rural location. Check, check and check. You're well placed for many local wedding venues. The Madejski Stadium is a short drive away. For family days out, head to Wellington Country Park or Highclere Castle, the set of Downton Abbey. Our friendly team will help you enjoy your stay to the full and our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will have you relaxing into the land of nod in no time.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
585Reviews7Q+A65Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 245
  • 167
  • 79
  • 56
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Miss p wrote a review Sept 2023
Lambourn, United Kingdom77 contributions33 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
this is a very good little premier inn, the chap on reception was so lovely and kind and had a lovely smile, room clean and very quiet. Had breakfast in the bell the continental side was lovely but, wasn't to keen on cooked breakfast, but the staff were lovely and friendly. Well done guys hope to come again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ayobamiolotu wrote a review Jun 2022
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hygiene of the hotel was poor, we stayed in room 114 and the bathroom was blocked with hair and so much dirt's. doesn't look like something regular washed.
there were lots of web in the room as well. housekeeping should be more than changing bed sheets and towels. The breakfast was also not worth paying £9.50 for as there were limited options with a long wait before you can get served
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Woodster wrote a review Mar 2023
Braintree, United Kingdom58 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Was unsure about this hotel seeing as it was deep in the countryside especially for a Premier Inn. However, don't let this put you off. I think I may have found a little gem hidden away which is one of the better hotels of this type around the Reading area.
Has plenty of parking and not chargeable either which is nice.
The hotel itself is of comparisons. It doesn't look like much from the outside and could do with a little TLC but once you step inside you find a very well presented and very clean smelling hotel. The receptionists are very charming and polite and helpful.
Rooms are perfect for business folk and those looking for a quieter stay although I'm sure this changes in the summer months.
Beds are extremely comfy and has all the usual you'd expect in these types of hotel, TV, kettle with tea, coffee, lounging sofa bed, telephone to reception and concierge service.
Bathroom was nice and bright with large mirrors with shower gel and handwash with fresh towels.
Overall the rooms smell lovely and very clean and I will be back.

Now for the food.
Adjacent to the hotel is a lovely old school country pub called the The Old Bell.
It's mainly setup for food to accompany the hotel for dinner and breakfast but you can also spend the night drinking away if it suits you.
The menu is very good and very well priced and will cater for pretty much most people. The food itself is amazing and well cooked with fresh ingredients, I opted for the lasagne which had pancetta pieces and a crispy top which melted in my mouth. I'm a big critic on food and to get my approval says alot.
Breakfast is the usual cooked variety with local produce and the option of continental.

Final thoughts in this hotel.
I've stayed in quite a few around this area and it's one I would stay at again mainly as the food is miles better than its rivals plus the locality and peaceful surroundings.
If your in the area book it, I'm glad I did.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Hotel has free WiFi so just log in on your phone and laptop. Book dinner and breakfast slots at...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
graham w wrote a review Feb 2020
Alencon, France36 contributions52 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Checked on internet they had availability, then when I arrived two hours later the price at checkin was higher than on the net two hours before. Surly young man at reception. No welcome at all. Didn't tell me the price until after he took my card. Room was unheated in February. Turned the thermostat up. No change. Then discovered the electric radiator was turned off. At least tell the guest they need to turn the radiator socket on to get any heat. Still cold. Then found a plug in oil radiator hidden away (so clearly they know there is a heating issue). Next problem is that there are only two sockets in the whole room. So with the radiator plugged in there is only one left! One socket????
In all the twenty or so premier inns I have ever stayed in I have never heard noise from rooms above or adjacent.That is why I like Premier Inn. Until this one. You can clearly hear the the tv, the guests, the toilet, the shower and the walking around of the room above. There is a big issue with soundproofing here.
The pub next door is ok but the low occupancy meant that the continental breakfast was the worst I have ever had at a Premier Inn. Stale croissants,tired, uninteresting bread, two squished pains au chocolat, no pain au raisins as advertised, the red fruits were a small bowl of supersweet cherries, the fruit selection was really poor and they had the sadest looking excuse of a fruit salad I have ever seen with brown bits of apple swimming in a sugary gloop. Yoghurts were not the Yeo valley organic as they advertise. If you don't have the demand for a continental breakfast don't do it and I will stay at another Premier Inn that does it properly. I live in France and don't want a cooked breakfast. The continental is what I want and it shouldn't be a poor relation where you just shove whatever you can find out on a table. Charge me the same price as a cooked breakfast and do it properly please.
Would you expect a french hotel to offer an "English breakfast" for less money than a continental breakfast and then give you something horrible, justifying it as being cheaper?
If you don't want to provide an alternative to a cooked breakfast then don't advertise it.
I had no problem with the guy hosting breakfast, just the quality of the food.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you want soundproofing go to another premier inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traspin wrote a review Nov 2021
Essex16 contributions27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a 1 night stay (unfortunately) at Reading (Grazeley Green) and have to say it’s the worst premier inn I’ve ever stayed at.

The receptionist/Front of house took a while to come out from the back and when she did, she looked half asleep, we checked in around 10.30pm.

As soon as you walked into the room it absolutely stunk of drains. I was told by the receptionist that there was a sewage problem.

Aside from the smell, the carpet definitely wasn’t hoovered properly, there were other peoples crumbs, fluff,bits of cotton and hairs (which I found out when putting my feet on the bed).

The heating also didn’t work, so the room was cold.

My husband has sleep apnea and has to use a machine to sleep. There are no plug points anywhere near the bed, so asked reception for an extension lead. Apparently they only have 1 and have given it to someone else. Her suggestion was to move the bed!

If it wasn’t so late at night, I would’ve looked for somewhere else to stay that has better standards.

I’m used to staying in premier inns, but this has by far been the worst.

Someone needs to inspect the rooms and the facilities in it before allowing guests in.

I did go to reception to let them know but was told nothing could be done because they were fully booked, but judging by the car park I beg to differ.

My advice would be don’t bother.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle J wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here as we were visiting family and booked a 2 night stay. Upon arrival we were told we had been charged an additional £2 as the price of the breakfast had increased since we originally booked! There was insufficient tea/ coffee in the room, enough for 2 people to have 1 drink. Toilet paper enough for 1-2 people for 1 night. We have stayed in many Premier Inn hotels and so was looking forward to a good night sleep, no, the bed was very uncomfortable, I moved and slept in a single bed. Then was the heat! 29 degree heat all night with 1 small fan for the room. We checked out the following morning as we couldn't stand having a second night of hell!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam N wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We was visited for a wedding and we had a fantastic time.
We got there early and thought we would chance it to check in early. The lady on reception was very helpful and got us into our room 3 hours before check in so was very happy we could refresh ready for the wedding.

All the staff are amazing and helpful nothing was to much trouble.

Very quite hotel in remote area near venue.

We had breakfast in the morning the only thing I can say is would be nice if it was a bit later finishing as only just made it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
202char2021 wrote a review Jun 2021
Colchester, United Kingdom1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival I stated my name which was not understood. I was told someone must have booked for me which wasn’t the case.
We then got to the room which was freezing as the aircon was on and and the window was wide open.
Managed to fall asleep ok. We only had 1 pillow each but was not made aware we could have more.
Woke up by loud banging noises from 7:30 in the morning. Not allowing us to have a relaxing morning after quite a long journey and day the previous day.
It felt like we were below the housekeeping room as constantly heard things moving around with waking and banging noises. We were not able to sleep after this and was awake.
Breakfast was very average.
Many things forgotten such as spoons to stir the tea no butter for toast. I really do understand this is difficult with Covid but these were basic things.

On check out the young receptionist was sat on his mobile phone said leave the key and said goodbye. No ask of our stay or how our experience was. I would have mentioned our concerns however due to the experience I didn’t feel they would be dealt with appropriately.
Overall we paid nearly £100 for this room which I think Is very unreasonable considering the stay we had.

Overall quite dissatisfied with our stay and would opt for another location.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Reading South Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2021
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're really sorry to hear that there were different things that happened in your stay that made you feel dissatisfied. That isn't what we would expect at all. We’d like to assure you we’ve made sure that all your feedback and comments have been passed on to the relevant teams. This also includes the manager of the hotel who will be able to chase this up with the hotel team to help prevent any similar issues from happening again. Once again we're very sorry for any disappointment on this occasion, but we're confident on your next experience you'll have a much more enjoyable stay! Kind regards, Danny
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cjandma wrote a review Oct 2022
Wiltshire, United Kingdom38 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel advertises that twin rooms are available and show a picture of proper twin beds, but provide one proper bed and a converted sofa bed. They only provide one hand towel for two people. They do not clean each day - this includes not cleaning/replenishing tea and coffee.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bryan S wrote a review Jun 2021
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom34 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So disappointed with Premier Inn, service from start to finish of the stay was mediocre at best, from restaurant booking which was too difficult for reception to do for me, even after receiving the pre stay email saying, contact reception and they’ll be happy to book a table. Check-In was fine until the person behind reception frowned upon the fact 2 men were staying in the double room (my husband), we live in modern times and this wasn’t appreciated. The fact that apparently for guest convenience tea and coffee is not replenished for a 2 night stay without having to request it and no longer do rooms get cleaned daily. Dirt around windows and window sill and poorly designed bathroom which sprays water on the door made the door look like it had been there for a century. Will not be using Premier Inn again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Reading South Hotel
Responded 9 Jul 2021
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Whilst we're happy you both stayed with us, we're sorry your room wasn't up to our usual standard and you didn't receive the best service from the team. We can imagine this left you feeling let down and this certainly isn't how we want our guests to feel. We'd like to assure you this will be raised with the Hotel Manager to see what improvements can be made going forward. We wouldn't want your experience to happen again so the Reception and Housekeeping team will be informed to ensure any necessary retraining is arranged and the best service is being provided. We hope this doesn't make you think twice about returning so please have confidence this isn't our usual standard and your comments will be picked up. Thanks again for getting in touch and we hope to see you both again soon. Ricky
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Tracey W
United Kingdom8 contributions16 helpful votes
You cannot open the windows wide but there is air conditioning in the rooms
Answer from WhitbreadHotels
Luton2 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi Callum, Unfortunately this hotel does not have interconnecting rooms available. However you could try our Caversham Bridge and Reading Central hotel as they do provide this facility. Kind regards, Sharelle Premier Inn Team
Stephbrooks asked a question Aug 2016
Suffolk, United Kingdom37 contributions6 helpful votes
What is the restaurant at this hotel?
Answer from WhitbreadHotels
Luton2 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi Stephbrooks Thanks for your query. The information given is correct, there is a Chef & Brewer restaurant next to our Reading South hotel. Hope this helps. Regards Amy Thacker Premier Inn Team
Answer from RyahOpsMgr
Reading
Dear guest, Thank you for your message and for choosing to stay with us at Reading South. We do not have shuttle services from Mortimer train station but we do use a 5 star taxi company and will be more than happy to pre book a taxi to be ready when you arrive at the station. The cost from Mortimer is around £15.00. Please do not hesitate to contact the switchboard by dialling 01189 833 115 and a team member will be delighted to assist you with the booking. We look forward to welcoming soon at Reading South. Kind regards, Reading South Team
mewsreviews wrote a tip 12 May
London, United Kingdom79 contributions52 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel ok don't eat a the pub"
Read full review
Joshking72 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Bridgend, United Kingdom8 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I’d stay here over reading central but that’s just personal preference "
Read full review
Jason J wrote a tip Jan 2024
United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book elsewhere. "
Read full review
VeddersInsideJob wrote a tip Dec 2023
Essex, UK8 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own toilet paper."
Read full review
CallyPally79 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Hitchin, United Kingdom26 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking, good availability"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Grazeley area.
PRICE RANGE
£40 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn reading south hotel reading
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerkshireWokinghamGrazeley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN READING SOUTH HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Reading South Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Reading South Hotel?
Nearby attractions include TimeTrap Escape Rooms (4.5 miles), Escape Reading (4.2 miles), and Knockout Escape Rooms (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Reading South Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Reading South Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Reading South Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Reading South Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Reading South Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buenasado Argentine Steakhouse - Reading, Miller And Carter, and Coconut Bar & Kitchen.
Is Premier Inn Reading South Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Grazeley.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Reading South Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Silchester Roman City Walls and Amphitheatre (4.0 miles), Stratfield Saye House (3.6 miles), and Pincents Hill (2.3 miles).
Is Premier Inn Reading South Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Grazeley HotelsGrazeley Hotel DealsHotels near Premier Inn Reading South Hotel
Things to DoFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire