We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clifty Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Clifty Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 240: English reviews
Muncie, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our accommodations were excellent. Stayed in room 303. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Our view was of the river and downtown Madison. We enjoyed watching the boats on the river and the lights at night were spectacular. There are many areas throughout the Inn to just sit and relax and we enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Our family stayed here 4 nights from out of state for a family wedding in Madison. Though it was a bit chilly, several members of our group enjoyed some hiking and wildlife sightings in the State Park. We had requested a river view when making reservations, so we were surprised that there was a large power plant smack in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila G
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

We enjoy hearing from our guest on their stay, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to do some hiking. Thank you for taking the time to share. Hope to see you again, be sure and look on the park inns site for discounts thru the winter months.

Reynolds, Indiana
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We stay at Clifty Inn many times a year and want to encourage you to do the same. It is a State Park Inn which is a little different from a chain hotel. I rooms may be a little rustic but that is part of the charm. Look into the suites very nice for a get-a-way. Plus the food in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. State park inns are different, we are so glad you enjoyed staying with us.

Fort Campbell, Kentucky
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Held my annual 3 day staff retreat at the Clifty Inn. Man oh man, do my employees love me now. All of the staff raved about the quality of the rooms and the quality of the food. We are actually changing plans for a staff getaway next year because all of them wanted to change from the other place we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Great to hear that you employees enjoyed their stay and want to come back. We love that guest leave with memories. Look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 30 November 2016

The Inn is beautiful and would have rated 5 stars except housekeeping and maintenance need to pay closer attention Urine splatters left on toilet seat Takeout food box left under sink Large wet spot on bedroom floor and most important security lock missing from door Bed and pillows were great. Room was quiet. Would have been nice to have known...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don M
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay, we are sorry we fell short and the issue has been addressed. We hope to see you again.

Bedford, Indiana
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We came for an overnight visit on Thanksgiving and also for dinner. The Inn itself is beautiful, very attentive staff, clean attractive rooms with comfy beds and lots of pillows. The thanksgiving dinner was amazing! $23/person, all the traditional sides and then some, turkey, fried chicken, baked salmon, ham, and roast beef. Loaded salad and fruit bar. Loaded dessert bar....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RWilliams1123
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting me know you had a issue with your breakfast not being hot, I will address the issue. Thank you for the great comments about your stay. We hope to see you again real soon.

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

The Inn itself is nice enough, no complaints on room or service. However, we paid more than we would have because of the nice pool advertised on the website. We were traveling with gymnasts and siblings and looked forward to rewarding them with swimming after working so hard for their meet. When we arrived the pool was empty and being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry that our pool was closed during your visit. If you contact me we will look at your reservation when you made it and see if we can do a room adjustment. Again I am sorry that you were not notified.

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Our room was bright, clean, spacious, and well-equipped. What else would anyone want? The bed was comfy too. Check-in/out was quick and easy too. Housekeeping needs a bit of training but that didn't cause a real problem for us. We'd recommend this spot and stay here again. The wi-fi worked great too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidLou
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing, and about your stay. Watch for our winter specials. Hope to see you again real soon.

Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Beautiful state park on a wooded bluff above Madison, IN. When you enter, the ranger mentions the two highlights of the park - Clifty Falls and the view of town and the Ohio from the Inn. We were there following a day of heavy rain and immediately road up to the falls. They were gushing and roaring, making a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed the falls, we are so happy that the water was flowing during your hike, pictures cannot explain how gorgeous they are you haft to see them in person. We are so happy you enjoyed the view of the river from your room. Hope to see you again...

Indiana
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The rooms are beautiful and clean. We had buffet for breakfast, lunches and dinner. Very good variety and great waitresses. Our group was 104 people. Con: We were on the third floor and we had to go down to the front desk three times for room keys- none worked when we arrived, the fourth time the front desk came up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abelmom
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had the inconvenience of your keys and tv but glad they could fix them for you. The lady bugs are a problem in the parks we try to control them, but sometimes a few slip thru. Hope to see you again.

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
2.6 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
159 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
97 reviews
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#7 of 7 in Madison
58 reviews
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Scottsburg
Hampton Inn Scottsburg
#1 of 6 in Scottsburg
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Clifty Inn

Address: Clifty Falls State Park, Rte. 56, 1650 Clifty Hollow Rd, Madison, IN 47250
Region: United States > Indiana > Madison
Price Range: £64 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Clifty Hotel Madison
Clifty Falls State Park Madison
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clifty Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Clifty Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for off season specails”
 of 5 bubbles billdB3496AZ, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the riverview rooms are a must.”
 of 5 bubbles L6172VJkens, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor river view room was nice”
 of 5 bubbles RWilliams1123, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a river view room for a nice view to the south if possible. It's worth the few extra $.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidLou, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You need a room on the upper floors for best views. They are usually the first ones booked. Our frig was noisy, so we turned it down.”
 of 5 bubbles L2475MOjackl, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5