We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend \/ Notre Dame
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 124: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame
 Click to rate
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The rooms were very nice and breakfast is good. I have a gluten allergy and they were willing to pull out the ingredients list for me at breakfast which was nice. My only complaint was the rooms would get really hot even when we turned the air on.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justakid23
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Checked in at 11pm on Friday night for a 1 night stay. It's February and about 10 degrees outside. Woke up at 7am for an 8am meeting to take a shower. I turned on the shower to hot and it was ice cold. I let it run for 10 min and it was still ice cold. Thus, I called the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are so very sorry about the no hot water issue you were faced with during your stay and our hotel staff's service fell below your expectations. We always strive to provide our guests with comfortable accommodations and we regret that we did not...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in South Bend last weekend for the ND game. It was at premium rate, but so are all hotels. Great front desk staff, and they had snacks all set up in the lobby on Friday and Saturday night. We had football cookies decorated in team colors in our room with two bottles of water--it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
Management response:

Dear Paula M, Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your great experience with the Tripadvisor World. We are getting a lot of great feedback about our new rooms and we thank you for mentioning. We will check into getting a step stool for you so in the future your mother and others that may find...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We booked to be close to ND...kind of a sketchy neighbourhood. Rooms were good, but a little musty smelling. Beds were comfy. Breakfast was typical...OJ was terrible! Tasted like it was watered down tang. Staff pleasant enough. Nothing remarkable, that I would have to go back. Probably will try the Hampton Inn next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
Management response:

Thank you so much for staying with us, we appreciate your business. I am so sorry about the musty smell you encountered, not sure what caused that, since we just completed a total renovation with all new carpets, fixtures, furniture, and beds! We do hope you'll give us a second chance and please know all information will be used to...

Stoughton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 September 2016

IHG's website did not properly disclose the rate restriction and charged a non-refundable deposit equal to the two-night minimum rate about a month before I stayed. I spoke wth the GM to question the charge and he was very polite, but still charged it. Other than that the location was very convenient to campus. Breakfast buffet was very good Friday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich P
Management response:

Dear Richard P, We thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express near Notre Dame, in the heart of beautiful South Bend IN. I apologize for the misunderstanding regarding your reservation and appreciate your patience. Just as a reminder though, the reservation screen when making a reservation on our website, does show you in three different spots the cancellation and...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 September 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PLRTraveler
Management response:

Prairie Home, Missouri
Reviewed 26 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katherine a
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Eagan, Mn
Reviewed 3 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
Management response:

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tbeaman5
Management response:

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
0.5 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring febreeze or a candle...not sure if it was musty, or needed a deep cleaning.”
 of 5 bubbles LisaR715, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great hotel, nice staff :)”
 of 5 bubbles ebandkidz2, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the 3rd floor and had no noise from anyone else staying at hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles marybZ9120YR, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Smile! Be mirthful and jocular with the front desk staff.”
 of 5 bubbles GReatTraveler0128, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Make sure there is enough light for your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles HershB_13, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5