We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Hawk Hotel

Hotels.comUS$97*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$97*
US$97*
US$97*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Black Hawk Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Black Hawk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 193: English reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2016

The hotel is an old hotel in wonderful condition. If you want to spend a night the way travel used to be before all the chain hotels then this is the place. You can eat & drink at the hotel or you can walk to any of the many places on main street.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lynn: We are really glad you enjoyed your BlackHawk experience. We work hard to set ourselves apart from the chain hotels and we are always pleased to know that our guests appreciate what we do to make their stay a special experience. Thank you so much for your patronage and we hope to see you again when you are...

Provo
Reviewed 25 December 2015

The hotel has the feel of a bed and breakfast, but is run with the comfort and efficiency of a well-run hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I especially loved the heated bathroom tile floors.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K166LKkaren
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you so much for your kind review of the hotel. We work hard to provide an excellent lodging experience for all of our guests so we are glad to hear that we succeeded. We hope to see you again at The BlackHawk Hotel and Happy New Year! Dan and Kathy Tindall, owners

Grundy
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Had a wonderful stay at the Blackhawk Hotel. Great décor in the lobby and rooms and couldn't find a better location for walking to local bars and restaurants. Definitely recommend stopping in at the Stuffed Olive lounge for a martini which is connected to the hotel!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dbw536
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello: Thank you so much for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon when you are in the Cedar Falls area. Happy New Year: Dan and Kathy Tindall, owners

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Having stayed at the historic Blackhawk on several prior occasions, I was surprised by the ongoing construction & no prior notice of it. Very noisy during weekdays. The shower in our room was the poorest I've ever experienced at all the hotels I've ever stayed at - a mere trickle. Check in desk staff seemed indifferent to our arrival -...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank craigsX5895CB
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Craig: I just read your review and am sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect experience on your recent visit. We do apologize for the disturbance you experienced from the construction connected to the preparation and installation of our new elevator. We have made every possible effort to keep any convenience to our guests at a...

Muscatine, United States
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Very nice restoration of classic hotel. Friendly staff. We always treat ourselves to a suite. Each room unique with antiques and set up. Adjacent quaint bar and restaurant. Located down town in college town so lots of night life. We have stayed there for the football games for about 6 years

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark B
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mark: Thanks so much for the great review and thanks also for being a great supporter over the last 6 years. We continue to make upgrades to our hotel and on your next visit you will be able to ride up to your suite (319) in style in our new elevator which has been a dream of ours since...

Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Hotel is beautiful and exactly what we were looking for, for a fun girls weekend getaway. The only thing I wish is that it had an elevator. Lugging all your stuff up three flights of stairs isn't fun. Otherwise, it was a great time!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank darcij456
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

"Girls Night Out" thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy that you found just what you were looking for at The BlackHawk Hotel. I'm sure you noticed the construction going on during your visit. This construction is, in part, to install an ELEVATOR in this great old property. We are so pleased to finally be...

Orono
Reviewed 13 October 2015

The staff couldn't have been nicer nor more helpful. The room and the lobby were beautifully decorated. The beds were wonderfully cozy. Really fantastic EXCEPT a party of 5 girls came in around 2 a.m. and were laughing and talking. They were not being overly loud but the walls were so thin that it sounded like they were in our...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank diana632
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay but do apologize that you were kept awake because of some "chatty" women near you. It is impossible to provide a totally quiet experience in a hotel (new or old) and that is why we supply earplugs for our guests. I wish you would...

Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 5 October 2015

I loved this hotel. It is just a lovely vintage-feel place to stayed that is very updated with very nice amenities. It has just enough vintage furnishing to be cute retro but everything you don't want to be "retro" intact. I was a little disappointed with the breakfast but I will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan: We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent experience at the hotel. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience in a warm and welcoming setting and we are so glad that you felt this way. We are working diligently with the restaurant owner to improve our breakfast option and service for our guests. We...

Anoka, Minnesota
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Staying at the Black Hawk Hotel in Cedar Falls recently was a delightful experience! Antique furnishings, colorful artwork, large lovely appointed rooms; a lobby with comfortable areas for visiting while being located on Main Street Cedar Falls with its fun shops and restaurants in addition to being on the historical registry is a delightful place to stay for a night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate J
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you appreciate the extensive work we have done to update and restore this beautiful hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again if and when you return to the Cedar Falls area. We are in the process of installling a long-awaited...

Cedar Falls, IA
Reviewed 20 August 2015

This is the prime spot to stay when visiting Cedar Falls. It is located near several restaurants and bars. It is an older hotel but well kept. If you want the older feel, stay in the main building; if you want a retro trendy room ask for the motor lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank exacta123
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and a delayed "thank you" for your nice review back in August. We are glad to you enjoy our historic hotel but also mentioned the motor lodge. We feel we have something for everyone with our two distinctive properties. Happy New Year and we hope to see you again soon at The BlackHawk. Kathy Tindall, owner

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 14 in Cedar Falls
389 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Technology Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge and Suites Cedar Falls
1.8 mi away
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Clarion Inn University Plaza
#10 of 14 in Cedar Falls
136 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Hawk Hotel, listed on the National Trust of Historic Places, is the oldest continuously-operating hotel site West of the Mississippi. The historic building offers 27 rooms from standard accommodations to luxury suites with marble bathrooms/jacuzzi tubs and antique furnishings. A business center is also available to our guests. Adjacent to the historic hotel is our vintage Motor Lodge which offers 14 king rooms with mid-century modern style furnishings and original art. This facility includes a workout room and all the modern conveniences demanded by today's sophisticated traveler at an affordable price point. The Black Hawk occupies a prime location in the heart of Cedar Falls on Historic Main St. where all the action is...great restaurants, shops and entertainment options. We are also steps from the picturesque Cedar River with its walking and bike trails and just 5 minutes from the UNI Campus. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Hawk Hotel

Address: 115 Main St, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-2621
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Price Range: £71 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Hawk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Black Hawk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Hawk Hotel Cedar Falls, Iowa
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Falls
#4 Family Hotel in Cedar Falls
#6 Business Hotel in Cedar Falls
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Hawk Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Allegedly the place is haunted but they guarantee the ghosts are friendly!”
JRockit, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of main street”
J8329HZrichardk, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“enjoy your surroundings”
CarolineM802, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a suite for a few dollars more!”
345karenr, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Tell them what kind of experience you want.”
slmappleloop, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$97* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$97
TripAdvisorUS$97
Orbitz.comUS$97
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates