We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Please do yourself a favor and avoid this hotel. I asked to see the room first before staying there and Im glad I did. This hotel has a bad/strong smell of cigarettes, the carpet looked filthy dirty, the room also had a strong smell of cigarette, the beds are not comfortable. the windows looked dirty and the parking lot scary!!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth V
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for sharing your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. The service issues you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we are sorry you experienced less than satisfying service during your visit. We invite... More 

Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

First I have to say I am a smoker. The room rate was typical, you get what you pay for. We went for a one-day meeting with my mother and brother so we took the room so my mother would not suffer much for the trip back and forth on the same day, but I think it was a bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank jmvlv111
Monica A, General Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay at Motel 6. More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

$50/night, if you need a place to sleep and shower this is not a bad option. The room was relatively clean, the staff friendly and at this price point you can't ask for much else. Bare bones room of course, no mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc. There is a McDonald's directly adjacent and it is literally a couple of... More 

Helpful?
Thank rick p
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

Rick, We are sorry that you were unsatisfied with the expected amenities; however, Motel 6 standards for quality are rooted in economical practicalities to consistently deliver on our goal to provide the lowest price of any national chain. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a... More 

Home
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

First I have to say I am a smoker. The price for the room was fare, you get what you pay for. The whole building had a very strong smell of cigaret smoke including my non smoking room. The bedspread had 3 or 4 large burn marks. If you can get past the strong smell and you want to save... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
Monica A, General Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about the smoke odor issue you encountered. As a non smoker, I too, do not enjoy the sell of smoke. I will share your feedback with my housekeeping team and look for a solution to your problem. I appreciate your feedback . Thank you for choosing Motel 6. More 

Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

NO FREE BREAKFAST as listed in trip advisor. Wifi is good. We got a smoking room but not sure if it was my fault when booking or not listed. Used after a football game. Smokey smell not unbearable and was able to open a window and help with fresh air. Paid a little more as I booked with hotels.com. For... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tammy O
Monica A, General Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. Thank you for bringing it my attention about the error on the web page regarding breakfast. I hope you continue to choose Motel 6 for all your lodging needs. More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I would not stay in this motel for free. I thought I would give Motel 6 a chance in my lifetime disregarding their bad reputation and wondering what happened to the first 5 motels. I booked the room for $37. We were arriving late and leaving early so I didn't want anything fancy. Upon arrival, the lady at the front... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cmkastanek
Monica A, General Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

I am sorry to here your stay was not satisfactory. As a non smoker myself, I too do not like the odor of cigarette smoke. It is unfortunate that we cannot prevent guests from smoking in our non smoking rooms. I will speak with my housekeeping staff to ensure they are making all efforts to eliminate smoke odor. Thank you... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

A budget motel close to food and the higway. Staff was super nice and check in and out was a breeze. It's not the Hilton but it's great on a budget while traveling through town. There are a lot of other hotels and motels nearby so at least if you find it not to your liking, a move is easy.... More 

Helpful?
Thank zach c
Monica A, General Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. More 

Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here twice while in town for work. The rooms are simple no extras, not even tissues. My first stay the room was clean. It had a microfridge. No bugs noted and trust me I checked all over. My second stay the sheets weren't the cleanest and I used my own blanket. The pillows are kinda junky, but what can... More 

Helpful?
Thank M H
Monica A, Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take pride in offering clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price. I am sorry to hear you had an issue with your bedding. I will share your concerns with housekeeping. Thank you for being a loyal Motel 6 guest. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2016

There are two motel 6's in town. The other one is much more updated than this one. First thing you see as you pull in is that they are hiring for housekeeping never a good sign. I had to exchange pillow it was stained and smelled bad. The staff was really nice about helping though. There were no pictures on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duane L
Monica A, Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear your stay was not satisfactory. The owners are in the process of updating the hotel and most of the first floor rooms have been updated. I am glad the staff were able to assit you with your concerns. I hope you continue to chose Motel 6 for your lodging needs. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

I've stayed at this motel multiple times and for extended periods. The staff is really friendly and the rooms are well kept. I wouldn't keep coming back unless it was great, so they must be doing something right! Darcy was great tonight, and Victoria and Monica are super also!

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca O
Monica A, Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey! I am so happy we met your expectations on being welcoming and clean. I am happy to tell you we are expecting a renovation of the property soon! More 

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#29 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
48 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#24 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cedar Rapids
Red Roof Inn Cedar Rapids
#25 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Economy Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Hometown Inn & Suites
Hometown Inn & Suites
#33 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel 6 Cedar Rapids is located less than a mile from Hawkeye Down Speedway and less than 5 miles from Cedar Rapids Convention Center, Bever Zoo, Westdale Mall, and dining. All guest rooms have an interior corridor access with Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport

Address: 616 33rd Ave S.W., Cedar Rapids, IA 52404 (Formerly Howard Johnson Cedar Rapids)
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Price Range: £28 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cedar Rapids Hotel Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Howard Johnson
Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Fontanelle, Italy
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a totally unhealthy place.”
 of 5 bubbles jmvlv111, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground level was not as strong smelling.”
 of 5 bubbles LynnRWMN, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 137 is away from the exits and I find was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelHelper4U, 30 Mar 2015 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay