We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
Iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a flight to catch early in the morning so decided to stay nearby to the airport. Despite location convenience, I don't think it's worth it. First room we got checked in was super dirty. There were still blood stains and hair on the bed when we first checked in. Requested to get another room, wasn't much of an improvement...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia K
Moab, Utah
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

I'll start by saying that the manager was incredibly nice and helpful. Unless he's the owner, it's not his fault that the place is shabby. I'm an occasional vendor at the Des Moines Farmers Market who needed a room for the evening of October 21st. Because of these reviews there were no illusions on my part as to the quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daphne L
Reviewed 27 September 2016

It's taken me a few months to write this review, I don't like negative reviews but I just can't get over it. I've stayed at dozens of hotels over the past few years. At this particular point in time we had low expectations going in. The first thing I noticed was the 40 yd dumpster as we pulled up, my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sudzyo_2000
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Our standards for quality rest on the...

Surprise, Arizona
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Arrived late as had to drive from RST as flight had cancelled. Was great but door handle would not open. Gave green light so key card was working but even putting my shoulder to door could not open. A 25 year old guy (I'm a 66 yr old women) walked by and even he had trouble,but after 3 attempts he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N8053NRannc
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

I went with my family to Des Moines and chose this motel because of the location and we were looking for an apartment, room was outdated, small tv with limited channels, I noticed there were always ants in the bathroom. We couldn't leave food in the table like bread or cereal because of the ants, beds were ok. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxie_Tyler
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review

Roxie, Thank you for sharing your concerns. Please know the service issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues...

Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

Room smelled like smoke, body odor, cigarettes, and mold, things were falling apart, dirty, old, broken sidewalks, noisy, big lighted advertizement sign out the front of the motel kept me awake all night, bed mattress was broken down and very uncomfortable, but the desk clerk was very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
Inwood, West Virginia
Reviewed 19 October 2015

I bought this room and paid $2.99 for extra for the privilege of using their internet. It did not work. So I went back and paid "Paul" the extra $2.00 for HIGH SPEED internet access and it did not work. So I asked "Paul" to check into this and got basically a lecture from someone that did not really want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shidoobe
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. We are glad to be able to provide Wi-Fi to our guests and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our policy. We apologize for the state of the parking...

Topeka, Kansas
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

I've never been in a more nasty motel/hotel. It's absolutely filthy. The bathroom looks like it's been a couple of weeks since it's been cleaned. The noise level of planes taking off and landing all night is horrible. Please take me out of time out!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne S
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review

Vivienne, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable...

Michigan
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Horrible experience. Infested hotel room and bed. Although cheapest accommodation but, would not recommend at all to stay as it was a horrific experience. Saw roaches around the pizza we brought and feeling something moving inside the mattress. We were having our own bedsheets and blankets so, protected ourselves from bug bite. Stay away if possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank szshrivastava
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe. Our staff aims to provide the highest...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Remember that when you go "cheap" you usually get what you pay for.... AND this cheap motel in directly in the flight path... Loud most of the time with the airplanes taking off and landing. It was clean, and the staff very friendly. There are very few amenities... soap and towels but that is about it. It was clean.. but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hoytytoyt
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues you describe. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#33 of 48 in Des Moines
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
5.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#29 of 48 in Des Moines
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Address: 4817 Fleur Drive, Des Moines, IA 50321
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: £37 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Motel 6
Des Moines Motel Six
Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport Iowa
Motel Six Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Leave immediately.”
 of 5 bubbles sudzyo_2000, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from there.”
 of 5 bubbles shidoobe, 19 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Our room was close to the breezeway, which lived up to it's name. We heard howling wind all night, so maybe stay away from that.”
 of 5 bubbles josephb169, 24 Feb 2015 | Read review
“don't assume you will have a bath tub ,so ask !”
 of 5 bubbles traceyw542, 4 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Call to verify your reservation!!”
 of 5 bubbles X689RXchriss, 9 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay