We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Butler House on Grand

Save
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (6)
Overview
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good11%
  • Average0%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible0%
6 Oct 2016
“Perfect Weekend Getaway in Des Moines”
17 Aug 2016
“A Nice Place, If You Can Find It”
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
53
7
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
53
7
0
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Wonderful location for a 2 day trip in to visit the capitol, botanical gardens and the art museum- only minutes away. Friendly, attentive hosts that made us feel very welcome and served a delicious breakfast and accommodated our dietary needs. Enjoyed having a refrigerator near...More

Thank bayoupots
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Butler B&B is located in a magnificent house built in 1921. Larger than many B&Bs in which we have stayed, it features seven rooms, most (all?) of which must be reached by stairs. The ambiance is lovely, and the breakfast we had was excellent. The...More

Thank C_L_C_100000
Reviewed 1 June 2016

2nd visit to this B&B and another great experience. Lots of little kids that the owners handled with patience (when we were really loud). Breakfast was always excellent. Recommend - great place to stay, great location, great owners.More

Thank Patricia K
Response from ButlerHouse, Owner at Butler House on GrandResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you for your positive post. We have been blessed to be open for almost 18 years and over these years, we have gotten to know many of our guests as they stay with us often. We have enjoyed getting to know your family and...More

Reviewed 14 March 2016

We arrived on a Friday night to visit our daughter who lives in Des Moines. Preparing for a smooth arrival I always re-read other reviews and even go so far as to view the surroundings on Google maps street views so I know where I'm...More

1  Thank dhornick
Response from ButlerHouse, Owner at Butler House on GrandResponded 18 April 2016

Thank you for you kind remarks. We have been open for 17 years now! While our home was built in 1923 we do try to keep as much of the original fixtures as we can. We certainly do hope you will return again. Thank you...More

Reviewed 26 October 2015

I enjoyed the charm of the house, our room was on the top floor and it was very quiet despite the busy road nearby. Lauren was a wonderful hostess offering us suggestions for dinner and activities. Check in was seamless with my only complaint being...More

Thank OliviaW929
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$105 - US$190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$105 - US$190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
becky1732000
23 June 2016|
Answer
Response from ButlerHouse | Property representative |
Thank you for your inquiry. For the first weekend of the Iowa State Fair, we still have five guest rooms available, ranging from $135/night plus taxes, upward. In order to hold reservations we do need credit card info... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Greenwood was comfortable and roomy"
Read review
"(See description above.)"
Read review
"Cook's Quarters is budget-friendly, but bathroom is quite small. Otherwise, was perfect for our needs."
Read review
"Tell Lauren or Clark your plans needs and they are wonderful at suggestions."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing