We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Super 8 Des Moines

Expedia.comUS$70*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Des Moines
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Des Moines
See the most recent reviews
Showing 19: English reviews
Ottumwa, Iowa
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The staff was very nice. They had a good TV with lots of channels. The Internet connection was good and I was able to stream a movie. I liked the bedding and they had plenty of pillows. I'd say the breakfast was a little better than average. For the price this is a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln A
Shiv B, Manager at Super 8 Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you, we look forward to your next stay.

Columbia, MO
Reviewed 21 February 2017

This was a very nice hotel for the money. Location wasn't bad. It was clean and breakfast was served early so we could eat something before heading to the dog show.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank deagra
Shiv B, Manager at Super 8 Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you, we hope we are even better next time.

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 20 February 2017

My kids and I been treated like your crap we have paid money and soul and Men treated like we are nothing and nobody's white trash or something very embarrassed very humiliated no one should have to be treated like the way that we are being treated and I will never stay here again I have contacted my attorney ko

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marvellia
Shiv B, Manager at Super 8 Des Moines, responded to this review

we are sorry you felt this way but we did catch you stealing towels twice and both times you blamed it on your kids, you also stole blankets and duvets when you checked out. We did tried to treat you respectfully but you wanted to keep stealing from us so we decided to kick you out.

Brayton, Iowa
Reviewed 18 February 2017

They need to clean!!! Then replace burned carpet and deep clean the rooms. Hallways were very dirty. Old.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S828YLdanb
Shiv B, Manager at Super 8 Des Moines, responded to this review

We are sorry we did not meet your expectation and we will be improving the rooms very soon, we hope to see you give us a second chance after renovations.

Waterloo, Iowa
Reviewed 9 February 2017

DO NOT STAY HERE! We reserved three rooms for a business trip. The reviews we found online were positive, the pictures made the property look pristine. We were falsely led. The property was a mess. Upon entering the facility, there was vomit outside the main entrance door. The staff member at the desk was apathetic and unhelpful. One of our...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C4688TDemilyh
Shiv B, Manager at Super 8 Des Moines, responded to this review

We apologize for your experience but we checked with our front desk and there was no puke outside during your stay and if you could let us know before hand we could of switched your rooms, again we apologize for your experience and look to improve every chance we get.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The day staff was super friendly and extra helpful (but the night guy needs a lesson in customer service - - he was borderline rude). We were very comfortable for our 4 day, 3 night stay and the day gal was kind enough to refund one night for us when we decided to leave town early!!!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D2389KPlorim
Shiv B, Manager at Super 8 Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to provide you with better service next time.

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The continent from which the "continental" breakfast was from should be placed on the travel ban list ASAP.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James D
Does Moines, Ia
Reviewed 24 January 2017

This is one of the best Travelodge's that I've ever stayed in. There remodel was done very good. Very nice attention to details was very clean and comfortable. I'll be staying there again. Thanks for a great stay.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
Shiv B, Owner at Super 8 Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to please you on your next stay as well.

Ackworth, Iowa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikesU5802SY
Shiv B, Owner at Super 8 Des Moines, responded to this review

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Of Des Moines
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
105 reviews
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#29 of 48 in Des Moines
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
98 reviews
9.6 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#9 of 48 in Des Moines
577 reviews
4.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#31 of 48 in Des Moines
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly Renovated! New Management! Our Super 8 Des Moines hotel welcomes you to our location on Route 69 off I-35 and I-80, within driving distance of Iowa State University, Des Moines University, Drake University, and Grand View University. Visit loved ones at Mercy Hospital and arrive in ease through either Des Moines International Airport (DSM) or Ankeny Regional Airport (KIKV). You can hop on I-235 and quickly reach local attractions that include the Des Moines Performing Arts and Civic Center, Wells Fargo Arena, and Des Moines Farmers Markets. West Des Moines or the Historic East Village offer easy access to restaurants and entertainment throughout your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Des Moines

Address: 4685 A Northeast 14th Street, Des Moines, IA 50313 (Formerly Travelodge Des Moines IA)
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: £54 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Super 8 Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Des Moines Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Des Moines staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Expedia.com
US$70* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$70
Orbitz.comUS$70
TravelocityUS$70
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates