The Woods Caravan Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Woods Caravan Park

Diverswell Farm by Alva, Alva FK10 3AN Scotland
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Alva
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Convenience store
Self-serve laundry
Restaurant
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
266Reviews10Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 189
  • 34
  • 17
  • 10
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Leeanne F wrote a review Jul 2020
Scotland, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed for a week in a mini lodge and had the perfect break. We should have been abroad so booked this quite last minute at a really reasonable price compared to other places(thank you for not being ridiculously overpriced)but we were so surprised to find a beautiful, modern lodge of really high standards. Had everything we needed, spotlessly clean with beautiful views of the ochil hills which are in easy reach with amazing walks. The campsite was so quiet and peaceful, lots of tents, campervan etc but not a peep at night time. Staff were all so friendly and helpful, we even seen someone out cleaning down the childrens playpark equipment, very reassuring. Really cant fault a thing. Lots of restaurants and takeaways nearby who deliver to the park if you want a break from cooking. We will defo be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Frances McNally, General Manager at The Woods Caravan Park
Responded 29 Jul 2020
Thank you for reviewing you stay in 1 of our mini lodges. Sorry that you weren't able to go abroad, but our gain. Good to hear that you enjoyed the view of the Ochil hill all the lovely walks accessible from site. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MiggyNorfolk wrote a review Oct 2020
Norfolk
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a week at the end of September in our motorhome after driving around the west and north coast of Scotland. The staff welcomed us and gave helpful recommendations about nearby walks. We were allowed to select our own pitch, which was large with facilities nearby. The surrounding areas were well kept and all rubbish bins regularly emptied.
A special mention must be for the shower block. It was warm, beautifully clean with spocious showers, enough places to hang your clothes, colourfully lit with hairdrying facilities, washbasins in cubicles and even a wall mounted TV to keep you up to date with news and music! This block was scrupulously cleaned and provided with every form of Covid 19 protection. The water was always hot and plentiful. Now, after a month's travelling how pleased was I to find the best ever washing and drying machines.Their use was very reasonably priced.
We were able to get TV reception on our old Sky box, (disk manually pointed to south).
A bonus was the excellent meal we treated ourselves to at the restaurant near the entrance to the site.You do need to book in advance as deservedly very popular. the wifi on site was first class and easy to access.
We have been fortunate enough over the last 20 years to have camped on sites all over the world, and have to say the Woods is right up there with the very best!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Frances McNally, General Manager at The Woods Caravan Park
Responded 18 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review the site. The team have all worked hard ensuring that everyone is kept safe during these difficult times. Glad that the team were able to give you advise on the numerous lovely walks in the area. I will pass your comments on to the rest of the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sharon s wrote a review Sept 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just stayed 7 nights in a lodge here, from arriving to leaving we have loved it all, walking into the lodge we were over the moon, it was gorgeous, only 2 small issues,there were 2 dirty knives in the knife block & the frying pan was dirty, I was a bit upset especially given the current standards we need to be keeping but I washed them and forgot about it. The park itself is immaculate,the staff are lovely, so many lovely walks near by,ideal location for visiting The Kelpies, William wallace monument and many more places. We are already looking to book for next year. 😋
Thank you for a fantastic holiday
Sharon & Chris
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Frances McNally, General Manager at The Woods Caravan Park
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Glad you enjoyed your stay in the lodge. However I'm sorry that you had a couple of issues when you arrived. Under any circumstances this isn't acceptable and not what we would normally expect. I am glad however that it didn't put you of and you enjoyed everything that the site has to offer. Look forward to seeing you next year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arri-L wrote a review Aug 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a lodge suited for 10 people at the end of June, there was 8 of us in total all ages between 18-20, we booked through a website not direct which didnt state anything about an age restriction when staying in the woods lodges. All of us took holidays from work to enjoy the weekend & spent £100 on shopping for the weekend which was ready and packed in our cars on the thursday night to go on the friday. Thursday night around 6pm, less than 24 hours before we were due to go, we received a phone call saying that our lodge was cancelled and that we may not be getting a refund and the reason of it being was because none of us that were going were 25. As you can imagine we were all upset, disappointed and confused but most of all angry because we were told the night before we were to go that we werent allowed to go & that the £500+ we spent wouldnt be getting refunded. The staff then informed us that they dont do parties, stag doo’s or hen partys and that this is why our holiday was cancelled yet this was new information to us as we werent going for a party we had booked to go to Go Ape, go to natural trails and spend time with friends. The staff then looked into this and spoke to the owners who phoned us back a short while later. They told us that we could come however we would need to pay £200 deposit rather than £100 because we were younger, our lodge was moved next to the owners lodge so that they could keep an eye on us, the owner would be coming in to our lodge on the saturday morning to check on the lodge and on us & that if there was any loud music or trouble we would need to leave asap. By this point we weren’t looking forward to our weeking atall because we had been treated like wains & didnt know what to expect however the staff at reception when we arrived were so lovely & helpful, the lodge was amazing and the views from our decking were unreal. The staff at the restaurant/bar were so lovely and chatty and no body we spoke to seemed to care about our age atall! Our neighbours were so nice and the place couldnt have been better however we were just disappointed the way we were treated before we had even arrived. In the end the owners never came to check on us on the saturday morning & we dont think our lodge was next to the owners and we caused no trouble. Would visit again however i recommend that the age restriction is clear on every website when booking.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Frances McNally, General Manager at The Woods Caravan Park
Responded 19 Aug 2020
This is a family park and we don't normally take groups of young poeple. However after speaking to you on this occasion the booking went ahead. Glad that when you arrive you all enjoyed it and had a good time. P. S. The owner said thank you for the goody bag.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leeanne F wrote a review Jul 2021
Scotland, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from 1 week here. This is the second year in a row we have went here due to covid restrictions and being unable to go abroad. Stayed in one of the mini lodges. Spot on. Clean(and I am very particular), modern decor, a good wee range of kitchen utensils, antibacterial spray, cloths and washing up liquid all provided. Clear covid rules displayed in lodge etc. The views are just amazing and really just chill you out. The park is well maintained and you see them out painting, cleaning up etc, all very friendly. Theres a range of restaurants/takeaways that deliver to the park, a list is provided upon check in. Sterling mills outlet a 5 minute drive. There are numerous walks on the ochil hills within 10/15 minutes drive. We hope to get abroad again next year but love this place so much that we will hopefully be booking a sneaky wee extra holiday each year.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Woods Caravan Park, Other at The Woods Caravan Park
Responded 10 Aug 2021
Hello, Thank you so much for this great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our mini lodges, and glad you returned for a second year! Our staff work very hard to ensure the park is well kept and tidy and that all the lodges are kept to a very high standard. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
delilah41 wrote a review Jun 2021
Irvine, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from our 3rd trip to this caravan park. Absolutely fantastic. Very well run by friendly staff. The toilet/shower block is well deserving of their’Loo Awards’. Heated, spotless, spacious- could not fault and i am very fussy with this type of thing. Guys who run the site could not be any friendlier. Always say hello, have a quick chat but are always working hard to keep the site up to such a high standard. Have already booked a few more visits. You can walk to Tillicoultry and also Alloa from here and lots of tourist attractions close by. Cannot recommend highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Woods Caravan Park, Other at The Woods Caravan Park
Responded 10 Aug 2021
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to send us a great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that all the staff and facilities met your expectations. They always have a smile on their face around the park! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TLC351 wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had our first family camping trip with our 2 year old last week, i'm so glad we managed to get booked here as it was a great first time experiance for us all.
The campsite itself is lovely, well spaced out and clean, the views you have to look out on are just brilliant, we enjoyed watching the paragliders in the afternoon.
Staff are so friendly and helpful.
We will most certainly be back in the future :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Frances McNally, General Manager at The Woods Caravan Park
Responded 29 Jul 2020
Thank you taking the time to review the site. Glad you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your comments on to the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
theatre207 wrote a review Jul 2021
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This site is very well attended by the staff who constantly check the facilities so they are always stocked and clean. The grass and flower tubs were delightful and well cared for. The pitch size is great with room for awning and car.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Woods Caravan Park, Other at The Woods Caravan Park
Responded 10 Aug 2021
Hello and thank you for your positive feedback. We pride ourselves on our facilities and the staff are always working hard to ensure these are kept to a very high standard - so thank you for taking the time to notice. We have some very keen gardeners on our team of staff and they have excelled themselves with the flower arrangements this year - certainly has brightened the park up! Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A C wrote a review May 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
1st caravan and this was our 1st trip away in it.
Positives - Good location, nice views & big spacious pitches.
Negatives - hand sanitiser in ladies toilet block broke when arrived and still broke when left.
Bins all over site just left to pile up.
Only staff member seen on site was standing outside reception with a cigarette hanging out his mouth, not good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Woods Caravan Park, Other at The Woods Caravan Park
Responded 7 May 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Please accept our apologies - this was the first full weekend with new staff. Not with us now! Left us a bit short handed but all cleared by Monday morning. Rest assured this has never happened before and will not happen again. The hand sanitiser units have also since been replaced. Glad you enjoyed the larger than usual pitches and the outstanding views from the park. We try our utmost to ensure the park is kept to a high standard at all times. We hope to see you again in the future, and enjoy your new caravan!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pipper wrote a review Aug 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived at the site, had a warm welcome from reception.
They seem quite strict on things but for the comfort of everyone. No noise after 11pm.

Shower block closest to reception are fab.
Free hairdryer not very strong.

long dressing table with few chairs a few eletruc points for your own hairdryer or straightners, 3 nice showers toilets, and some cubicals with sink.
Nice very bright warm block, nice touch with music, there is also a TV to watch not sure why lol.

In the same block there is a washing machine and a tumble dryer.

We didn't have great views from our pitch but walking around the site you have fantastic views of the Ochil hills.

Everywhere is spotless, gardeners were very friendly.

The guy from reception was very helpful.and approachable.

Resturant which dosent belong to the caravan site is at the entrance just before reception.
Food was good staff were lovely.

We couldn't sit inside as we had the dog.

Kelpies about 35 min drive well worth a visit free to look around car park very reasonable.

Negitive side it would be lovely if they had a closed in area for dogs to have a run and a few more dog bins would be good, I found two dog bins so for the few lazy sods who couldn't even pick there dog poo up shame on you.

If you are camping your views will be lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Delzer65
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom167 contributions106 helpful votes
The electric is normally included in the pitch price. As for gas I really don’t know. We’ve just replaced our gas cylinder which cost us £30 but it’s lasted us for a couple of years. Going by question I’ve just realised are you staying in the chalets? We had a motorhome
Answer from Brian M
Scotland, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
We did not stay in a lodge.
Alva, United Kingdom
Hello, Mark! Apologise for the late response. The River Devon allows fishing up and down the river with a few exceptions. You can find all the information at devon angling association website (Tripadvisor does not allow links to be added) Permits can be purchased from the reception. Adult Season is £20 and the junior is £5. Adult Day Permits are £8 pounds and the Junior is £3. Permits can only be purchased by Cash are this money is handed over to the Devon Angling Association at the end of the season.
Garry B asked a question May 2021
2 contributions
Do takeaways deliver to the site ?
Alva, United Kingdom
Yes they do, yet they have to meet the driver at reception as they are not allowed on site.
R19ckp asked a question Mar 2021
Clitheroe, United Kingdom81 contributions53 helpful votes
We are looking to book motorhome pitch what time is the latest time to check in ?
Alva, United Kingdom
Our reception times are 9-5 Monday to Friday during the Summer season - Occasionally open later on Monday & Friday. During the Winter season, reception tends to close at 4pm Yet, we have a system in place to allow people to arrive on the site up to 9pm at the latest. Please call ahead and allow our Staff to know of late arrivals. Thank you for your question, apologise for the late response!
Smegle_12 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Oxford, United Kingdom51 contributions35 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ring in advance and double check what you are getting."
Read full review
Cameron S wrote a tip Sept 2022
15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book table in restaurant early as does get very busy "
Read full review
julie W wrote a tip Aug 2021
59 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in lodge number 19which is at the end of the park but well worth it for the veiws."
Read full review
Colin Wood wrote a tip May 2021
Durham, United Kingdom328 contributions100 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring first night & breakfast essentials"
Read full review
WaxwingScotland wrote a tip Jan 2019
Arbroath, United Kingdom26 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lower field for better views"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alva area.
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandClackmannanshireAlva
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WOODS CARAVAN PARK - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Woods Caravan Park
Which popular attractions are close to The Woods Caravan Park?
Nearby attractions include Castle Campbell (4.8 miles), Gartmorn Dam Country Park & Nature Reserve (1.7 miles), and Alloa Tower (2.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Woods Caravan Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Woods Caravan Park?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a seating area, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at The Woods Caravan Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Woods Caravan Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Woods Caravan Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Laura's Tilly Tearoom, Muircot Farmshop Coffee Shop, and Bar Aldo's.
Are pets allowed at The Woods Caravan Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Woods Caravan Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alloa Tower (2.1 miles), Sauchie Tower (1.1 miles), and The William Spence Memorial Clock (4.7 miles).
Is The Woods Caravan Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire