We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

Booking.comUS$62*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 69: English reviews
winona
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was a DIRTY rundown hotel. Carpet was stained and filthy. Needs MAJOR upgrades. Tv was analog and kept pausing - streaming. No fan in bathroom. Halls and woodwork in sad shape. Had dusty fake plant in front of broken ice machine. Feel as if I was taken to cleaners. For $110.00 dollars I expected much better. Never again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mnwalleye
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

As I state in other responses, I fully agree with you that our hotel needs updating, but we make every effort to offer the best value in town with the lowest prices without compromising cleanliness or service. I think we accomplish that on a regular basis. If your room did not meet your standards, I do hope you contacted the...

Eisenach, Germany
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was surprized at some of the negative entries here because I had a great stay at the Red Fox last August. After traveling down Route 66 from Chicago to Oklahoma City it was time to head back and I decided to take a northern route due to the weather forcast. So I went through Kansas, Nebraska and crossed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us. While I respect the views of guests who had negative experiences, it is unfortunate that typically those are the ones that guests are motivated to write, and positive reviews aren't always as prominent -- because the guest had an enjoyable stay and went on their way. For...

Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Wallpaper hanging off the wall, stained yellow walls, mold growing on the ceiling, dingy, depressing, dated and overall just horrible. So expensive too, nearly $90 a night for this dump. The bed was cheap, old and uncomfortable. Plus the comforter was not fresh. The ugly thing had hair and old food stuck to it. So gross. The whole room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LiveForTravel13
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am curious if you notified the front desk and asked to be shown other rooms that may have met your standards. If we don't know your dissatisfaction during your stay, we are unable to do everything we can to make things right. With regards to your complaints: We make improvements to the hotel regularly and as often as we...

Reviewed 15 April 2013

Fist of all I do not agree with the previous negative comments. Although the hotel is a bit dated the staffs friendless makes up for it. I had a great experience from calling in and being helped from booking my room, to actual check in. Jake who was working both when I called and showed up knew what he was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luckytraveler6
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

What a wonderful review. I pass every comment on to our staff; comments such as yours are a pleasure to relay. I'm thrilled to know we are the great pick we strive to be. Thank you for taking time to write a review!

Centennial, Colorado
Reviewed 5 April 2013

America’s Best Value Inn & Suites/Red Fox Inn is not only outdated to the point of being aesthetically appalling, it is positively dilapidated. That which was not out rightly broken was in such a state of disrepair that it was a hair’s breadth away from falling apart before our very eyes. Our stay at this establishment can only be described...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kelley C
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I think you know how hard this response must be. I think I best sum up with a heartfelt 'I'm sorry.' I truly am sorry you had a bad exoerience. I did the only thing I could which was to refund your money with our apologies. I would be insincere if I said there was no merit to items in...

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I am away from home in hotels more than I am at home. I am apalled by the hotel and its staff. I was greeted very late by a young man who reeked of marijuana and tried putting me in a room with people that were not in my party, to finally get him to understand who I was with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Melissa T
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Well, this is certainly a very disappointing review, to say the least. This review definitely has my fullest attention, and I assure you I am looking into each item -- starting with the desk clerk. I checked to see who checked you in, and the young man has been in my employ for years now. I have never encountered any...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I was stuck in a snow storm and stayed here. My room was dirty. There were cobwebs with bugs hanging in them, hair all over my bathroom, and toenail clippings on the floor. I barely slept the whole night since the bed was dsoo uncomfortable. I told the front desk about these issues when I checked out and they didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Starlitlove08
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I'm extremely sorry to hear about the issues you had with your room. That is extremely unusual, and I am at a loss. Had you let us know when you got to your room that it was not in proper order, we would have been more than happy to move you to a different room and helped you move your...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Over the holidays, my family all gathered for two-nights at the Red Fox Inn. We were able to book several rooms all next to each other. The hotel is out-dated cosmetically, but we found everything in our room to be in good working order. There was a mini-fridge, microwave, hair dryer, cable TV. Our room was located near the pool-area,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mplsfoode
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

These types of responses make my day! Thank you so much. Please allow us to serve you the next time you're in the Waverly area!

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel is incredibly dated and not very clean. However, the price was very affordable and the staff at the hotel were nice. The price and the staff would not be enough to make me stay there again though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winterfe5
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. While I strive to make every guest a satisfied one, some things are unfortunately beyond my control. We are an older property, but we maintain every room and ensure that you get a great rate. I'm glad the staff treated you well! I do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

Appleton
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed here for four nights while in town for a college reunion. We were surprised to find a mini fridge in the room, which came in handy for keeping drinks cold and for storing fresh fruit and other snacks so that we could eat a light lunch without having to go to a restaurant. Yes, the continental breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J S
ABVIREDFOXINN, General Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

This is the second favorable response I've written related to my Guest Service Representative, Scott Bruns. It's so nice to hear the positives along with the constructive criticisms. I will let Scott know how his professionalism and service skills are making an impact on our clientele. Service is everything. We recently added fruit to our continental breakfast. We do everything...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waverly
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 5 in Waverly
113 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites Waverly, IA
12.8 mi away
The Black Hawk Hotel
The Black Hawk Hotel
#7 of 14 in Cedar Falls
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza
14.5 mi away
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Clarion Inn University Plaza
#10 of 14 in Cedar Falls
136 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 14 in Cedar Falls
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel and Conference Center, with 118 interior corridor rooms. Indoor pool, elevator, game room, restaurant, meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

Address: 1900 Heritage Way, Waverly, IA 50677-9200
Region: United States > Iowa > Waverly
Price Range: £39 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Red Fox Hotel Waverly
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book earlier to get a different hotel.”
kevinsW2367CL, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
funinthesun351112, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“first floor by the lobby and pool”
H1214UXhannahb, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel.”
L1374PMmattm, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Look anywhere else. Your car would be better.”
CherylH120, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$62* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$62
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates