Greenham Hall
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Greenham Hall

Garden view from a room
Traveller (30)
Early morning
Room & Suite (13)
Dining/lounge
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Tue, 28 May
Breakfast included
£132
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£132
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£121
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 2 B&Bs in Greenham
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Enjoy the relaxed informal atmosphere of Greenham Hall, a large Victorian country house close to the Devon/ Somerset border, and a peaceful retreat in a magnificent setting. Soak up the delightful views over the surrounding countryside and unwind. Bed and Breakfast accommodation is available all year round and guests are welcome to spend time in the well-stocked garden.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French
123Reviews0Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 97
  • 18
  • 5
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
PhilChoosy wrote a review Jun 2023
Woking, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent two nights in the spacious family room of this huge Victorian hall which some will consider old fashioned but we loved its slightly quirky old country house style. The owner, Caro, an author, painter and gardener, greeted us with a pot of tea and biscuits and was extremely attentive to all our needs including cooking us a full English breakfast with cereals and fruit. The views from the bedrooms are wonderful and the garden is very large and lovely to walk all around. We wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanne J wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really taken care of whilst staying here. Caro is a lovely host and makes you feel very welcome in her home. She has taken all the necessary precautions to comply with Covid and the house is very spacious to enable social distancing. Beautiful views of countryside. Certainly wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike J wrote a review Sept 2021
Waterlooville, United Kingdom13 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
if you are thinking of booking here don't delay idealistic setting and a lovely host cara. nothing is too much trouble for this lovely lady she is so friendly and helpful and full of information about the area. the rooms are very comfortable and fully equipped tea making etc, the garden is fabulous and so peaceful. thank you for making so welcome and you will be seeing us again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
_ros_allen wrote a review Jul 2023
Loughton, United Kingdom229 contributions82 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely B&B experience with spectacular views! There is much history here, and Caro was very welcoming. She does a good job. We will return when in the area.
The room was very clean, the shower was hot and quite powerful, the bed comfortable and the towels fluffy.
Good breakfast. Free parking.
Old England. Ask Caro the best way to find this lovely place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t be put off by the drive.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen G wrote a review Oct 2022
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom27 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a fantastic 2 night stay at Greenham Hall. Very easy to find thanks to a clear sign at the end of the drive. Very comfotable room and an inredibly friendly and welcoming host. Excellent cooked breakfast and lovely grounds to walk off that breakfast. Would certainly stay again when next in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lutine wrote a review Aug 2008
New York City, New York5 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am honestly dumbfounded by the previous glowing reviews. Greenham Hall is situated on a dirt road next to a pig farm. Although the house is indeed old, the main staircase features a giant black-and-white blow-up photograph of lions, glaringly out of place in a period setting. In a corner of our room was a sink, encased in a hideous plastic vanity. Every surface in the room was COVERED with grimy dust. The freezing cold bathroom was at the end of a corridor. For breakfast we were presented with cereals from cardboard grocery boxes, instant coffee, and tinned orange juice. The owner welcomed us with an extended (and unwanted) history of her life in Africa, completed with a discussion of tribal atrocities. We couldn't wait to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2008
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
historyhunter wrote a review Oct 2009
Petawawa, ontario1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for our honeymoon. We picked it based on the appearance of "castle-like". Indeed the building is beautiful, the gardens are beautiful but the moment you walk in you are over come by the smell of stale urine. It smelled like the home of an old unkept couple who peed themselves. Other problem we had was that we booked for a standard room without an ensuite bath. When we got there we were shown to the room with an ensuite bath. Having stayed at numerous B&B's before we took this to be a complimentary upgrade since we were the only guests there. We thanked the hosts for the room with the ensuite. The next morning when we were leaving the hosts came to us and asked us for the extra 10 pounds payment for the upgrade to the ensuite room. We were shocked but paid it anyways and couldn't wait to get back on the road. Also the host asked us where we were off to next. We told her to Glastonbury Abbey. She told us not to bother as there was nothing to see there but old walls. We stated that we love history and wanted to see it for ourselves and also wanted to see King Arthur's grave. She told us we were wasting our time and not to bother. We thought that this was our honeymoon and not hers. We thought we could make our own plans and go where we wanted to. The breakfast in the am was the usual fare. Scrambled eggs, coffee,. toast, juice and cereals. We have to comment on the scrambled eggs.....bring a straw with you to eat them. Honestly, they were the slimiest, runniest most horrible scrambled eggs we have ever seen. We think that they must have been in the pan for all of 5 seconds.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2009
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GreenhamHall, owner at Greenham Hall
Responded 19 Oct 2009
We are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our home and wish you had spoken to us when you were here. We assumed from your comment in my visitors book that you had enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we had been experiencing problems with a bird’s nest in the chimney for the log burning stove in the hall, and the smell in the house would have been from the smoke and soot caused whilst clearing the chimney on the day you arrived. Happily the problem has been solved. With regard to the request for the en-suite supplement. All our rooms are en-suite and/or have a private bathroom, so when booking confirmations are sent from the agent, it is with the instruction to collect this supplement from standard voucher customers. I am sorry that my suggestion that you visited Dunster and the less crowded and more complete building of Cleeve Abbey, rather than Glastonbury Abbey, upset you. I did not know of your interest in King Arthur. Guests have more often than not found my tips for places to visit helpful, but all advice is of course subjective. Our apologies for your having a less than perfect stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rjames_746375 wrote a review Aug 2016
Evesham, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Greenham Hall is a lovely place that is missing it's true potential. The owner is lively and made to feel very welcome. The room was very comfortable and clean. The gardens were very pretty and made for a wonderful photo that we will keep as a super memory.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alaynek2016 wrote a review Jun 2016
County Dublin, Ireland1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Greenham Hall is a joy: huge and old, it is what every American thinks the UK is like! Our room was charming & very comfortable. Breakfast (English fry!) was delicious. We loved having all the noisy sheep outside our window. All of Caro's suggestions were perfect. Hope to visit again! Thank you Peter & Caro for a lovely visit!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nickdJ2294JO wrote a review Jun 2016
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really nice B & B, very friendly and clean comfortable room. Very interesting hotel with lots of history and stunning grounds and view in very quiet location. Breakfast was adequate and sharing a table with other guests is a good idea
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
_ros_allen wrote a tip Jul 2023
Loughton, United Kingdom229 contributions82 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t be put off by the drive. "
Read full review
amanda430 wrote a tip Jul 2019
Rome, Italy33 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All fabulous "
Read full review
Doug F wrote a tip Aug 2018
Thornbury, United Kingdom578 contributions238 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sit out in the sun room for a while - it is a great location."
Read full review
Karen B wrote a tip Aug 2016
Coventry, England, United Kingdom30 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would ask if you have any mobility issues. Not sure if there is a ground floor room"
Read full review
Jen581 wrote a tip May 2016
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom116 contributions73 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We a very comfortable room overlooking the grounds. We were only there one night but I'm sure all the rooms are just as good."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Greenham area.
PRICE RANGE
£118 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetWellingtonGreenham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GREENHAM HALL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Greenham Hall
Which popular attractions are close to Greenham Hall?
Nearby attractions include The Emporium Somerset (3.8 miles), Coldharbour Mill (5.0 miles), and Wellington Monument (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Greenham Hall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Greenham Hall?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Greenham Hall?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Greenham Hall?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Martlet Inn, Odette's Tearoom, and The Globe Inn Restaurant.
Is Greenham Hall located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Greenham.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Greenham Hall?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Greenham Hall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cothay Manor (0.9 miles) and Culmstock Beacon (3.8 miles).