Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hoopoe Haven Guest House

Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 guest house in Chartwell
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hoopoe Haven Guest House offers secure, affordable three star Bed and Breakfast and AA highly recommended self-catering cottages and luxury tented camps near Fourways. Our Karee Tree Conference Centre and Function Venue can provide world class conference or meeting facilities and small intimate functions from baby showers, to dinners or quiet parties or small weddings of up to 50 people. Hoopoe Haven Guest Lodge is a small and peaceful country guest house, situated in beautiful Chartwell, just behind Broadacres shopping centre, Fourways. It is positioned on 2 acres of landscaped gardens with nearby Horse trails and a beautiful view of the Magaliesburg Mountains. It is a place to relax and unwind in the peace and quiet of the countryside. We offer a wide variety of accommodation offerings namely: • luxury self-catering cottages • Group accommodation • bed and breakfast lodge rooms (B&B) • pet-friendly cottages / rooms • ultra-luxury family tents • budget self catering cottages
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Patio
Water park offsite
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Indoor play area for children
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Pedicure
Waxing services
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Safe
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
189Reviews1Q+A4Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 105
  • 62
  • 16
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
legaboka wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It is located in a quiet and peaceful location, the location also feels secure as there are no frequent movements around. The areas is also closer to shopping centres as well as the high way. The rooms are big enough. Friendly staff
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
_garethfm wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A perfect venue for company conferences or a getaway. the venue is well situated in a quite suburb in JNB with easy access to malls and business districts.
You will be well looked after and your host Tracey will go over and above your requirements.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan J, Manager at Hoopoe Haven Guest House
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Hi Gareth Thank you for the awesome review. We loved having your team stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chenai C wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an event at the Farm 2 Fork restaurant and the preparation and execution quality was beyond our expectations. Tracey, Xolani, Memory, Nyasha and everyone at Farm 2 Fork really put a lot of thought and attention into making the event memorable. All the guests were very happy with the quality of the food, the decor and loved the surroundings. Thanks to everyone for an amazing event!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan Jones, General Manager at Hoopoe Haven Guest House
Responded 6 Dec 2022
You are welcome :-) Thank you for your beautiful review, we would love to have you with us again shortly.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Khotso M wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed the stay. Just a few points to highlight and things to consider in future. Consider a pool. Doesn't have to be a built one, the ones you get at game for the other side of the tents there is enough open space and secluded from the other sides. Try modernize the kitchen and get proper utensils. Your fridges should be maintained as food gets wasted.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan J, Owner at Hoopoe Haven Guest House
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear Guest Thank you kindly for your feedback, we appreciate it in order that we will continue to improve and go from strength to strength. You are correct especially during December we find that the one pool is a bit crowded and we will definitely take into consideration your suggestion. Just on the last point, last month we serviced all our fridges to ensure that they are working well and got a couple of new ones too. :) All the best and hope to see you soon again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cha717 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Property is unkempt.. pictures look very good compared to reality. Terrible wifi
Could not even pick up the signal on my phone! Awful television reception and minimal channel options.
No basic free channels!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan J, Owner at Hoopoe Haven Guest House
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Hi Thank you kindly for your feedback, we appreciate the response so that we can continue to improve. We are sorry that your experience wasn't a good one. To address your concerns we have done the following: 1. We have hired additional staff to assist with mowing and weeding after our main lawnmower was in for repairs for over 2 months. 2. We have tweaked our wifi system in order that the luxury tent that you were in which is at the end of the line gets a descent signal. 3. We have replaced our booster in order to ensure that the TV reception is of good quality. We shall make every effort to be the home away from home that people know us for. Warm regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lmathila wrote a review Dec 2021
Westonaria, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved the tents more than the main house. Unfortunately the gardener seemed like he was cutting trees or flowers during the day and forgot to tidy up. The girls had to move them on the way so we can pass. The swimming pool was too small and we were sharing with other people from the guest house.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
890mat wrote a review Mar 2023
Hillcrest, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful stay with extremely accommodating hostess. Clean, tidy and appropriate amenities. Comfortable bed and great food! I can thoroughly recommend this venue if you're travelling on business or for pleasure and in the northern areas of Jo'burg.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mmodib622895 wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay on new years eve,kids had a great time playing.They are per friendly, next time we are tagging our dogs. The place is easily accessible surrounded by different places of attraction
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alan J, Owner at Hoopoe Haven Guest House
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Hi Thanks you kindly, and we loved having you here to see in the new year with us and look forward to seeing you and meeting your other members of the family again in the not too distant future. :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raiyn S wrote a review Oct 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can now say that I have been glamping, It was such an amazing experience and the luxury tents has such a calming vibe to it. Tracey is such a kind and caring person and made me feel at home when I arrived, and I was greeted by the fluffiest cat ever so that was a big plus. They whole staff were so friendly and accommodating and overall my experience was a 10/10. Would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SorensodDK wrote a review Feb 2024
Slagelse, Denmark36 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As soon as we arrive at Hoopoe Heaven Guest House we felt safe and at home. Everything met our expectations. Tracey and James have to be the best hosts in the area. So friendly and helpful. We made some new friends. Don't cheat yourself for a stay here. A must visit place in a very quiet area. We'll be back
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PamBurton wrote a tip Feb 2016
Cape Town Central, South Africa36 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms good"
Read full review
Marianne C wrote a tip Jul 2015
Perth, Australia9 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our thatched cottage was perfect!"
Read full review
ClaudieFerreira wrote a tip Jul 2015
Melbourne, Australia324 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is a guest house, NOT a hotel. Great for friends, no privacy if youre in a relationship, unless you stay two per unit only."
Read full review
Mpho S wrote a tip May 2015
Sandton, South Africa5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Country living in the city"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chartwell area.
PRICE RANGE
£30 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgChartwell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOOPOE HAVEN GUEST HOUSE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hoopoe Haven Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Hoopoe Haven Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Montecasino (3.7 miles), Monte Casino (4.5 miles), and Fourways Farmers Market (10.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hoopoe Haven Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Hoopoe Haven Guest House?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hoopoe Haven Guest House?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hoopoe Haven Guest House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hoopoe Haven Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe del Sol Classico, Mythos Design Quarter, and Murphy's Local Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hoopoe Haven Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hoopoe Haven Guest House have airport transportation?
Yes, Hoopoe Haven Guest House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hoopoe Haven Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Chartwell.
Are pets allowed at Hoopoe Haven Guest House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hoopoe Haven Guest House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.