We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Weatherby's

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake Stream
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Weatherby\\
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Weatherby's
See the most recent reviews
Showing 50: English reviews
Michigan, United States
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We found Weatherby's by looking at all the great reviews online. My husband and I went here for a trip while we were in Maine. Our guide was phenomenal, his name was Mike and he was a joy to talk with, patient and very knowledgable. Accommodations were as expected for an older camp nothing spectacular but not bad, quaint for...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Ck89Anonymous
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My intentions when writing this review were to make a list of the positives and negatives, but honestly, I couldn’t come up with a negative. My husband and I were looking to have a romantic weekend away, learn to fly fishing and spend some quality time alone. We did all of that. The cabin we stayed in was adorable, rustic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kammy117
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have been coming to Weatherby's for years. It great if you love to fish. Not much else to do in Grand Lake Stream! The accommodations and food are excellent. We always do the America plan and have never been disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
Belgrade
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We love to fish and fish we did:). Caught several nice Salmon and many beautiful Small Mouth Bass. Accommodations were superb. Comfortable beds and delicious food. We had the privilege of having the owner as our fishing guide. Delicious shore lunch and excellent fishing opportunities!!! Jeff... You're amazing. Your patience and humor made our experience one that we will remember...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BassMaster79
Searsmont, Maine
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was there as a companion to a fisherman. The fishing was delightful for my friend who caught a decent number of land locked salmon. Clearly this has been a grand place to stay in the past, a great history. I found the food and accommodation disappointing. We were greeted by a very friendly young Romanian who immediately offered us...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Shelagh D
jmcevoy, Owner at Weatherby's, responded to this review

We are glad to know your friend enjoyed fishing for land-locked salmon with one of our hardworking Maine fishing guides. We pride ourselves on providing memorable fishing trips to Grand Lake Stream. We are sorry to learn you were displeased with the meals and accommodations. We truly appreciate letting us know your specific concerns and will address them immediately. As...

Crieff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent fishing guide, could not fault his professionalism and ability to put you over fish. Food, sadly average to poor considering the price charged. Same comment could be made about the rooms as well. The staff were helpful, the owner could have been a little more welcoming. Location of course is stunning and the place is steeped in fishing and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William H
jmcevoy, Owner at Weatherby's, responded to this review

We are glad to know you enjoyed your day on the water with one of our hardworking Maine fishing guides and please to know our staff was helpful. We pride ourselves on providing memorable fishing trips to Grand Lake Stream. We are sorry to learn you were displeased with the meals and accommodations. As an older facility, we face many...

Bethel, Maine
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This traditional Maine sporting camp has something for everyone. Calling it a sporting camp isn't complete. You wouldn't be wrong if you called it a wilderness lodge for the whole family or a summer vacation place on the water. You don't need to hunt or fish to enjoy Weatherby's. If you are interested in a sporting camp Weatherby's certainly qualifies....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevin w
West Palm Beach, FL
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Fish in the stream or on the lakes during the day and relax with a fire in your cabin at night. Enjoy excellent meals with fellow fishermen. My son and I loved the Maine wilderness on our second trip together to Weatherby's. Looking forward to our next trip.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil O
Red Bank, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My son Scott and I first came to Weaterby's Lodge when he was 8 years old. He is now 43 and we have been back every year since with just a couple of misses. First, the fishing is great! There are great guides, unforgettable campfire lunches, moose, bald headed eagles, occasional bear. The lakes are beautiful and most of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
League City, Texas
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Let me start by saying everything about Weatherby's is better than advertised and exceeded every expectation by a huge margin. My 12 yr old son and I do a father-son trip every year. We alternate educational and adventure trips. The previous summer we went to Washington DC, so this year we took our adventure trip and chose Weatherby's Lodge in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlvinUSC

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
4:45
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Weatherby's

Address: Grand Lake Stream, ME 04637
Region: United States > Maine > Grand Lake Stream
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Weatherby`s Hotel Grand Lake Stream
Weatherby's Maine/Grand Lake Stream
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Weatherby's staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins are rustic, the way they should be...”
davidcI441CQ, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Cabins have excellent fire places to warm the body and soul on cold nights after a day's fishing.”
philo151, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Wifi is at the lodge.”
SusanR849, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Trust Jeff to put you and your party in the best cabin. If you have any special needs let him know”
N9090KSdavidd, 26 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ask Frank or Jeff which room best fits your group's needs. They love answering questions and want nothing more than to make your stay perfect.”
AlvinUSC, 10 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5