We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

American Inn of Bethesda

Visit hotel website
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (19)
Video (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A delight to come home to, our Maryland hotel is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Spacious and well-appointed with modern decor, our Bethesda hotel rooms are equipped with work desks, blackout drapes, premium cable television channels, clock radio, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, multi-line telephones and large in-room laptop safes. Free local calls and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service (Wi-Fi) are provided in all of our accommodations to keep you connected on the go. We offer two different buildings to stay in, and a mini-fridge and rollaway beds are also available upon request.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Golf course
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
89Good for walkers
Grade: 89 out of 100
94Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
346Reviews
53Photos
3Q+A
60Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 95
  • 112
  • 60
  • 35
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cheap is the word that comes to your mind when you get in through the door. An incredibly slow receptionist who took quite a while trying to get the keys generally check me in. They had one poor elderly guy who was doing everything for them. Don’t ever go to room 116. It is
Read more
Had to visit Bethesda for a family emergency. I just needed a place to sleep and have breakfast. With a queen bed the rooms in the original hotel section are tight. My room was clean and serviced daily. Uber’s are plentiful. Many good restaurants within walking distance.
Read more
This hotel is old and in need of refurbishing. The room was small and had little space other than the queen sized bed. The bathroom door had scratches and stains. Carpet was dirty and the bed uncomfortable. The heating unit was so loud it kept us up all night. Worse, the
Read more
Response from Brandon B, Director of Sales at American Inn of Bethesda
Responded 15 Jan 2019
Hi, It's always our plan to offer every guest the best best product possible. We want you to to be satisfied with your stay. Please consider give us another chance. If you have any questions please contact the hotel directly requesting your past stay.
Read more
The only positive of this hotel is the location. The website photos are not reality. The rooms were dated, dirty and extremely small. We were sent to what they call the South Wing which is outdoor rooms. No indoor hallways, garbage left outside our room and in the lobby was a
Read more
Response from Minoli M, Sales Manager at American Inn of Bethesda
Responded 2 Jan 2019
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay due to the location of your rooms in the south wing. Please do consider giving us a second chance and you can request room placement in the main tower. We hope you enjoyed other value added options such as complimentary breakfast.
Read more
Room smelled so bad, we needed to wash all our clothes, even coats after stay! Bed sheets had bloody spots on them! Would not stay even for free next time . Mold in the bathroom. Yuk! Stay away from this place!
Read more
Response from Minoli M, sales manager at American Inn of Bethesda
Responded 12 Nov 2018
We are very to sorry to hear about the experience in the hotel and want to assure you that this is not the norm. We have taken this review to our operations management team who will investigate the issues further.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Room
Bed bug bites on my arm
Bed bug in the bed
t.v. and stand
gross pill on floor
PreviousNext
1234
Around 10 minutes. On weekdays, there is a morning drop to the subway station every 15-20 minutes. Ask at the hotel desk.
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you allow dogs?
I think they do ,but I would call the hotel directly.
0 votes
The hotel expanded at one time - the 'regular' rooms are in the original taller multi-level building, having interior hallway entrances. The rooms of the 'south wing' are part of a 2-level structure, each having its own outside entryway. The layout and amenities should be equivalent.
0 votes
"Find another hotel"
"There are no good rooms. This place is horrible."
"Don't stay here"
"Very nice view on 2nd floor."
"bigger rooms"
PreviousNext
12345612
PRICE RANGE
US$108 - US$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
american inn of bethesda hotel bethesdaamerican hotel bethesda
LOCATION
United StatesMarylandBethesda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing