We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Five Gables Inn & Spa

Hotwire.comUS$281*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$281*
US$281*
US$281*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Five Gables Inn & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Five Gables Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 205: English reviews
Sidcup
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Whilst the accommodation was excellent, the Inn is actually 3 separate buildings, with the reception, pool and spa being in one building, along with rooms, and two other buildings close by housing the other rooms, and the dining room for breakfast. The front desk staff were not overly helpful and there didn't seem to be an inn keeper as such....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JOD1501
North Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and I were looking for a last second get-a-way for Labor Day, didn't want to fight crowds and traffic for the DE beaches so found this gem of a property. St. Michael's itself was busy but still quiet, great food and activity, we packed our own bikes but the inn has some for use as well. We scheduled...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jonathan M
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind review. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Five Gables Inn & Spa in the near future!

Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay over labor day weekend. All of the staff we met were nice. Our room (2 in main building, ground floor) was a little "sticky" but nothing to complain about. The king bed however, could use some work. Our king was actually 2 twins pushed together with a mattress pad. Once again, not a big deal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shexe
new jersey
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Midweek stay and "summer special." Room was charming and clean and a nice size in comparison to other B&Bs were I have stayed. Loved the terry bathrobes and slippers. The bathroom was a nice size, although I did use it, there was a jetted tub, as well. The breakfast was a bit unusual for a B&B, but I liked it....served...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank love2travel415
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time. Thank you for giving us a nice review. We look forward to seeing you again and welcoming your husband!

Martinsburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Midweek stay. Room was clean but small. Had to ask to have room serviced (cleaned) on day two. Office staff was helpful and friendly. Pool need a bit of maintenance! Room faced busy street making it difficult to relax. You can hear other occupants clearly from other rooms and from the lobby of the Brick House. Would choose different lodging...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tattieann
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to visit TripAdvisor and writing a review. We appreciate all comments that will help us improve our property and hospitality.

Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay at the Five Gables, very close to shopping and the marina. We enjoyed the spa treatment and got some needed rest. The continental breakfast was great.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katherine V
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Five Gables Inn & Spa. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come back and visit us again soon.

manhattan beach, ca
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the Five Gables for our mini vacation for the last two years. It is always great and enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank m t
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

It's always wonderful to welcome back our frequent guests! Thank you for your loyalty!

Tucson, AZ
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The property is nicely designed and maintained. Our room was well-furnished but small for the price (about $300/night). Although we didn't use it there is an indoor pool and spa, a significant attraction for a winter visit to the Eastern Shore. The Inn is convenient to shops and restaurants in St. Michaels and to the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DAGTucson
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to visit TripAdvisor and write a review of Five Gables Inn & Spa. We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay.

Seaford, Delaware
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Arrived June 5th for an anniversary get away. Lovely facility, very clean and comfortable. Our room was in the Main House (which also contains the pool & spa). It was very nice being within walking distance of everything in St. Michaels. Nice time of year to go as later in the summer the town is overrun with tourists!! Very quiet,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank als1328
Management response:

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back to Five Gables Inn & Spa in the near future. Thank You!

Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife and I visited from Fairfax, VA for a nearby getaway. The suite, 56, was in a building across the street yet still nice, Unfortunately the view overlooked the back parking lot. What really surprised me was the $100 I had to pay for 'a guest' in addition to the $295 weekend rate. I've never considered my spouse a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jeff S
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Five Gables Inn & Spa. We believe you are mistaken at the "Guest" charge. The rate for Suite 56 and all suites for a Saturday night is $395, which is what you paid for you and your wife. We only charge an extra fee if there are more than...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Michaels hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
1.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#5 of 13 in St. Michaels
411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in St. Michaels
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the picturesque Chesapeake Bay village of St Michaels, Five Gables Inn & Spa blends historic charm and warmth with a luxury spa experience. Accommodations include spa tubs and fireplaces and are complemented by the inn's indoor pool, sauna and steam room, generous amenities, a gracious a truly helpful staff and a superb location. Our meeting room is a great place to hold executive retreats and company meetings. The on-site spa is open daily and offers a full range of relaxing treatments featuring Aveda products and skillful professionals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Five Gables Inn & Spa

Address: 209 N Talbot St, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2103
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Price Range: £196 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Five Gables Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Five Gables Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Gables Inn & Spa
Five Gables Hotel St. Michaels
Five Gables Inn And Spa
Five Gables Inn & Spa St. Michaels, Maryland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Five Gables Inn & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Five Gables Inn & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A microwave would be a nice extra.”
lynnr744, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We like the room with a balcony. Great for watching the parade and for morning coffee and evening drinks.”
frankm967, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All first floor units in the main building are positioned in the rear and thus away from street traffic.”
cherokee58, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Brick House room with a balcony”
Nutmeg863, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“It's quieter staying next door to the breakfast building rather than in the main building.”
prafe, 2 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$281* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$281
TripAdvisorUS$281
TravelocityUS$281
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates