Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel

232 Main Rd, Derwent Park, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7009 Australia
Seniors Plum Pudding - Delicious - $2
Traveller (9)
Studio King
Room & Suite (17)
Seniors Curried Cauliflower Soup - very yummy - $2 add on
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#1 of 1 inn in Derwent Park
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Wine / champagne
Billiards
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

232 Main Rd, Derwent Park, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7009 Australia
106Reviews0Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 41
  • 18
  • 10
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TassTraveller38 wrote a review Jan 2015
Hobart, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here a while back but now here for work. I must say I do enjoy it here. I know the rooms are a bit small but are very clean and cheap. It's a pity they don't have a WIFI but the girl at checkin desk said it was coming either Jan or Feb, that's good for my next trip. Had a meal again very nice. They are in the middle of painting some areas, good idea as the colour they have now it's a bit average. Until my next work trip.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TassTraveller38 wrote a review Aug 2014
Hobart, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a few nights and was surprised how good the room was. It's not 4 or 5 star but it's a pub and room was great for what I needed and paid for. Had a few meals in the bistro and were fantastic. Had Foxtel in my room and good heater for the cold tassie weather. Staff friendly and helpful and would go back again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BplusH wrote a review Feb 2019
Melbourne, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Chose this hotel as we were hiring a car thus proximity to the CBD wasn't really an issue.
First of all, a thank you to the staff, they kept the hotel open for us even though our flight was late getting in (note to others this isn't a 24 hour check in place).
The photos you see on here are largely of the front suite and not the actual room.
The actual room though was fairly good, bed was comfy, room retained heat well and I was really surprised at how sound proof it was-there was a party on one night but the door between it and the rooms stopped the sound damn well. The reverse cycle air conditioner was good, the TV was a little small, weirdly the bathroom sink was in the room rather than the bathroom, the shower was strong if a little unsymmetrical in water flow, there was only a soap/shampoo mix not separate of each and I don't think there was a safe.
A surprising highlight was breakfast, they supply you with these breakfast boxes which you can put in your room fridge and that fully contain all you need for breakfast=food, drinks & cutlery. They are not small boxes either (filling) and there are different types available=we loved these boxes.

One big thing I would say though is that we:
1. Didn't formally eat here=the meals looked average
2. Noticed on the fireplan how some of the rooms are much smaller/smaller bathrooms than ours=ask for a big room if you can.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a big room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlyle H, Manager at Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel
Responded 18 Feb 2019
Thank you for your review, Our TV have just been upgraded to 40 inch regards Andrew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pauline G wrote a review Jun 2015
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a table for a lunchtime birthday party. Orders were placed all at once and we waited for our meals. We watched numerous other people walk in, choose a table, order and receive their meals whilst we still waited. After almost 2 hours, my father in law complained about the wait and was informed they were short staffed but would find out where our meals were. They returned and told us it would be 7 minutes until we'd be served. My father in law left. It was his birthday lunch and he's diabetic, he couldn't wait anymore. Our meals then arrived half an hour later and the quality was disgraceful. Over cooked parmigiana, chips that varied in temperature from really hot to cold, undercooked rice and chewy prawns, burgers that had dry stale tasting rolls and rubbery scallops. The manager was apologetic when approached and informed us there were no staff shortages at all and that they would reimburse 'some costs'. We received 2 meals free and vouchers for another meal. It was a poor experience and spoilt what shouldve been a happy occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlyle H, Manager at Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel
Responded 12 Sept 2015
Thank you Pauline G for your feedback. I am sorry that your father's birthday was not as you had planned. We had 70 people walk in during lunch without a booking which we had not rostered for. This did cause a bit of delay with the service to our guests in the bistro. The gentleman who spoke to the manager on duty was informed of this and understood the situation. His and your father's meals were refunded and $100 voucher was given to apologise for the day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashley E wrote a review Apr 2019
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel rooms have recently been renovated and are clean, fresh and functional. The beds are unbelievably comfortable. Despite its location above a bar, there is no noise. The staff are unbelievably accommodating, a special mention to Andrew and Peter for ensuring that we were accommodated for in every way, their service alone will give me enough to recommend this establishment to any visiting party. The hotel is well priced and exceeds all of the reasonable expectations. We will return. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlyle H, Manager at Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel
Responded 24 Apr 2019
Thank you for your review Ashley. Kind regards Carlyle Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MelbournEspresso wrote a review Dec 2018
Brisbane, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 3 nights here .
Room was very clean.
A window to open for fresh air.
Air -con was modern.
Very comfortable kind size bed.
Complimentary breakfast each day.
Walls are thick and even though there was a band playing, we couldn’t hear a thing. Extra quiet because there were few or no other guests.
Right next door to bus interchange.
Walking distance to Moonah shops.
We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlyle H, Manager at Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel
Responded 7 Jan 2019
Thank you for your review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gibbs Family 4 wrote a review Mar 2018
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Basic 2 single bed room with a separate bath/shower & Toilet. It was clean, tidy and the staff were exceptional. the breakfast box was pretty cool too. The Dinner downstairs at the bistro was really good and well priced. Saturday night was a little louder than usual, because of the night life, but overall a really good experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlyle H, Manager at Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel
Responded 26 Mar 2018
Hi mgibbs90, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and you were happy with the standard of customer service you received. We do hope to see you visit us again. Regards Courtney Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dell1264 wrote a review Jun 2016
Devonport, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival, I was asked for photo ID, then a credit card, I produced my Debit card which I have used I this situation forever, only to be told it was unacceptable.... $200 cash bond on the room.... Nothing of this on the webpage.
No offer to help with luggage up quite a set of stairs.
Even though I had rang earlier in the afternoon to let them know we wouldn't arrive till after 8pm, after a 3hr drive we found our room absolutely ice cold.
By 11pm, there were hooligans running up & down the hall, which has auto-lighting & this went on & off all night, which we could see as the door doesn't seem to have any seal around it. They were slamming doors, each time a door opened or closed our door would rattle, they hit the walls & doors, yelling, screaming, laughing. Our view from our room was the flat roof of the hotel...... These idiots then climbed out their windows & were running all over the roof, drinking & smoking. You can imagine the racket.
By 4am we had to listen to someone vomitting for a hour, 5.30am people in the hall again & someone was trying their key in our door.......
Throughout all this, I was scared for my safety to go downstairs & complain, also there was no phone in the room to contact reception.
By 7am all was quiet, I looked out the window to see empty alcohol bottles & cig butts everywhere.... We left at 8.30am after no sleep & I made sure I slammed the door as hard as I could. Had to walk past empties in the hall too.
Downstairs I met a man at reception who was much more pleasant than the girl the night before, he asked how I was...... So I told him I needed sleep, he asked if they were a little rowdy up there last night....? I told him to check the roof.... I told him it all !
Then I asked for my $200 room deposit, he asked me for a receipt which the girl didn't give me, luckily I had the eftpos receipt !! He gave it back without even getting the room checked to see if we had left any damage! So really if they aren't going to check they should never demand the $200 in the first place ! That is so wrong.
He apologised & asked me if he could do anything for us...... I told him it was too late, but please let your management know in a formal complaint of all this, because I definitely cannot recommend this as a place to stay, to which he replied 'fair call' & asked if they had my contact details, to which I replied you have it all.
I have not yet heard from them.
They need someone at management level to spend a fri or sat night upstairs & experience the noise level. Soundproofing the doors better would help & fix the windows so they don't open right up & they can't get out on the roof. All round it's quite deceiving how this hotel comes across in photos, bedding was very clean, but bathroom needs a bit of attention, door doesn't close, & the cleaners shouldn't clean the crockery with the dirty towels, leaving someone's whiskers on the saucer !
I know when all said & done this is a 'pub', but I paid $90 for a night of hell.
The next night we stayed over the road at 'Martin Cash Motel' $88 perfectly quiet, more facilities in the room & that included breakfast !!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ALHGroup, General Manager at Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel
Responded 8 Jun 2016
Dear Dell1264, Thank you very much for your review. We are extremely disappointed that guests in the rooms around you acted totally inappropriately. We do not normally experience this behavior from our guests. In light of your feedback we will be inserting our Venue Managers contact details in the compendium to ensure if this behavior happens again our guest can contact the Venue Manager. The Venue Manager will then arrange a staff member to address this situation before it escalated to the level you experienced. We are in the process of having our web sites updated with an explanation about providing a credit card or $200 cash deposit upon check in to inform our guests. We also appreciated your comments about the lighting issues. We are currently in the process of major renovations to the accommodation rooms. We have renovated half of our rooms so far. We have taken your comments on board about seals around the door and securing windows to prevent people climbing out to roof top. We will be implanting strategies for the remaining rooms that require renovating and revisit our renovated rooms. Warmest regards, Susan Morris - Venue Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mel L wrote a review Oct 2015
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I this is a great place to get together with family and friends. Excellent service staff are very well manned and aren't rude. The food is delicious and you get what you pay for. Also if you have children they can be entertained by their playground equipment whilst you eat. If your on a budget and want a great meal this is the place to go!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlyle H, Manager at Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel
Responded 31 Oct 2015
Hello Mel L, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am happy you enjoyed your experience with us and everything was to your liking. Hope to see you soon. Courtney Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TassTraveller38 wrote a review Sept 2015
Hobart, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed here for work many times. They are in the process of fixing their rooms up. I stayed in one of the new ones and I was impressed. It has a desk so I could do some of my work, they have moved the glasses and cups away from sink and put them on a shelf and finally have Free WiFi. I will enjoy coming back here more, good room for a good price. Well done to the new Manager.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: First 2 rooms each side have baths
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlyle H, Manager at Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel
Responded 20 Sept 2015
Thank you for your feedback. Hope to see you again soon. Courtney Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Graham B wrote a tip Mar 2024
Gladstone, Australia7 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check before you book."
Read full review
BplusH wrote a tip Feb 2019
Melbourne, Australia19 contributions22 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a big room."
Read full review
missmuffettwo wrote a tip Feb 2017
Sydney, Australia9 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms towards main road quieter in evenings due to live entertainment downstairs"
Read full review
John G wrote a tip Feb 2017
Mornington Peninsula, Australia40 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Does have road noise but not after 8am and does not start before 7.30pm"
Read full review
sharee1964 wrote a tip Feb 2017
Birdwood, Australia10 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Noisy on a Friday or Saturday night"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Derwent Park area.
PRICE RANGE
£56 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaGreater HobartGlenorchyDerwent Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NIGHTCAP AT CARLYLE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bounceinc (0.2 miles), Moonah Arts Centre (0.7 miles), and Woody's Skate & Play (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sault Cafe & Restaurant, Kawasemi Japanese Tea House, and Kala Thai.
Is Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Derwent Park.
Does Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Nightcap at Carlyle Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Runnymede (1.5 miles), Constitution Dock (3.5 miles), and Cascades Female Factory Historic Site (3.9 miles).