We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

755 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 704: English reviews
Albany, New York
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We checked in on a Friday night front desk staff was very friendly. Our room was on 12th floor overlooking the Mass Pike.The room was clean and comfortable with King sized bed and couch. Nice Vizio flat screen. Air conditioner worked well and we did not have any highway noise. The lobby bar was dated and unwelcoming it reminded me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackroddy
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We needed a location convenient to Newton-Wellesley Hospital for an early morning appointment. This was perfect: the staff was friendly and courteous, the room was large, well appointed, clean, and quite pleasant. I had driven the Mass pike many times and often wondered how this hotel, built directly over the Mass pike, could insulate rooms form road noise; the answer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amerazor
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I have stayed in this hotel periodically for a few years when travelling to Boston. The renovations are handsome, rooms are neither cluttered nor bare. Clean as always, this is a great location to jump right on the Mass Turnpike and arrive in Boston in a matter of minutes. The staff is a huge upgrade from years past. Management and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda5000
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This hotel is built over a freeway. I am on the tenth floor and the noise is unbelievably bad. If the traffic doesn't keep you from sleeping the noisy air conditioner will. The room smells like mildew . The wi fi constantly requires you to reboot your iPad. The pillows are very uncomfortable. For what this hotel offers it is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Martacus
Management response:

Dear Martacus, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and for staying with us. I am sorry to hear that your room accommodations were not 100% satisfactory. I do apologize for the experience you had due to the outside noises. Your comments are truly valuable as this will help us improve our hotel for our next guest...

Redruth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The hotel is pleasant enough but nothing can compensate for the noise of the freeway and the shaking of the hotel when heavy vehicles pass underneath. The whole experience was miserable.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MichaelACox
Management response:

Dear MichaelACox, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so pleased that you found our hotel pleasant enough during your stay. Kindly accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience and discomfort you experienced by the outside noises. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I spent two nights there. They only have a bar that doubles as a restaurant. The original restaurant is closed. There is no executive lounge any more. The lobby is dreary. Good neighborhood, though. Lots of good restaurants. Location on top of a major highway is "unique" but noisy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikel12323
Management response:

Dear mikel12323, Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. We are pleased you liked the unique location of our hotel. We are deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This hotel certainly is "uniquely situated". Directly on top of I-90, the Crowne Plaza offers very nice rooms and an excellent breakfast with the potential for a serious sleep disturbance liability. I, however, did not experience a problem in the two nights I stayed. Perhaps it was because I was on the 12th floor, but I did not have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank phiNole
Palo Alto, California
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel website is not lying when it claims the hotel is "uniquely situated": it's actually on top of interstate highway 90 and a railroad! You can imagine how noisy it is the whole night. I don't understand why people chose this location to build this 12-story hotel. It is the worst ever hotel I have stayed in my whole...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 10K_MILES_10K_BOOKS
Management response:

Dear 10K_MILES_10K_BOOKS, Thank you for the candid review of our property as this will guide us in making the right decisions. It is unfortunate that you were disturbed by the outside noise. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. Sincerely, Irish V. Case Manager IHG Care

Los Angeles
Reviewed 7 May 2012

1 a quite nite of sleep and 2. Wifi. The crowne plaza failed on both items to begin with the hotel is directly over the interstate. The noise is unbelivable I'm of to a Starbucks now to do some work because after spending 45 mins. And speaking with the front desk the Internet seems to be down. Avoid

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank deb1267
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear deb1267, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry for any inconvenience the outside noise caused you. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. If there is anything we can do to...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The hotel was very ordinary -- just a place to sleep. The building itself is old and tired even though they have given rooms a facelift with new sheets, flat screen TVs. So it's comfortable, but nothing special. Wifi is extra $$ though they have a couple of computers that you can use for free in the lobby. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ALTippet
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ALTippet, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the hotel location and the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. If there is...

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I did not have a problem with noise being on the 3rd floor. Perhaps there or above”
 of 5 bubbles riggaram, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for top floor away from highway noise”
 of 5 bubbles AKW52245, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms that not right over the expressway”
 of 5 bubbles 527SharonG527, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Views abound from any side but I prefer one NOT looking directly at the Mass Pike”
 of 5 bubbles Lafemmegiselle, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles Sundrop110, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5