We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Seafarer Inn

Traveller (90)
360
Panoramas (25)
Dining (6)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A casual, charming home by the sea... The inn featurs a front porch with ocean views and a koi pond surrounded by adarondack chairs on a pebble beach. Plenty of places to sit, relax and watch the boats, breathe in the salt air, and listen to the waves. Every room has an ocean view and private bathroom. Amenities include AC, TV, refrigerator, hair dryer. All but one (Loblolly Cove) room have electric fireplaces. Walk a few steps to historic Straitsmouth Cove, and explore tide pools or relax on the sand by the water. We are happy to lend you a beach chair! Explore beautiful Rockport, a quaint seaside village with lots to see and do. Start by walking Old Garden Path along the ocean to Old Garden Beach and then to the Headlands for an unforgettable view of Sandy Bay. Stroll to charming Bearskin Neck and visit art galleries, quaint shops, restaurants, churches, and historic architecture. Visit the Rockport Art Association and attend a concert at the Shalin Liu Performance Center, home of Rockport Music's world-famous Chamber Music Festival. Whatever you plan on doing during your visit, we hope you stay with us at The Seafarer Inn.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Public Wifi
Room features
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
HOTEL CLASS
259Reviews
316Photos
8Q+A
70Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 217
  • 33
  • 6
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were fortunate to get a front row seat (from our window) of the magnificant power of the ocean as a coastal storm was receding..the waves against the rocks were amazing! This was our second visit to this charming Inn and we found it just as accomodating and comfortable as the
Read more
We stayed in a second floor suite with bedroom and sitting room separated by a bathroom. Gorgeous views out all windows, nice area for long walks near the ocean, quick drive to town. Hosts were very welcoming, available without being obtrusive. Breakfast was a combination hot
Read more
Me and my girlfriend came up for Halloween looking for a place by the ocean to stay a few nights and were not disappointed. From the big bedroom with a stand up shower to the availability of fresh fruit and snacks to the absolute gorgeous view from the porch, everything was in
Read more
Can’t beat the location of the house with nearby coastal walks immediately out the front door. Room and bathroom were clean but basic. Breakfast is self serve, plentiful and similar in quality to chain hotel buffet breakfasts. Ambience is casual and a bit impersonal. Appreciated
Read more
Response from Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn
Responded 3 Nov 2018
Thank you for the review and for staying with us. We can't help but wonder if you booked the wrong place as it seems you were looking for a different style of home. If you are looking for a plated, served breakfast, I can recommend four or five wonderful inns in Rockport that offer table service of incomparable breakfasts. However, we don't do that. We offer a breakfast buffet featuring one savory and one sweet entre, bacon and sausage, fresh fruit, our Seafarer yogurt parfait bar with assorted toppings like coconut, walnuts, chocolate chips, sunflower seeds and more, and always, a variety of juices, breads for toast, a coffee cake, cereals and milk, a selection of coffees and teas. We don't like alarm clocks and seating times when we travel, so we organize our breakfast service the way we would like it ourselves. Yes, our ambiance is casual. Our description is "a casual, comfortable home by the sea." We want our guests to feel relaxed and at home, like they are visiting the family beach house. We hope you return to Rockport soon, and that you find a more formal home to stay in. I am happy to recommend several.
Read more
Just finished our New England fall vacation with a stay at the Seafarer Inn in Rockport. We were completely satisfied with every aspect of our stay here and highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a very inviting and charming location with a scenic view of the ocean. The
Read more
Response from Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn
Responded 3 Nov 2018
Thank you for the wonderful review! You were on the third floor. We have two third floor rooms that include coffee machines. The first and second floor rooms do not have individual coffee machines, however, the machine in the breakfast room is always available. We hope you visit us again next time you find yourself in New England.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Seafarer Inn
The Old Garden at The Seafarer Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Seafarer Inn
The Long Beach at The Seafarer Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Seafarer Inn
The Front & Back Beach Suite at The Seafarer Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Seafarer Inn
The Cape Hedge at The Seafarer Inn
Photo provided by managementThe Seafarer Inn
Long Beach room view
PreviousNext
12345635
We saw one teenager staying with his parents while we were there but no other children. I agree with the previous posts in that you should contact the owners directly. It was indeed a gorgeous place and location. Ditch the children and spend a romantic weekend there...
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes, there is enough parking to accommodate an extra car. See you then!
0 votes
Show all answers
All of our rooms have private bathrooms. Only one, the Loblolly Cove Room, has a non-attached bathroom. It is private, never shared, but it is down the hall from the bedroom. All the other rooms have ensuite bathrooms. We hope to see you in October!
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello, We are 50 minutes from Logan Airport depending on traffic. We are 1 mile to all the shops and restaurants in Rockport. most of the walk is along the ocean. We have bistro tables inside the breakfast room that looks out over the ocean and we have individual tables outside also. There is One table inside that can seat a group or family of 8. I hope this helps. Chris
1 vote
Hi. I'm the owner of the Seafarer Inn. We can't accommodate dogs, I'm afraid. Our inn is generally suited to older guests because we have stairs and a koi pond and we do not have a pool. However, we have had happy children here many times. We have two room suite that has a queen bed in one room and a full size sofa bed in the other. It works for families with small children. (The Front and Back Beach suite.) September is beautiful in Rockport. Whether you choose to stay with us, or another inn in Rockport, we hope you find the perfect spot.
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"Rooms are quiet...no street noise to worry about' just the waves!"
"Any room there is nice but recommend first floor room near dining area."
"Excellent views from third floor rooms with manageable stairs"
"All have views. If climbing stairs are an issue, one room is on the ground floor, but all others are one or two levels up."
"Ask for top floor and 2 bedroom with your own bathroom"
PreviousNext
12345614
PRICE RANGE
US$134 - US$279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the seafarer hotel
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsCape AnnRockport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing