We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

1896 House - Barnside Inn

Groupon.comUS$77*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
1896 House - Barnside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for 1896 House - Barnside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Reviewed 11 August 2016

This was our second visit to the 1896 House. We stayed in one of the suites, very roomy and elegant, with a jacuzzi in the bathroom, a fireplace, a king-size bed and (best of all) a porch of wicker furniture. You can hear the brook bubbling nearby as you relax on the porch. Breakfast is served in a unit at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Betty C
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy that you returned to visit us! It is great to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities that the suites have to offer, and that you spent time relaxing outside by the brook. The breakfast chef prepares a different meal each day for our guests, and she will be delighted to hear the compliments that...

Hoosick Falls, New York
Reviewed 26 July 2016

To begin our stay we checked in and the amazing customer service of the front desk staff set the tone of our trip with The 1896 House! They have three different properties which are all great, this trip was special so we decided on the suites due to an amazing deal they were running on Bedandbreakfast,com! We got into our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KAYMO21
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting about your visit with us at the 1896 House and the '6 House Pub. We take pride in the customer service that our guests receive, and the front desk staff will be excited to hear that they played a major role in your enjoyable stay. Being that the ‘6 House Pub is located in the same...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Unfortunate 1night stay at 1896 House to attend Williamstown Theater Festival. Room was dirty, carpet filthy, horrible odor of mold and overpowering aerosol air freshener burned my eyes and mouth. Bugs and spider webs caked the front door lights. TV barely worked, no phone reception, awful pillows, bedding, mattress. I couldn't wait to get out of there---checked out by 8...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank grayaway
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you felt this way about your stay. The night before you checked in, one of our guests spilled wine on the floor of the hotel room that you were staying in. The carpet was cleaned, but unfortunately, a stain remained temporarily. Our housekeepers, with hard work, managed to remove the stain from the carpet. There is...

Scituate, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 July 2016

I booked a room at this hotel for my wife and daughter for last weekend. I should have known that with all the available rooms on a summer weekend in the Berkshires that this wasn't a great hotel. When my wife checked in she immediately called me and said the website pictures don't match the actual hotel. My wife described...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank WalkswithNoCares
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. To be clear, we have three unique hotel buildings on our 17-acre property. You mentioned that you looked at pictures of our Barnside Luxury Suites, but you booked a room in one of our Country Rooms. Contrary to your assertion, all of our rooms are continuously updated and include wonderful amenities such as flat screen TV’s, authentic...

Boston
Reviewed 3 June 2016

This is a charming while somewhat outdated inn. The surroundings of a bubbling brook and lovely grounds more than made up for the needed updating of the unit. The daily breakfasts were very good cooked to order by a lovely lady. The atached reataurant also was very good. Overall the stay was delightful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howieb
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you found the 1896 House to be charming and lovely. The Barnside Suites are not outdated; appointed in six unique period styles, these rooms were created to offer a unique and exceptional lodging experience. The Early American Suite, the Turn of the Century Suite, the Georgian Suite, the Victorian Suite,...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 6 May 2016

My wife and I came here for our yearly Valentine's Day trip. We had bought a groupon deal that said we had our choice of any room. When we tried booking a room, we were told it was not available, even though it did not show it being booked by anyone else. So we booked a different room, and my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mastermason1983
Brattleboro, Vermont
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Suite 206 is a favorite of two of the staff we spoke to. It was a clear choice. The last room in the building overlooking the brook and woods. We went on a rainy spring day and had the whole building to ourselves. It was perfect. The room was spacious, clean and lovely. The gas fireplace heated the room nicely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hcpurplebiscuit
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

You made an excellent choice by choosing Suite 206 (the Empire Suite)! This room is a favorite of many of our guests - with the draped and canopied bed, the heavy brocade coverlet, the Aubusson carpets, and gold gilded pastoral paintings, the room is gorgeous. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your room, as well as...

connecticut
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This was our 3rd trip to the 1896 House to celebrate our anniversary using a Living Social voucher. In prior years as this year, included was a four course dinner for two. The difference this time was that we were not allowed to choose from the full menu which was not mentioned on the voucher or at check in. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seets
RI
Reviewed 29 March 2016

This was our third stay at the 1896 House in room 205 and it gets better every time. The place is warm and inviting as is all the staff. The Barnside rooms all have a fireplace, jacuzzi and porch. They are large suites with a dressing area with sink and closet. It is a quiet and relaxing place to escape...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan10RI
Danbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We go away for romantic weekends frequently, and the 1896 House if still my favorite! The best room with fireplace, spa tub, antiques all around our four posted canopy bed. Not to mention, the candlelit breakfast is outstanding and just lovely. The restaurant on premisis is good and just ok. Look around for finer dining if that's what you're up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LL P

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
447 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
291 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
0.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#7 of 13 in Williamstown
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enchanting 3 building property on a brook and pond. Variety of luxury suites with a candlelight gourmet breakfast and immaculate and charming traditional motel rooms with a hot breakfast buffet. Many bed configurations and some connecting rooms. Some dual whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi and business center. Very popular ‘6 House Pub on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. Accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1896 House - Barnside Inn

Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Price Range: £61 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1896 House - Barnside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your 1896 House - Barnside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 House - Barnside Hotel Williamstown
1896 Hotel Country
1896 Motel Country
Country Inn Williamstown
Williamstown Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 1896 House - Barnside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We liked room 203 and 204. Both were furnished nicely and were a good size with a small frig, fireplace and sitting areas.”
  • Barnside lower porch
  • Barnside upper porch
lovetotravelCt, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“The suites are all wonderful. Even the regular rooms are very nice. A very clean hotel.”
chevy4669, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The suites 201-206 are incredible.”
MikeM1957, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay in 201-206 or don't stay at all”
GillianG453, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Although the suites are attached motel-style they are very private - really isn't a "bad" room.”
M6163VWbettyc, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Groupon.com
US$77* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$105
Orbitz.comUS$105
Agoda.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates