We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Timbers Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergland
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Timbers Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 25: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Found this resort via the John Dee website. So glad I did. We got moved to a different cabin than we initially booked, but it was perfect! The owner called before making the switch to make sure we were okay with it and explained the whole situation. The cabin was roomy and had everything we needed. The snowmobile trail (lake)...

Thank Mark Z
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Do not miss out on this treasure!! I stayed here on a recent trip and found it to be all that I hoped it would be and more. The cabins were clean, and well supplied with cookware and utensils. A true sportsmans paradise with lake Gogebic right outside your door, with docks and boat rentals for your fishing or sightseeing...

Thank dano8789
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewed 22 July 2016

If you are looking for a place to vacation; then, The Timbers Resort is the place to go. There is something for everyone to enjoy for any season and all at or within a short distance from The Timbers Resort. The cabins are quaint, clean, and everything you need is provided so all you need to bring is your luggage...

Thank thelordsservent
Lapel, Indiana
Reviewed 23 June 2016

My husband and I won the trip at a fund raising auction. The 2 day trip with half day guided fishing was donated by Tim and Sarah. My husband is disabled so Sarah made sure we had a cabin with no steps to climb as well as a recliner for him to sleep in at night. The cabin was rustic,...

Thank Lue S
Hartland, Michigan
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Really enjoyed my stay at The Timbers. This resort was chosen for location and price. $44 bucks a person and we had a full kitchen, two baths, two bedrooms and free Wi-Fi. We stayed at cabin 10 which had just been updated. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. You don't need to bring anything to this place. Sarah...

Thank birdiebeex2
Woodbury, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Crammed all 9 of us in a cabin that slept 6. Would not refund the guys who decided to leave 2 days early. 1 bathroom for 9 guys who just paid $1,250. No working oven. Ice cold back bedroom. Never again. I've read other had good luck her which I believe. So go ahead and take a chance.

3Thank Terry B
Timbers08, Owner at The Timbers Resort, responded to this review

This reservation was originally made for 6 guys, when they called and said they were coming with 9 they were informed that we are completely full and we would do whatever we could to accommodate them with blow up mattresses and extra bedding. If another cabin would come available we would offer it to them, unfortunately for these additional 3...

Gulf Breeze, Florida
Reviewed 31 August 2015

I had the same terrible experience as a previous reviewer. The owner, Tim did not know anything about Grouse hunting, his dog was not a Grouse dog, unable to find a single bird, and he ran his dog to the point of near-exhaustion. The few birds we flushed were all done by accident, not over a point. As with the...

1Thank brdhntr2015
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and five days in Cabin 11. There was 7 of us, my husband and I with our 3 teenage boys and my parents. The table was big enough to seat us all! There was plenty of room and the place was very clean. Tim, Sara, their daughter and Roger the caretaker were excellent hosts. We...

1Thank UPfishing
Chilton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Beautiful area and when we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly employee. However, we had no key, no internet password, no cushions for the chairs outside (apparently we were supposed to know they were in the closet with the water heater), no fire pit - we had to use a public fire pit literally next to someone else's...

4Thank Kim A
Timbers08, Owner at The Timbers Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our friendly employee, and we apologize that you were not offered a key to the cabin. Honestly is was an oversight because our guests very rarely request keys and the cabins are open when you arrive. We are now offering keys to all of...

Reviewed 23 February 2015

The Timbers Resort is in the middle of all the western U.P. has to offer--multiple trails, Porcupine Mountains, Bond Falls, Ontonagon, a day's ride to the Keweenaw, and of course, Lake Gogebic and much, much more. Tim and Sarah are wonderful. They truly want you to have an enjoyable experience and will do everything possible to make that happen. Don't...

Thank Randall P

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (7)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergland
17.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City
17.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodges
Mountain View Lodges
#1 of 6 in Ontonagon
160 reviews
22.4 mi away
Black River Lodge
Black River Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ironwood
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Timbers Resort is located on the north end of Lake Gogebic in Bergland Michigan and has eleven comfortable housekeeping cottages that will sleep from 2 to 10 guests. Camping sites are also available on the Lakefront! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Timbers Resort

Address: HWY M-28, Bergland, MI 49910
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Bergland
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Timbers Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Talk with Sarah about your needs when booking and she will try her best to accommodate you.”
 of 5 bubbles 141lues, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Book early !!!”
 of 5 bubbles 704trinam, 7 Feb 2015 | Read review
“There are individual cabins with different sleeping arrangements. Ask when you book about room layout and bed size.”
 of 5 bubbles TimCreech, 17 Jun 2014 | Read review
“All cabins are nice”
 of 5 bubbles 532bobd, 31 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Cabin 12 is th original one and is where we stayed.”
 of 5 bubbles RussellB181, 17 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5