We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Townsend Hotel

Traveller (90)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (10)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Townsend Hotel is a gem of European modern luxury, tucked away amidst the pleasing parks, sophisticated designer shops and nationally acclaimed art galleries of Birmingham, Michigan just 20 minutes north of Detroit, Michigan, 15 minutes to Auburn Hills, ten minutes to Troy and ten minutes to Bloomfield Hills. Exquisitely appointed Guest Rooms & Suites welcome you with fine furnishings, luxurious Frette beds & linens, marble bathrooms, Evolve Lighting System, Bose radios & Fitness center with Peleton bikes! Our staff delivers gracious, thoughtful and personalized service.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Paid Internet
Paid Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Safe
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
68Somewhat walkable
Grade: 68 out of 100
55Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,146Reviews
112Photos
3Q+A
82Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 866
  • 162
  • 57
  • 33
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We live elsewhere in Michigan and wanted a getaway to celebrate a birthday and we were very impressed! Service was outstanding and the accommodations were perfect. On par with high end hotels you might see in larger cities. We had lunch in the Rugby Grill and the food and
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Steven K, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear FarAway28682729805, Thank you so much for your kind review of The Townsend Hotel in Birmingham, Michigan. We appreciate your taking the time to share your positive experiences and we look forward to the opportunity to have you return soon! Sincerely, Steven Kalczynski Managing Director The Townsend Hotel
Read more
The Townsend Hotel is one of the absolute best properties in the country. The staff is professional, polished and beyond helpful. This hotel understands that a guest is a member of their "home" and they will do whatever it takes to ensure a wonderful stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Steven K, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear 637hedyp Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent stay at the Townsend Hotel! We appreciate so much your kind words on your continued positive experiences and in sharing them with others and look forward to the opportunity to seeing you return soon! Thank you for your loyalty! Sincerely, Steven Kalczynski Managing Director The Townsend Hotel
Read more
5 stars. Have stayed here several times. Never disappointed. Always looking for an excuse to come to Birmingham so I can stay at this hotel. Top notch employees throughout. Rooms are lovely and comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Steven K, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Cheryl H, Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent stay at the Townsend Hotel! We appreciate your kind words on your continued positive experiences and in sharing them with others and look forward to the opportunity to seeing you return soon! Sincerely, Steven Kalczynski Managing Director The Townsend Hotel
Read more
Everyone is so friendly! The hotel is beautiful and very clean. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this area. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you have an exceptional experience and is always willing to help or accommodate you in any way they can to make
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Steven K, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Odyssey63715731470, Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay at the Townsend Hotel. We appreciate your kind words on your positive experiences and in sharing them with others and look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Steven Kalczynski Managing Director The Townsend Hotel
Read more
I always stay at the Townsend when in the area - there are just no other choices that compare. Even if there were, the combination of the property quality, location, and amenities put it far above other choices. I have brought my dog more than once and they are exceedingly
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Steven K, General Manager at The Townsend Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear patricia281, Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay at the Townsend Hotel. We appreciate your kind words on your positive experiences and in sharing them with others and look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Steven Kalczynski Managing Director The Townsend Hotel
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementThe Townsend Hotel
Luxury Suite Bedroom
View from first room
Il letto...pezzo forte della stanza
Photo provided by managementThe Townsend Hotel
Executive Suite Dining Room
PreviousNext
1234567
Do all the rooms have balconies I am trying to plan a candle light dinner for 2
All of the rooms do not have balconies. You must request a luxury suite and specifically mention that you want a balcony so the hotel can hold it for your arrival. In-Room Dining is fabulous and can make a wonderful dinner for you!
2 votes
Show all answers
Can you get into this restaurant if you are not a member or do not know a member?
It is NOT a "member's only" restaurant! Yes you can! Reservations can be made on OpenTable.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is it possible to get a room with 2 beds?
Yes you can! Again, reservations are required and you can get your exact bedding type based on availability
0 votes
Show all answers
"not on floor 3, unless you like to be near board rooms or the gym."
"Corner suites are large and sunny"
"Ask for rooms that don't face the service driveway/garbage alley"
"My room was in the back in the newer wing"
"Some rooms have no view, just the back of another building. There is a park across the street and I am sure those offer a nice view."
PreviousNext
12345617
PRICE RANGE
US$329 - US$474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
townsend hotel birmingham
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganBirmingham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing