We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pottawattamie Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coloma
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pottawattamie Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Spencerville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I typically only leave feedback when it's positive, however our experience with this place needs to be shared as a warning to anyone considering staying here. Prior to our arrival, I was told that our particular villa was "plain", that we needed to bring our own towels, and then the day prior to check-in I was contacted with notification of... More 

Helpful?
15 Thank Jennifer B
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nothing at all like the website advertises. The prices they ask for are outrageous for what you actually get. Ex: No a/c (in 90 degree summer mind you), select working bathrooms (of course they don't mention that), mold, trash piling up on garbage cans, water damaged ceilings, musty smelling, walkway stairs to the beach with rotten wood and rusty nails,... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank E C

Travellers are raving about these Coloma hotels

O'Fallon, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our first clue as to something was “not quite right” was when the “rental” agent told us to “bring your own towels” because “they couldn’t keep them” in the place! We observed the condemned cabins upon our arrival as well as other sights that did not lend to a destination labeled a “resort.” The staff directed us to our “villa/townhouse”.... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Bill S
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

terrible conditions now the property has 5 condemmed buildings the garbage was not picked up for 3 months. It is unsafe there was a terrible fire that burned all of the cabins down, thank god no one was killed. the owners does nothing to improve the property the village is aware of all the problem and have condemmed the buildings.

Helpful?
11 Thank nancy p
Gerald J, Board Member at Pottawattamie Resort, responded to this review

I am a board member of the Pottawattamie Condominium Association, in Coloma Michigan, which includes 6 board members, Our Association includes 23 condo's, 18 of which are are privately owned with a purchase price range of $175,000 to $595,000. Pottawattamie Resort is located on 19 acres of beautiful land overlooking Lake Michigan. We have a in ground pool, a paved... More 

Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Be very careful if you haven't seen this place in person first. Their brochure makes it look like some nice resort with pool, cabins and condos. It has all that, but the compound as a whole is pretty scary. Many broken down cabins, and none of them were at all inviting. There were two condo buildings I believe, but we... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank CincyFamily
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

I had my 30th birthday here and boy was it fun! The private beach was amazing as were the rooms :) We celebrated at a bar just up the road, Michigan Breeze, ate some pizza, listened to some tunes, and had some drinks. I never wanted to leave! Can't wait to go back again! Pottawattamie is most definitely my new... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Diamondgirlygirls
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I have been going to Pottawattamie Resort with my Friends for over 15 years now. We rent the a cottage for 2 weeks. We love it there. I have 2 friends and a grown daughter who rent seperate cottages also. When I started coming to Pottawattamie our kids were teenagers. They stopped coming for awhile but now the love it... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Maryfran_12
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Went to Pottawattamie resort as a part of wedding party, must say it was the most beautiful wedding i have been to , what a great setting....A large tents set up on the spacious grounds, wedding was on bluff overlooking Lake Michigan . A golf cart path took you down to the privet beech.... We had a one bedroom condo... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaro21
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I've done a lot of camping in my day and can say that I've had better stays in a tent. This place isn't "rustic" as that still implies clean and a good deal. This place is neither. We stayed in "cabin" #7. It's not a cabin, but a single wide trailer home on cinder blocks. As you enter the "cabin"... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Shane C
Gerald J, Board Member at Pottawattamie Resort, responded to this review

The cabins this review is written about no longer exist, new units are to be built in their place Gerald J More 

Texas City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This place is a dump. It is not clean, everything is broken, and the price is outrageous. The beds are just cots with egg crates. They should be embarrassed to rent a place like that. DO NOT STAY HERE. You have been warned.

Helpful?
7 Thank Anonymous A
Gerald J, Board Member at Pottawattamie Resort, responded to this review

The cabins this review refers to no longer exist, new units to be built in their place Gerald J More 

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coloma
7.0 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
164 reviews
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
7.7 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
13.1 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
13.7 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Pottawattamie Resort

Address: 4766 Arbor Ave, Coloma, MI 49038-9433
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Coloma
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pottawattamie Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If your fussy rent one of the Condo's. The cabins are old but great for a nature vacation.”
 of 5 bubbles Maryfran_12, 29 Mar 2012 | Read review
“To get the best room, bring a tent.”
  • Front door
  • bedroom
 of 5 bubbles ShaneC156, 9 Sep 2011 | Read review
2 of 2