We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Harbor
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

If you want a hotel with big screen LCD televisions, mints on your pillow and luxury bath soaps, you will not find it here. What you will find is a summer camp style experience, ran by a very friendly and knowledgeable staff who also excels at roasting their own blends of coffee. The room we were on was small and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda S
Muskego, Wisconsin
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Pretty spartan furnishings but the rates are not expensive and the rooms are clean. Not a place you will want to spend a lot of time in other than to sleep and shower. Don't expect new flat screen TV's or new common area carpeting. It is what it is and serves a purpose.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank REguru
Shelby Township, Michigan
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We stayed there for 1 night and the room was nice and homey. We checked in late so we didn't get a chance to talk muck with the owners but they were very accommodating. Copper Harbor is beautiful and we had a nice time seeing the sites. The room was clean, it was warm but they did provide a fan....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeannettestewart
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed Copper Harbor and had a nice stay. In all fairness, you stayed in the room with the two double beds; it is not advertised nor were you told the tub has jets, so the disappointment came after you saw the tub with the jet holes and then found they had been disconnected (since 2008)....

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Typical Northwoods motel. Room with one bed was small but just fine for my son and me. Tub with jets was perfect after full skiing at Bohemia (not all rooms have them so check). Food is much better in Copper Harbor than Bohemia by far (try the Mariner, the Pines or Tamarack) and not that far of a drive. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make a nice, honest review about our motel. I agree, the restaurants here in Copper Harbor have great food too!

Michigan
Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

The hotel cost is very reasonable and they allow dogs. Now if your looking for the Hamilton or holiday inn this hotel and/or copper harbor might not be for you. The inn is older but that's okay! The room was clean and the shower looked new. It is small and basic and that's just what we were looking for. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. Your assessment is right on; not fancy, but clean, comfy and reasonably priced. Some folks don't care for a modest mom & pop, others love it. I hope the Hiltoners take heed. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and your visit to Copper Harbor!

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 7 October 2015

A friend of us recommend this cheap motel for us to stay when we made a quick stop before going to the next place. The price is right but the room is small and not clean. The noise from outside vending machine was not stop. All guest can hear that the whole night. It was not worst the money to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linmom L
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

I'm sorry the vending machine was so annoying. I have not heard a complaint before and was not aware it was so noisy. The rooms are small, however they are clean, always. Maybe you meant to say something else. It's rather hard to tell for sure.

Portage, Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Clean rooms, quiet, served its purpose for my backpack trip. Has free WIFI which for me kept me in contact with the wife. I didnt turn the tv on. The lady owner was very helpful. She called the isle royale boat for me to check if it was going. Had to stay a extra nite due to bad weather on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank S H
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm glad your trip turned out good even with uncooperative weather! Hope to see you again sometime.

Elkhart, IN
Reviewed 8 June 2015

A decent, family operated place to sleep in Copper Harbor. The building is older, but the room was clean and had what we needed. We didn't spend hours in the hotel, because that is not why we came -- we came to see Brockway Mountain and the Copper Harbor area. Most of our stay we were the only guests at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank millertj
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the decent review. It's quiet that time of year which some folks enjoy more than the busy season. I'm glad you enjoyed your time in Copper Harbor.

Marquette, Michigan
Reviewed 28 October 2014

We stayed here to see fall colors and it was great. We called a few times ahead to ask about how the colors were and the owner was so helpful, we nailed it! The room we had was small but as listed very "cozy", We peeked in a room with 2 beds and it was much bigger. We didn't come...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Shelly H
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. We always like to hear when folks had a nice experience. I’m glad you enjoyed Copper Harbor and your stay at our motel; I enjoyed visiting with you over coffee. I hope you got some good photos of the fall colors!

Denmark, Wisconsin
Reviewed 20 October 2014

My honey and I checked out the online info about what motels in Copper Harbor took pets. The Brockway Inn was the only one that did. What we had read on their web site sounded good. So we called and made a reservation for one night on the 8th of Oct. I am so glad it was only one night....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Patricia M
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

First of all you need to get your facts straight. Our motel is not the only one in town that takes pets; I believe there is only one that does not. Your room (#1) is NOT advertised as having a whirlpool tub nor priced there as. There are two rooms with one double bed and a single whirlpool tub. Your...

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Brockway Inn is an owner operated establishment. The motel offers cozy, clean and quiet rooms. We are dedicated to providing our guests year round, friendly, efficient service in a unique and truly Northern environment. Accommodations include six comfortable, clean, non-smoking rooms. The rooms all have color-cable remote TV's and free wireless internet. We accept pets, with some restrictions. There is a refrigerator and microwave available in a common area for guest use. We have a gas grill for guests too.We offer complimentary fresh brewed coffee each morning. In the summer months get your coffee in the shop, located in the center of the motel. The Shop has fresh roasted coffee; brewed and packaged, plus local photos,local art, used books and gifts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse

Address: 840 Gratiot Street (Hwy M 26), Copper Harbor, MI 49918
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Copper Harbor
Price Range: £44 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some of the rooms have working tubs so make sure to ask when checking in or making a reservation.”
 of 5 bubbles jeannettestewart, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“One bed rooms are small but livable, two bed rooms larger.”
 of 5 bubbles millertj, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The rooms have double beds so if you're tall or large, the rooms with 2 beds would be a good choice.”
 of 5 bubbles 3shellyh, 28 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Not at this place.”
 of 5 bubbles ptlmetz, 20 Oct 2014 | Read review
4 of 4