Rectory Manor Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Rectory Manor Hotel

Rectory Manor Rectory Road, Great Waldingfield, Babergh District CO10 0TL England
Traveller (151)
Room & Suite (61)
One of the best breakfasts ever. Beautiful setting and great service.
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 B&B in Great Waldingfield
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Rectory Manor is a 5 Star rated, Grade II listed historic country house offering Bed and Breakfast in the style of a boutique hotel, situated just minutes from the centres of Lavenham, Sudbury and Long Melford in Suffolk. A member of The Historic Houses Association, with accolades from Sawdays, Wolsey Lodges, Cool Places and Charming Small Hotels (amongst others), we are located in a conservation area surrounded by thatched cottages. We offer large luxuriously decorated double ensuite bedrooms with all the trimmings you might expect including Hi-speed WiFi, HD TV's and Minibars plus toiletries from Penhaligons. We are the highest reviewed accommodation near Lavenham, rated "Excellent" by both Tripadvisor and Trivago, chosen by Tatler as one of the 12 smartest B&B's in the country and nominated for the Best B&B in the country by Eviivo in 2019.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Board games / puzzles
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitEngland.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English, French, Greek, Italian
298Reviews3Q+A70Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 222
  • 43
  • 15
  • 8
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Elvis2015613 wrote a review Jan 2020
Felsham, United Kingdom26 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival, we were greeted by the Butler who was immaculately dressed and took the time to give us a guided tour.
We booked The four poster room and the decor exceeded expectation. The bathroom was spacious and striking with a large roll top bath and Venetian print wallpaper
The honesty bar was a lovely touch in the drawing room and nothing was too much trouble.
Fresh milk was provided in the room, so much better than the long life pots usually found in hotel rooms.
Finally an impressive breakfast in a majestic dining room made our stay complete
We look forward to staying in the Summer when when the outside pool is available and will recommend friends and family to stay at the Manor.
Thank you for the most perfect stay in an idyllic setting and location.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms have their own luxury appeal.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeorginaJ166, Guest Relations Manager at Rectory Manor Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the Summer when you can make the most of the heated pool and grounds:) Best Wishes, Georgina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anastasia14 wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom85 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I feel compelled to write this review on Rectory Manor if only to thank the owner Frank and a member of his staff Tom. We were very warmly received on our arrival from London, however our only niggle is that there were no 'facilities' available for us to use immediately as our rooms were not yet ready. This meant leaving our cases in the hall and rushing into Lavenham to try and find a toilet pronto!! This was unfortunately due to the necessary precautions taken over Covid which you can understand I guess.

Anyway that aside when we returned we were shown to our rooms which were fabulous, in the main house and had 2 of the grandest rooms, mine had a 4 poster bed and free standing bath with a view and my friends had a balcony, though maybe a chair to sit on outside would be a nice touch.

The main dining hall had a long dining table which meant timed sittings in order that we were not all sitting together and there was adequate social distancing between 'bubbles' and couples. Cooked breakfast was delicious with quality, locally sourced farm sausages and bacon and fresh fruit salad and set us up for the day ahead.

Throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble for Tom and he was very kind, thoughtful and helpful throughout and made some excellent suggestions for local trips, including Kentwell Manor and the pretty village of Clare. We were treated like friends and guests rather than visitors which is the essence of the philosophy here and as such felt immediately relaxed and 'at home'.

The location of the property is secluded yet within the tiny village of Great Waldingfield with it's lovely church and thatched cottages typical of the area and just a couple of miles from the Medieval town of Lavenham itself. The Old Rectory is set within pretty landscaped gardens with a small pool and tennis court which we did not use.

Thank you so much to Tom and Frank for all your kindness and hospitality. We shall certainly be recommending you to our friends and family and hope some day to have a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are spacious and grand yet feel homely.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Georgina Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at Rectory Manor Hotel
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and had fun exploring some of the local jewels:) We very much hope that you will visit us again. (Fingers crossed, Covid restrictions will soon be lifted and our cloakroom in the main house will be open to guests once more:)) Best Wishes, Georgina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alistair M wrote a review Aug 2020
5 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I visited here in August and just loved this place. It is so peaceful set in the beautiful Suffolk countryside. We were warmly welcomed by Tom and given all the guidelines regarding Covid which was reassuring. The staff were all very attentive and we felt especially looked after. There was a nice pool and garden area to chill out and read in the lovely weather at the time.

We stayed in The Waldingfield Room which was situated a new room in the outbuilding. The room was great, well proportioned and tastefully decorated it had everything you could need tea & coffee making facilities, leather Chesterfield 2 seater settee to watch TV or DVDs that are provided. It had a lovely big en-suite bathroom.

Lavenham is a stunning small quant town not far from Rectory Manor with some Nice places to eat. We had dinner at the Greyhound where we had tapas, the food was great as was the ambience. There is also nice tea and cake shops and everyone is very friendly.

We only wish that we could have stayed longer at Rectory Manor it has so much history which we would loved to have heard more about. Overall we loved it here and though it was very good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Georgina Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at Rectory Manor Hotel
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for your really lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope that you will return. (Hopefully you can pack similar sunshine and enjoy that pool and the delights of Lavenham even further:)) Best Wishes, Georgina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lara wrote a review Aug 2021
Gravesend, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Rectory Manor for one night earlier this month and from start to finish we had such a lovely, relaxing time.
The weather was lovely so we sat by the pool in the sun, had a swim and then after a doze played croquet on the lawn. We then had a short game of tennis before getting ready for dinner in nearby Lavenham.
Frank the owner had arranged for a taxi to collect us and take us to Lavenham where we had dinner at The Great House - a truly culinary experience. The tasting menu was fabulous and the wines complemented each course so well.
Breakfast at Rectory Manor is very chilled and unrushed. I can see why Rectory Manor has such fabulous reviews, it’s a little gem in a beautiful part of the country. Would love to visit again and cycle around the local area. Thank you to the staff team for making our stay so chilled.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Georgina Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at Rectory Manor Hotel
Responded 2 Sept 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back. There are plenty more local cultural and culinary jewels to discover in our vicinity and we would be delighted to point you in their direction:)) Best Wishes, Georgina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Perkylator wrote a review Aug 2020
Colchester, United Kingdom133 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we arrived, we didn't want to leave! It's a beautiful family home turned into a gorgeous hotel/B&B in stunning English countryside. The outdoor pool was perfect on the hottest day of the year. Tom the butler was so attentive and friendly, from checking us in, getting me a gin, getting us tennis rackets/balls for the onsite court, sorting wifi for my 11yo, cooking us a tasty breakfast, etc! We met the owner who was also friendly and welcoming.
The bedroom was huge and comfortable.
We ate out in Lavenham which is a beautiful Suffolk village (it's about a 10 min drive, or taxi there).
It was our first time staying 'out' post-lockdown, and we felt reassured with all the safety precautions they had in place. It's dog friendly too, so will be back with our dog soon!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Georgina Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at Rectory Manor Hotel
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the glorious weather enhanced your use of the outdoor amenities:) We very much look forward to welcoming you back- with your four legged friend in tow! Best Wishes, Georgina.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrick Huggins wrote a review Sept 2021
Southwold, United Kingdom41 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival at the Rectory Manor my wife and I were greeted by George the ‘self stated’ butler. We were taken to the Garden Room accommodation, so called a ‘suite’. After dropping off our cases we went to the lounge to get coffee as it was now afternoon. George said we could not have coffee there as it was a B&B. Coffee is provided in your room Sir. However; he continued we have a selection of spirits and mixers in this cupboard which can be measured and paid for in the honesty box. The next day read was served to others and I challenged George. He said sorry sir my brain must have been muddled. Our next few moments confirmed that this review must be given. We went to the private garden attached to the room which was overgrown so much it was impossible to sit in the sun. There was one metal frame chair opened and another against the wall. I opened the one against the wall to find it full of dead leaves and spiders. The gravel area was showing the black membrane almost everywhere. We retreated to the conservatory to read the notice on the door saying don’t open the left hand door as it was moot safe. The door also incorporated a cat flap for the resident cat. We also could not open the windows as the frames were rotten and falling to pieces. The bathroom has gruesome amounts of black mould in the sink overflow. The shower had black mould around the door base. Outside the window, brambles leant against the windows. The bed was sheets and blankets, I cannot believe in times of COVID that the blankets are laundered between each guest. The zip and link double bed was probably orthopaedic (very hard). They offer a swimming pool at 28 degrees. The pool is topped with leaves and dead insects, even though a very long pipe connected to an automatic tracked pump crawls the bottom of the pool. Because of the pipe constantly moving around the pool it is impossible to swim. A body of water you can’t swim in cannot be called a swimming pool. At breakfast we met other guests who had similar problems and complaints. All of them without exception were saying they were going to complain to the owner Frank who was not available at that time. The breakfast was pleasant but; surprisingly I was charged an extra £68 for it even though my two night booking was charged as B&B. I have just requested a conversation with the owner who declined and left it to the butler to refund my overcharged £68. I am about to file a request for a county court judgement on the amount I have paid compared to the real
Worth of the stay. If you have read this review and still decide to stay there. Please appreciate you were warned.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Unless this venue has a change of ownership and change of butler you should not stay there. It...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Georgina Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at Rectory Manor Hotel
Responded 27 Sept 2021
Dear Sir, Thank you for your review - we were most saddened to read of the suboptimal nature to your stay with us. We never rest upon our laurels and take all comments from our guests very seriously. We have therefore thoroughly investigated the issues you encountered. With regards to your comments upon the cleanliness of your bathroom, housekeeping have been duly informed, made fully aware of omissions to our routinely thorough cleaning regime and the areas of concern dealt with. (Our independently awarded 5 star Gold award does not come easily and we strive to maintain it, year upon year). With regards to your disappointment at the state of the pool. Sadly, despite netting it twice a day, stray leaves and insects do sometimes appear. This unfortunately is an occupational hazard of offering an outdoor heated pool in early Autumn in England. In the absence of a fulltime pool attendant we do, as you point out, use an automatic pool cleaner. This can always be removed if a guest feels it may impinge upon the enjoyment of their dip. (Sadly, this too is an issue that could have been easily solved had you asked at the time - rather than after your departure). With regards to ‘Coffee-gate’, our profuse apologies. George believed you were after a ‘full afternoon tea’ i.e. cake and scones etc (which we do not currently offer) as opposed to ‘a pot of tea/coffee’ which we do. Hence the ‘confusion’! We understand fully your comments about the private garden area. We are conscious that the garden attached to the suite is in need of titivation. As I imagine you may appreciate, the hospitality industry has been incredibly busy this season and we sadly lost our gardener during Covid. With full occupancy, opportunities to gentrify it have been challenging. However, we DO listen and we have scheduled to refresh the paintwork in the conservatory and re-landscape the attached private outdoor area, when all becomes quieter this winter. Although well behaved dogs are welcome in that room, the catflap has always been firmly locked. Please be rest assured that there was therefore no risk of a feline popping into your bedroom. As you are aware from conversing with the owner, he never ‘declined’ to speak with you, he was merely away that weekend. Breakfast, as advertised 3 times during the booking process and in 4 areas of our website, is charged separately. Our slight breakfast overcharge was an error on our part that was refunded the moment “we” realised our mistake and before you yourself were even aware of our “Book Direct Breakfast Discount”. Conscious of your distress and as a matter of courtesy, we refunded you not part but ALL of your breakfast charges. We hope this helps partly allay your frustrations over your stay and please accept our sincere apologies once again. Best Wishes, Georgina- Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff A wrote a review Aug 2021
6 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently enjoyed a 3 night stay at Rectory manor.

When we arrived Chelsee welcomed us with a smile and showed us around the manor and to our room. We stayed in the Chinese room in the stable annex which was well furnished with a bath and a hand held shower. Tea, coffee and toiletries were all provided in the room. Breakfast was in two sittings 8:30am or 9:30am and there was a choice of continental breakfast or for £5 extra the option of cooked breakfast. Whilst the breakfast was nice, £12 per person, per day does seem pretty expensive. The facilities were brilliant, we played tennis on the Manors tennis court and borrowed rackets from the staff. We also used the swimming pool, which was a good size and had deck chairs for you to sunbathe. There are ample places to eat in the evening in the local villages. We recommend The Crown in Acton for local pub grub at a very reasonable price. We would also recommend The Cock Horse Inn in Lavenham for a nice meal at a reasonable price too!

We would definitely stay here again and cannot thank Frank and his team enough for making it such an enjoyable stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book your local restaurants prior to your visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Georgina Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at Rectory Manor Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the sunny Suffolk weather allowed for some extra fun- both pool and courtside! With regards to our breakfast - (awarded 5 star Gold by Visit England) -we remain supremely competitive. Our pricing is currently cheaper than that offered by any 'similar' local establishment! Top tip- the cooked breakfast surcharge doesn't apply to any guests who choose to book direct with us:)) We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Best Wishes, Georgina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanya T wrote a review Sept 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I have just stayed for the second time at this gorgeous hotel. We came in June and just loved it so were delighted to beable to stay for our wedding anniversary. If you want ultra modern this is not the place but if you want to stay in a beautiful quiet peaceful rectory beautifully decorated in the period of the house this is the place. With the beautiful original features, artwork,grand piano, sash windows and shutters roll top bath, four poster bed this is most certainly the place to go. Breakfast is an additional charge like many hotels but the choice was excellent and very well cooked. They accomadate for vegeterians and nothing was too much trouble. The table is beautifully set out for breakfasr and all around the room are portraits and possesions from the families history so you really get a feeling of granduer.. The owner Frank was extremely welcoming as he was on our previous stay. Vicky who cooks the breakfast is also lovely and really friendly and makes a lovely full english/ veggie. The rooms were spotlessly clean you might get the odd cobweb but then it is a very old house the bed linen and beds very comfortable lovely big bath towels and robes. There is a honesty bar in the lovely drawing room and a mini bar in you rooms too. We were again fortunate to have soul use of the outside pool. We will definately be coming back again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Georgina Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at Rectory Manor Hotel
Responded 12 Sept 2022
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed seeing you again and are delighted you were equally happy with your stay, second time around! We much look forward to welcoming you back soon:)) Best Wishes, Georgina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate R wrote a review Oct 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a lovely 4 night stay at Rectory Manor. We stayed in the main house and our room was spacious and comfortable, with a huge bathroom. It was great to be able to come and go as we pleased. Vicky was always on hand and nothing was too much trouble if we needed anything. The continental breakfast was very extensive, only thing we felt was that the price of breakfast should have been included in the room rate, as Rectory Manor is advertised as a bed & breakfast hotel.
However, this is a minor point and we couldn't really find any fault. It is a country house hotel and very welcoming in a beautiful rural area. We loved our stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Georgina Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at Rectory Manor Hotel
Responded 27 Oct 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to breakfast, we charge for it separately, to placate those guests who do not wish to partake in the meal and this is reflected in our room rates. We advertise as a bed and breakfast hotel as we do not currently offer dinner. ( I appreciate this could have caused some confusion)!! We very much hope you will stay with us again:)) Best Wishes, Georgina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Malcolm H wrote a review Jul 2023
Beccles, United Kingdom61 contributions91 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night. First impressions of the property are that it is imposing and has nice grounds. We were greeted by a young man, who was very professional and showed us to our room, a Garden Room, in the old stables, separate from the main building. The room was spacious, with a large conservatory attached, and a private garden outside. The bathroom was adequate, with a powerful, walk-in shower and separate bath, with premium Penhaligon’s toiletries. The furniture was, as you would imagine, in keeping with the historic nature of the house. A tower fan was provided, which was welcome as it was stiflingly hot in the room. It was obvious the room had not been cleaned properly for some time, as when the blind on the high window over the TV was lowered, dust and several dead flies cascaded down, and on closer inspection, all the window sills were also in need of a good clean, as was the floor of the conservatory. There were also cobwebs in some of the corners that were not recently spun. On departure, we raised this with the staff member who had greeted us, and he apologised, stating staffing difficulties in getting cleaners. We cannot comment on the house itself, as we only set foot in it briefly, nor on the breakfast (separately charged), as we were off to a local food and drink festival on leaving. Overall, the room was not inexpensive and we would have expected it to be clean for the rate charged.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Georgina Jones, Guest Services / Front Office at Rectory Manor Hotel
Responded 20 Jul 2023
Thank you very much for your review. We are so sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the cleanliness of your room. We aspire to excellence in all areas, therefore this is an issue which we take very seriously. Please be assured that your constructive comments to our front of house led to both an immediate inspection of your room and a thorough clean of areas that had obviously been missed by a member of housekeeping- who is no longer with us. Profuse apologies if this unacceptable inattention to detail marred your stay and thank you for pointing it out to us. We very much hope you will visit us again- the breakfast and the house itself have a lot to offer:)) Best Wishes Georgina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Evie W asked a question Jul 2017
Lingfield, United Kingdom39 contributions37 helpful votes
Is there any where to keep bikes and are there any nearby cycle trails (no roads)? Thank you.
Answer from Joerg M
1 contribution
Don't expect too much there. Mostly country lanes are existing. But very little traffic only.
Susanna D asked a question Jun 2016
London, United Kingdom79 contributions34 helpful votes
How many rooms do you have?
Allegra415 asked a question Sept 2015
Colchester, United Kingdom1 contribution
are any of the rooms wheelchair accessible?
David M wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great for pets."
Read full review
Charlotte wrote a tip Dec 2023
Dartford, United Kingdom90 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Set off early as although the check is 4pm we received a call our room was ready earlier if not then enjoy the local town!"
Read full review
David S wrote a tip Oct 2023
Ampthill, United Kingdom15 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware no evening meal available"
Read full review
Craig H wrote a tip Sept 2023
26 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ensure you are in the main building as the rooms ‘May’ be better……?"
Read full review
LESLIE S wrote a tip Sept 2023
Bromley, United Kingdom30 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had room 3 on first floor overlooking garderns and pool. There is a range of bedrooms similar to ours on the ground floor."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Great Waldingfield area.
PRICE RANGE
£124 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Old Rectory Country House
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkBabergh DistrictSudburyGreat Waldingfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RECTORY MANOR HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Rectory Manor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rectory Manor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include EO Escape Rooms (2.2 miles), Sudbury Escape Rooms (2.8 miles), and Holy Trinity Long Melford Church (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rectory Manor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Rectory Manor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rectory Manor Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rectory Manor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Long Melford Tea Room, Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, and Alaz.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rectory Manor Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Rectory Manor Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.02 miles away from the centre of Great Waldingfield.
Are pets allowed at Rectory Manor Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rectory Manor Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Rectory Manor Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lavenham Guildhall (3.5 miles), Melford Hall (3.3 miles), and Kentwell Hall (4.0 miles).
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire