We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Mountain Host Motor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Mountain Host Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
Upper Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is definitely a budget hotel which we stopped at on our way to Appleton, WI. It was pretty spare, but with an incredible price of $65. I think Veterans pay $45. The best part though, was learning about the service this motel provides to our Veterans receiving services at the VA hospital in Iron Mountain. Limited breakfast but lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 100nitesperyear
connie g, Manager at Mountain Host Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it. We love and respect our Veterans. We have quite a revolving door with many of them. We strive to take the best care of all of our patrons and guests. We hope to help you with your future lodging needs.

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 October 2016

This is a budget motel where we paid $49 a night, tax included. For that we got a nice relatively new room that was very clean and quiet and a bed that was comfortable. There was plenty of hot water in the shower. The breakfast is very basic, but the breakfast area is nice. Do what we do and bring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
connie g, Manager at Mountain Host Motor Inn, responded to this review

John, We appreciate your feedback. We appreciate it. We are happy to hear that you found your stay with us clean, and comfortable. We strive to make all of our guests happy. We hope to help you with your future lodging needs.

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 23 August 2016

After 3 nights of camping in the rain, this place was a lifesaver. We walked in on a Saturday night without a reservation and were able to get a room for $50. Although the room was nothing fancy, it was perfect for us to get a warm shower and sleep in a comfortable bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walks017
connie g, Manager at Mountain Host Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are happy you found your stay with us comfortable. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to helping you with your future lodging needs.

Big Rapids, United States
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We have stayed here several time nice rooms and beds Not much of a breakfast but for the price can't complain best to reserve through the front desk can save a few dollars rather than through the online way. close places to eat and places to shop so overall good place to stay would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
connie g, Manager at Mountain Host Motor Inn, responded to this review

Larry, I would like to say thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it. I am glad you found your stay with us comfortable. We thank you for your continued patronage. We hope to help you soon with your future lodging needs.

Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

Continental Breakfast is cereal, toast and a couple cake doughnuts. Room was not as clean as I hoped. A couple greasy hand prints on the walls. And, its time for a new shower curtain and toilet seat. Room was $50 but next time I will pay more for a room that is not so dingy and a better breakfast. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnF88
Gulliver
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Stopped in for one night while visiting the Iron Mountain area. Check in was very fast, the room clean and the staff courteous. We did not use any of the facilities, so I can't expand on what others have posted. This is one of those places I would like to fold up, put in my pocket and carry it with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J G
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Have stayed at this motel numerous times over the past few years due to appts. at the V A hospital (five minutes down the road). Have NEVER had a complaint. The rooms have ALWAYS been clean, comfortable, and quiet and I could not think of a better, more attentive staff, especially Connie. Next stay is in three days and while...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel M
connie g, Manager at Mountain Host Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words Daniel!! We absolutely LOVE our Veterans!!! And I am pleased to know we can make your trips a little better. We treat all of our guests like family and have developed quite a rapport with many!! Thank you!!

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

This was an excellent facility. We had a very clean, spacious room. My night sleep was outstanding. With the parking lot and highway right outside our window, I was concerned with traffic noise. We never heard a thing. Very quiet, very nice. I would recommend this facility.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Richard W
connie g, Manager at Mountain Host Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that your stay was quiet and that you found our rooms spacious and clean. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Lapeer, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 23 July 2014

So we were looking for a cheap place to stay for one night on a family vacation. We found one for a great rate, under $60 for a two-queen room. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and readily handed over extra towels and pillows. There was a strange smell in our room but it did air out. It just felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrisM71
meranda g, Manager at Mountain Host Motor Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with the room. We try our best to make everyone's stay comfortable and strive for cleanliness. We appreciate feed back so that we can rectify problems promptly. We do not have in room dryers but offer hair dryers at the desk. We hope if you choose to stay with us again your stay...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have been staying here for years. Coming from Chicago to the UP for long weekends, I often spend the night here at the end of the drive up from Chicago. The room is always clean, quiet. The water pressure and water temperature are fine in the bathroom. Nothing fancy, but a very affordable price point.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Worldtraveler68
connie g, Manager at Mountain Host Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoy your stay with us. We strive for comfort and cleanliness!!

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iron Mountain hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 11 in Iron Mountain
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Iron Mountain
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Iron Mountain
Days Inn Iron Mountain
#2 of 11 in Iron Mountain
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Iron Mountain
68 reviews
1.7 mi away
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
#7 of 11 in Iron Mountain
19 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Iron Mountain, this inn is 0.9 mi (1.5 km) from Millie Mine Bat Viewing Site and 1.5 mi (2.5 km) from World War II Glider and Military Museum. Pine Mountain and Timberstone Golf Course are also within 6 mi (10 km). This inn features a 24-hour fitness center, a sauna, and a meeting room. Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, and free self parking are also provided. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning between 7 AM and 10 AM. Recreational amenities at the inn include a sauna, 24-hour fitness center, and 24 hour tanning. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Host Motor Inn

Address: 1451 S Stephenson Ave, Iron Mountain, MI 49801-4145
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Iron Mountain
Price Range: £42 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Host Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain Host Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Host Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Host Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the backside”
 of 5 bubbles maas_johnf, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“book direct”
 of 5 bubbles 901larryp, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms are generally a bit larger but have had no complaints about any of the rooms we've had.”
 of 5 bubbles S975XFdanielm, 29 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Take pics of your room before and after your stay, because they will try to claim you damaged something, and you should be prepared to prove otherwise to avoid being scammed out of hundreds!”
 of 5 bubbles thetravelingworker, 18 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Our room was right beside the vending machine and ice..”
 of 5 bubbles SherryL542, 30 Sep 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay